Smaller zoom-out area - Update 2.5.3.21016 - Page 2 - ED Forums
 


Notices

Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 11-09-2018, 03:21 PM   #11
Exorcet
Senior Member
 
Exorcet's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2009
Posts: 2,528
Default

I'd also like to see what the official stance is, and if possible have the ME map limits greatly increased.
__________________
http://i280.photobucket.com/albums/kk187/Exorcet/F-15singaturebaseACOmodifiedcomp-1.jpg
Win 7 64 i5-6600K 3.6 GHz 32 GB RAM GTX970 4GB -- A-10C, F-5E, Su-27, F-15C missions in User Files
Exorcet is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-10-2018, 10:27 AM   #12
ChuckJäger
Junior Member
 
Join Date: May 2018
Location: Hong Kong
Posts: 46
Default

Am I losing my mind? I think the PG map has actually gotten bigger... I honestly do not remember it extending all the way to the North West like it is currently when was initially released.. Looks like we have parts of Kuwait and Iraq as well as Bahrain and Qatar. Hopefully they will go ahead and develop those areas with airfields and such!
__________________
USN OEF OIF Veteran

i7-8700K OC'd 4800ghz |Gigabyte GeForce RTX 2080Ti OC'd | 32gb RAM | 2.5TB SSD

Oculus Rift | TM Warthog HOTAS |
ChuckJäger is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-10-2018, 04:13 PM   #13
Exorcet
Senior Member
 
Exorcet's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2009
Posts: 2,528
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by ChuckJäger View Post
Am I losing my mind? I think the PG map has actually gotten bigger... I honestly do not remember it extending all the way to the North West like it is currently when was initially released.. Looks like we have parts of Kuwait and Iraq as well as Bahrain and Qatar. Hopefully they will go ahead and develop those areas with airfields and such!
The issue is not the size of the map itself, but how far you can zoom out, or pan across the map in the ME.


In some older versions of the sim on the Caucuses map you could actually go hundreds of miles outside of the intended map area in the ME and place units, which was extremely useful. Now the maps try to keep you focused very tightly on the intended areas.


Now I do understand that their might be reasons for map limits of some kind, but I don't know why these are so restrictive. I've flow about 1000 miles north of the map border in the ME before my game crashed so it doesn't seem like expanding the ME limit even by a few hundred miles will cause an issue.


And yes, two airfields were added to the north of the map. No more expansion is planned except possibly slightly south in the UAE.
__________________
http://i280.photobucket.com/albums/kk187/Exorcet/F-15singaturebaseACOmodifiedcomp-1.jpg
Win 7 64 i5-6600K 3.6 GHz 32 GB RAM GTX970 4GB -- A-10C, F-5E, Su-27, F-15C missions in User Files
Exorcet is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-11-2018, 05:51 AM   #14
Winterz
Member
 
Winterz's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2015
Location: France
Posts: 364
Default

I confirm this. It's really anoying I cant reach some units I did put far-east in my missions such as a carrier group to make distances closer to real life ROE. It's a pity. I hope ED will take a look at this problem.
__________________
Winterz is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump

All times are GMT. The time now is 08:14 PM. vBulletin Skin by ForumMonkeys. Powered by vBulletin®.
Copyright ©2000 - 2018, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.