Huey FOV change for surround ? - ED Forums
 


Notices

Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 08-09-2017, 10:20 AM   #1
ron533
Member
 
ron533's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2005
Location: Netanya, IL
Posts: 409
Question Huey FOV change for surround ?

Hi,

I'm using surround on 3 monitors so I need FOV adjustments,
and for some reason I can't seem to adjust the FOV of the Huey via the Server.lua file anymore.
In the past I controlled it using PeterP files but they are not suitable/adjusted to Huey.

Can someone help with the adjustments please?

see the setting of the Server.lua (in savedGames\Config\View)
I've cut all the rest and attached the relevant lines.

Thanks!

Spoiler:



function default_fighter_player(t)
local res = {
CameraViewAngleLimits = {20.000000,165.000000}, --140 >>165
CameraAngleRestriction = {false ,165.000000,0.500000},--90 >>165
EyePoint = {0.05 ,0.000000 ,0.000000},
limits_6DOF = {x = {-0.050000,0.4500000},y ={-0.300000,0.100000},z = {-0.220000,0.220000},roll = 90.000000},
Allow360rotation = false,
CameraAngleLimits = {200,-80.000000,120.000000}, --110 >> 120
ShoulderSize = 0.2, -- move body when azimuth value more then 90 degrees
}
if t then
for i,o in pairs(t) do
res[i] = o
end
end
return res
end



ViewSettings["UH-1H"] = {
Cockpit = {
[1] = {-- player slot 1
CockpitLocalPoint = {2.34, 0.37 , 0.0},
CameraViewAngleLimits = gCameraViewAngleLimits,
CameraAngleRestriction = {false,175.000000,0.400000},
CameraAngleLimits = {175.000000,-165.000000,120.000000},
EyePoint = gEyePoint,
ShoulderSize = gShoulderSize,
limits_6DOF = {x = {-0.100000,0.500000},
y = {-0.200000,0.350000},
z = {-0.200000,0.750000},
roll = 90.000000},
},

[2] = {-- player slot 2
CockpitLocalPoint = {2.34, 0.37 , 0.0},
CameraViewAngleLimits = gCameraViewAngleLimits,
CameraAngleRestriction = {false,165.000000,0.400000},
CameraAngleLimits = {140.000000,-165.000000,120.000000},
EyePoint = gEyePoint,
ShoulderSize = gShoulderSize,
limits_6DOF = {x = {-0.100000,0.500000},
y = {-0.200000,0.350000},
z = {-0.750000,0.200000},
roll = 90.000000},
},

[3] = {-- player slot 3
CockpitLocalPoint = {2.34, 0.37 , 0.0},
CockpitLocalPointAzimuth = -90,
CameraViewAngleLimits = gCameraViewAngleLimits,
CameraAngleRestriction = {false,165.000000,0.400000},
CameraAngleLimits = {140.000000,-165.000000,120.000000},
EyePoint = gEyePoint,
ShoulderSize = gShoulderSize,
limits_6DOF = {x = {-3.0, 0.35} ,
y = {-0.6,0.5},
z = {-0.25,1.4},
roll = 90.000000},
},

[4] = {-- player slot 4
CockpitLocalPoint = {2.34, 0.37 , 0.0},
CockpitLocalPointAzimuth = 90,
CameraViewAngleLimits = gCameraViewAngleLimits,
CameraAngleRestriction = {false,165.000000,0.400000},
CameraAngleLimits = {140.000000,-165.000000,120.000000},
EyePoint = gEyePoint,
limits_6DOF = {x = {-3.0, 0.35},
y = {-0.6,0.5},
z = {-1.4,0.25},
roll = 90.000000},
},

}, -- Cockpit
Chase = {
LocalPoint = {-3.700000,2.400000,0.000000},
AnglesDefault = {180.000000,-8.000000},
}, -- Chase
Arcade = {
LocalPoint = {-20.000000,5.000000,0.000000},
AnglesDefault = {0.000000,-8.000000},
}, -- Arcade
}
ron533 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-09-2017, 06:28 PM   #2
pimp
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Mar 2011
Location: Texas
Posts: 1,434
Default

Try the ED/Mods/Huey folder. Maybe there's another file specifically for the Huey that needs to be modified instead.
__________________
i9 9900k @5.1GHz h100i |Asus ROG Strix Z390 E-Gaming | Samsung NVMe m.2 970 Pro 512GB | LPX 32GB DDR4 3200MHz
EVGA RTX 2080ti FTW3 Ultra | Reverb | HOTAS Warthog | Saitek Flight Pedals
pimp is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-19-2017, 07:41 PM   #3
ron533
Member
 
ron533's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2005
Location: Netanya, IL
Posts: 409
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by pimp View Post
Try the ED/Mods/Huey folder. Maybe there's another file specifically for the Huey that needs to be modified instead.
I'e tried the view.lua file in Mods\aircraft\Uh-1H
but no change....
ron533 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-25-2018, 09:49 PM   #4
ron533
Member
 
ron533's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2005
Location: Netanya, IL
Posts: 409
Default

bump...
How do you edit the huey FOV to suit 3 monitors?
I need to further zoom out.

Editing the server.lua in the saved games\config\view
did not help...

Editing the view.lua AFTER copying and pasting into saved games, from the DCS World \Mods\aircraft\Uh-1H
also did not help.

2.5 changed/broke the way I can control the FOV, and I could not find an explanation on how to do it now.
Help appreciated....
Thanks!
ron533 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-02-2019, 09:05 PM   #5
Gpruitt54
Member
 
Gpruitt54's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2011
Location: Chicago
Posts: 187
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by ron533 View Post
bump...
How do you edit the huey FOV to suit 3 monitors?
I need to further zoom out.

Editing the server.lua in the saved games\config\view
did not help...

Editing the view.lua AFTER copying and pasting into saved games, from the DCS World \Mods\aircraft\Uh-1H
also did not help.

2.5 changed/broke the way I can control the FOV, and I could not find an explanation on how to do it now.
Help appreciated....
Thanks!
Did anyone recommend a solution? I am trying to determine how the HU1 FOV gets adjusted along with you.
Gpruitt54 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-24-2020, 08:33 AM   #6
ron533
Member
 
ron533's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2005
Location: Netanya, IL
Posts: 409
Default

Bump...
Anyone??
ron533 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-08-2020, 11:46 AM   #7
ron533
Member
 
ron533's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2005
Location: Netanya, IL
Posts: 409
Default

bump again....
Still can't get far enough with 3 monitors. need a higher FOV. how to please??
ron533 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-08-2020, 02:37 PM   #8
X-31_VECTOR
Junior Member
 
X-31_VECTOR's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2020
Location: Virginia, USA
Posts: 78
Default

Have you tried changing the resolution in your game settings? I don't recall the exact procedure now, but basically I think you just add up the horizontal and vertical resolutions of your monitors and enter that as the value of your resolution in the video settings. So for three 1920x1080 displays side by side, you would enter 5760x1080. That should make the game draw the appropriate peripheral field of view at the default zoom level, and then you can use the "slow zoom out" in game to adjust further to your taste.

Sorry if I'm not understanding the issue, but as you've been trying to solve this since 2017, I figure an unhelpful response is still better than no response.
X-31_VECTOR is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-08-2020, 03:37 PM   #9
ron533
Member
 
ron533's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2005
Location: Netanya, IL
Posts: 409
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by X-31_VECTOR View Post
Have you tried changing the resolution in your game settings? I don't recall the exact procedure now, but basically I think you just add up the horizontal and vertical resolutions of your monitors and enter that as the value of your resolution in the video settings. So for three 1920x1080 displays side by side, you would enter 5760x1080. That should make the game draw the appropriate peripheral field of view at the default zoom level, and then you can use the "slow zoom out" in game to adjust further to your taste.

Sorry if I'm not understanding the issue, but as you've been trying to solve this since 2017, I figure an unhelpful response is still better than no response.
Thank you for your reply!

I'll try to explain.
The 3 monitors run just fine, no further adjustment neede there.
but since I have a larger resolution now (with bezel correction it's 6000X1200)
the previous FOV of the Huey which was ~60 degrees and is native to resolution of 1920X1080,
is still the same for my higher resolution, so 60 degrees FOV on a wide screen looks like I sit WAY too close.

I am already at the most aft zoom I can (means wider FOV) - and it's not enough.
In the past I was able to fix it in the view settings, but ED has changed the way it worked and "broke" it, so I don't know how to manage it now....

Thanks!
ron533 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-08-2020, 04:04 PM   #10
X-31_VECTOR
Junior Member
 
X-31_VECTOR's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2020
Location: Virginia, USA
Posts: 78
Default

Ah, I get it now. Sorry I don't have any real insights to offer.

If you really can't change the FOV, I wonder if you could get a wider zoom by "tricking" the system by setting a different resolution. If, for example, you set a lower horizontal resolution than 6000 (or a higher vertical resolution than 1200), would DCS just not draw to the outer edges of the left and right monitors? (Or would it just stretch and distort?)

If the former is the case, you would lose some of the benefit of the side monitors, but you might be able to find a compromise between an acceptable zoom level and still using at least half the side monitors.

Odds of that suggestion being helpful seem low, but perhaps it will spur someone else who actually knows what the hell they are talking about to weigh in just to shut me up.
X-31_VECTOR is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump

All times are GMT. The time now is 05:21 PM. vBulletin Skin by ForumMonkeys. Powered by vBulletin®.
Copyright ©2000 - 2020, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.