What is the availability of Cougar spare parts since Thrustmaster stopped support? - Page 2 - ED Forums
 


Notices

Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 12-06-2019, 02:26 PM   #11
Fakum
Senior Member
 
Fakum's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2008
Location: North East, USA
Posts: 2,631
Default

Im looking for the Antenna POT primarily, and the Speed Brake Switch, and then the Range POT.


In addition, Thrustmaster just sent me another "OOOPPPSSSS" notice, as follows:



We thank you for your reply and for providing us with the requested details.
We apologies for this inconvenience. There was a mistake that slip in our previous reply.
The part that you have initially mentioned - POT 270-XM8508 THROTT.FCT HOTAS = 6000197 - is no longer available in stock.
What we have in stock is a different on - see attachment as reference and PN.
We are looking forward to your answer.
To ensure the most efficient follow-up of your query, please answer directly to this email (do not open a new ticket).
Kind regards,
Your Thrustmaster Customer Support Agent, Octavian
http://support.thrustmaster.com
__________________
Windows 10 Pro - 64 Bit / GIGABYTE 3866MHz GA-Z170X-Gaming 7 MOBO / Intel i7-6700K 4.0GHz Processor (OC to 4.Eight) / G.SKILL TridentZ Series 32GB DDR4 3200 Ram / Samsung 850 EVO 500GB SATA III SSD / EVGA 2080 Ti FTW3 Hybrid/ Onboard Audio card / Creative Inspire 5.1 Surround Speakers /LG-Ultragear 38" IPS LED Ulrawide HD Monitor / Track IR4 / Saitek Pro Flight Combat Pedals / Thrustmaster Cougar HOTAS (Modded)
Fakum is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-13-2019, 02:48 PM   #12
Fakum
Senior Member
 
Fakum's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2008
Location: North East, USA
Posts: 2,631
Default

Follow up:
Thrustmaster sent me a notice that they made an error and that these parts are available. I just went through the process and submitted an order. We shall see how this turns out. Hopefully good? I thought the price was right, 33 Euros for 2 Antenna pots, 1 Range Pot and 1 Speed Brake Switch with shipping.
__________________
Windows 10 Pro - 64 Bit / GIGABYTE 3866MHz GA-Z170X-Gaming 7 MOBO / Intel i7-6700K 4.0GHz Processor (OC to 4.Eight) / G.SKILL TridentZ Series 32GB DDR4 3200 Ram / Samsung 850 EVO 500GB SATA III SSD / EVGA 2080 Ti FTW3 Hybrid/ Onboard Audio card / Creative Inspire 5.1 Surround Speakers /LG-Ultragear 38" IPS LED Ulrawide HD Monitor / Track IR4 / Saitek Pro Flight Combat Pedals / Thrustmaster Cougar HOTAS (Modded)
Fakum is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-16-2019, 01:25 AM   #13
Ranma13
Member
 
Join Date: Feb 2013
Posts: 532
Default

Please keep us up to date. If these parts are indeed still available and especially at that price, I'm sure the folks over at viperpits.org would love to hear about it. It's hard enough to source a linear potentiometer with a center detent, even harder to find one with a center detent and momentary push, and impossible to find one with a momentary push that has significant travel (as opposed to a tactile click where it moves less than 1mm).
Ranma13 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-16-2019, 12:31 PM   #14
Fakum
Senior Member
 
Fakum's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2008
Location: North East, USA
Posts: 2,631
Default

I certainly will,I will wait until I get parts in hand, and confirm that they are actually the correct parts,,,
__________________
Windows 10 Pro - 64 Bit / GIGABYTE 3866MHz GA-Z170X-Gaming 7 MOBO / Intel i7-6700K 4.0GHz Processor (OC to 4.Eight) / G.SKILL TridentZ Series 32GB DDR4 3200 Ram / Samsung 850 EVO 500GB SATA III SSD / EVGA 2080 Ti FTW3 Hybrid/ Onboard Audio card / Creative Inspire 5.1 Surround Speakers /LG-Ultragear 38" IPS LED Ulrawide HD Monitor / Track IR4 / Saitek Pro Flight Combat Pedals / Thrustmaster Cougar HOTAS (Modded)
Fakum is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-02-2020, 01:55 PM   #15
Fakum
Senior Member
 
Fakum's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2008
Location: North East, USA
Posts: 2,631
Default

Parts received. I ordered (2) Antenna pots, so I would have a spare. the 1st one I installed did not work as it should, I installed the 2nd (spare) and it worked great! I will have to deal with them about that.


I also ordered a Speed Break switch. (T9 & T10). I have a question, and I dont recall, or can I find an answer online, or in the manual. The new switch has 3 positions. Center, moving one way is only momentary (does not lock in place), move the other and it stays in a fixed position (locks in place)?


Is that how the speed brake is supposed to work? I thought it was supposed to mechanically stay in any position you set it in?
__________________
Windows 10 Pro - 64 Bit / GIGABYTE 3866MHz GA-Z170X-Gaming 7 MOBO / Intel i7-6700K 4.0GHz Processor (OC to 4.Eight) / G.SKILL TridentZ Series 32GB DDR4 3200 Ram / Samsung 850 EVO 500GB SATA III SSD / EVGA 2080 Ti FTW3 Hybrid/ Onboard Audio card / Creative Inspire 5.1 Surround Speakers /LG-Ultragear 38" IPS LED Ulrawide HD Monitor / Track IR4 / Saitek Pro Flight Combat Pedals / Thrustmaster Cougar HOTAS (Modded)
Fakum is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-02-2020, 02:31 PM   #16
Rudel_chw
Veteran
 
Join Date: Nov 2013
Location: Antofagasta, Chile
Posts: 5,742
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Fakum View Post
Parts received. I ordered (2) Antenna pots, so I would have a spare.
OK, thanks for updating us on their availability

Quote:
I also ordered a Speed Break switch. (T9 & T10). I have a question, and I dont recall, or can I find an answer online, or in the manual. The new switch has 3 positions. Center, moving one way is only momentary (does not lock in place), move the other and it stays in a fixed position (locks in place)?

Is that how the speed brake is supposed to work? I thought it was supposed to mechanically stay in any position you set it in?
No, it is correct .. The T-10 position locks in place, while the T9 does not .. On my Profiles I usually use the first one for the Speedbrake, as I can then tell visually if the speedbrake is extended or not. The other one I use for flaps Up/Down and Landing Gear.

best regards
__________________
For work: iMac mid-2010 of 27" - Core i7 870 - 6 GB DDR3 1333 MHz - ATI HD5670 - SSD 256 GB - HDD 2 TB - macOS High Sierra
For Gaming: 27" Monitor - Ryzen 1500X - 32 GB DDR4 2400 - MSI GTX970 - SSD 1.25 TB - HDD 10 TB - Windows 10 Pro - Thrustmaster HOTAS Cougar - Oculus Rift CV1
Mobile: iPad Pro 12.9" of 256 GB
Rudel_chw is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-02-2020, 02:38 PM   #17
Fakum
Senior Member
 
Fakum's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2008
Location: North East, USA
Posts: 2,631
Default

Thanks for clarifying that for me. Its nice to know then that parts are still available.
__________________
Windows 10 Pro - 64 Bit / GIGABYTE 3866MHz GA-Z170X-Gaming 7 MOBO / Intel i7-6700K 4.0GHz Processor (OC to 4.Eight) / G.SKILL TridentZ Series 32GB DDR4 3200 Ram / Samsung 850 EVO 500GB SATA III SSD / EVGA 2080 Ti FTW3 Hybrid/ Onboard Audio card / Creative Inspire 5.1 Surround Speakers /LG-Ultragear 38" IPS LED Ulrawide HD Monitor / Track IR4 / Saitek Pro Flight Combat Pedals / Thrustmaster Cougar HOTAS (Modded)
Fakum is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Tags
cougar, rudder_pedals, thrustmaster

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump

All times are GMT. The time now is 09:05 PM. vBulletin Skin by ForumMonkeys. Powered by vBulletin®.
Copyright ©2000 - 2020, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.