Hi

Passero

Hi all... I'm new in the DCS world and enjoying it so far... I started playing it by accident to be honest...

My 7 year old son is into VR so I was looking into some great VR experiences. Because I bought my VR gear for sim racing, I never thought about flight sims although I am an avid flight simmer, but with FSX and never thought about VR....

It's amazing to play this game in VR. Currently I'm using the rift but I pre ordered the HP reverb g2 and can't wait... The rift is just not enough. I can't read the numbers on the dials which is annoying...

I've got a 2080ti and 10700k with 32GB Ram so I should be able to run DCS fine with the g2 but might have to lower some graphics settings... But at least I will be able to read the cockpit properly.

One thing I'd like to understand is how complex the modern jets are? At the moment I'm focusing on the WWII planes. My first plane is the P51 Mustang as I also have the most experience with propeller planes in FSX (the A2A Cessna). So it didn't take me long to do a full cold start and do some circuit flying.

I'm scared to venture in the dark hole of jets as they seem so complex. They seem amazing to fly but the jump from a WWII plane to a jet seems a bit to much for me to handle...

I'm also very intrigued with the mission editor. I already created my own training missions for the P51 to do some air to ground practice and dog fight practice. I definitely want to go deeper into the tool and see what's possible.

Plenty of stuff to do and so little time :)

Hey, and welcome!

Modern jets are quite complex and intimidating at first, but once you get the hang of them they become quite intuitive. They're meant to be used by humans in stressful combat situations after all! :thumbup:

Personally, when in doubt, I'd recommend you to start with a slightly older and less advanced jet. The leap from WW2 to modern becomes more managable that way.