Creating Mi-8 module for DCS-BIOS - Page 5 - ED Forums
 


Notices

Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 12-13-2017, 09:46 AM   #41
molevitch
Member
 
molevitch's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2006
Location: London UK
Posts: 248
Reputation power: 13
molevitch has a spectacular aura aboutmolevitch has a spectacular aura aboutmolevitch has a spectacular aura aboutmolevitch has a spectacular aura about
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by ArturDCS View Post

Sorry, I have never done anything Arduino related. I wish I could help. I guess you have to post your question to some DCS-BIOS & Arduino related thread or direct others to this thread.
I have created DCS-BIOS profiles and we use DCS-BIOS heavily in DCSFlightpanels but thats about it..
Thanks for your super-speedy reply!

Ah, ok, shame... But it looks like I might be on the right track, no? Ok, so your code is for communicating with Saitek panels.... But in principle, you are able to make the Saitek panel as an Arc-9 dial give discrete frequency values to DCS, as opposed to Increade/Decrease commands, as if by mouse clicks in cockpit?

Thank you for your reply, I will try posting to the DCS-BIOS pages too.

Molevitch
__________________
Scan 3XS Performance 7 GTX PC, Overclocked Intel Core i7 6700K, 16GB Corsair DDR4, NVIDIA GTX 1070, 240GB SSD, 2TB HDD, Win 10.
Oculus Rift CV1, custom Mi-24 cyclic and collective.

Mi-24 Cyclic and Collective with Magnetic Brakes and Force Feedback
Mag Brake in operation
molevitch is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-13-2017, 10:49 AM   #42
ArturDCS
Member
 
ArturDCS's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2013
Location: Kaarina, Finland
Posts: 401
Reputation power: 5
ArturDCS will become famous soon enoughArturDCS will become famous soon enough
Default

Do you know how to use the DCS-BIOS Control Reference Page?
If you look there you will see there are no such hooks or controls (discrete). You have to move up/down for the ARC-9, Main 10kHz Rotary Knob and ARC-9, Main 100kHz Rotary Knob.

DCSFlightpanels does just that, but as you set the frequency on the Saitek Radio Panel (discrete) and press "Change button" on the panel DCSFlightpanels keeps track of the cockpit frequency and manipulates accordingly the rotaries up/down until the frequencies match.

Quote:
Originally Posted by molevitch View Post
Thanks for your super-speedy reply!

Ah, ok, shame... But it looks like I might be on the right track, no? Ok, so your code is for communicating with Saitek panels.... But in principle, you are able to make the Saitek panel as an Arc-9 dial give discrete frequency values to DCS, as opposed to Increade/Decrease commands, as if by mouse clicks in cockpit?

Thank you for your reply, I will try posting to the DCS-BIOS pages too.

Molevitch
__________________
Co-developer of DCSFlightpanels together with pdmarsh.
Like the software? Please consider supporting it via PayPal.
ArturDCS is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-13-2017, 12:11 PM   #43
molevitch
Member
 
molevitch's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2006
Location: London UK
Posts: 248
Reputation power: 13
molevitch has a spectacular aura aboutmolevitch has a spectacular aura aboutmolevitch has a spectacular aura aboutmolevitch has a spectacular aura about
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by ArturDCS View Post
Do you know how to use the DCS-BIOS Control Reference Page?
If you look there you will see there are no such hooks or controls (discrete). You have to move up/down for the ARC-9, Main 10kHz Rotary Knob and ARC-9, Main 100kHz Rotary Knob.

DCSFlightpanels does just that, but as you set the frequency on the Saitek Radio Panel (discrete) and press "Change button" on the panel DCSFlightpanels keeps track of the cockpit frequency and manipulates accordingly the rotaries up/down until the frequencies match.
I have literally only yesterday started to read the DCS-BIOS pages in any detail. Now that I might have an actual need for it, I am trying harder!

I am trying to puzzle out a way the mechanical rotary can work to do the "push button A if turned clockwise, push button B if turned anticlockwise" like a digital rotary encoder. But I cannot. Maybe theres a way.

Or, each switch position is equal to a freq. eg Switch 2 on 1kHz knob = freq 20 kHz. So I need to work out how to tell that to DCS. If I can do that, great, with a Bodnar button board.... I will keep reading the Control reference pages, and figuring.

So an Arduino clone is on its way, something new to learn.

But you say you know nothing about Arduino. I thought DCS-BIOS works only through Arduino. But your DCSFlightPanels interfaces between a Saitek box, and DCS.

__________________
Scan 3XS Performance 7 GTX PC, Overclocked Intel Core i7 6700K, 16GB Corsair DDR4, NVIDIA GTX 1070, 240GB SSD, 2TB HDD, Win 10.
Oculus Rift CV1, custom Mi-24 cyclic and collective.

Mi-24 Cyclic and Collective with Magnetic Brakes and Force Feedback
Mag Brake in operation
molevitch is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-13-2017, 02:26 PM   #44
ArturDCS
Member
 
ArturDCS's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2013
Location: Kaarina, Finland
Posts: 401
Reputation power: 5
ArturDCS will become famous soon enoughArturDCS will become famous soon enough
Default

Yes, DCS-BIOS is made up of several projects. The main project from my point of view is the one that exports of data from the simulator engine.
You will have to make sketches that interpret the same data that I deal with in DCSFlightpanels. It is supposed to be quite easy once you have one foot through the door. Good luck!

Quote:
Originally Posted by molevitch View Post
I have literally only yesterday started to read the DCS-BIOS pages in any detail. Now that I might have an actual need for it, I am trying harder!

I am trying to puzzle out a way the mechanical rotary can work to do the "push button A if turned clockwise, push button B if turned anticlockwise" like a digital rotary encoder. But I cannot. Maybe theres a way.

Or, each switch position is equal to a freq. eg Switch 2 on 1kHz knob = freq 20 kHz. So I need to work out how to tell that to DCS. If I can do that, great, with a Bodnar button board.... I will keep reading the Control reference pages, and figuring.

So an Arduino clone is on its way, something new to learn.

But you say you know nothing about Arduino. I thought DCS-BIOS works only through Arduino. But your DCSFlightPanels interfaces between a Saitek box, and DCS.

__________________
Co-developer of DCSFlightpanels together with pdmarsh.
Like the software? Please consider supporting it via PayPal.
ArturDCS is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-13-2017, 02:44 PM   #45
molevitch
Member
 
molevitch's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2006
Location: London UK
Posts: 248
Reputation power: 13
molevitch has a spectacular aura aboutmolevitch has a spectacular aura aboutmolevitch has a spectacular aura aboutmolevitch has a spectacular aura about
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by ArturDCS View Post
Yes, DCS-BIOS is made up of several projects. The main project from my point of view is the one that exports of data from the simulator engine.
You will have to make sketches that interpret the same data that I deal with in DCSFlightpanels. It is supposed to be quite easy once you have one foot through the door. Good luck!
Thank you, fingers crossed and down the rabbit hole I go!
__________________
Scan 3XS Performance 7 GTX PC, Overclocked Intel Core i7 6700K, 16GB Corsair DDR4, NVIDIA GTX 1070, 240GB SSD, 2TB HDD, Win 10.
Oculus Rift CV1, custom Mi-24 cyclic and collective.

Mi-24 Cyclic and Collective with Magnetic Brakes and Force Feedback
Mag Brake in operation
molevitch is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-13-2017, 02:58 PM   #46
ArturDCS
Member
 
ArturDCS's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2013
Location: Kaarina, Finland
Posts: 401
Reputation power: 5
ArturDCS will become famous soon enoughArturDCS will become famous soon enough
Default

I forgot this. Here you can see how to install and use the DCS-BIOS Control Reference Page. First post.
__________________
Co-developer of DCSFlightpanels together with pdmarsh.
Like the software? Please consider supporting it via PayPal.
ArturDCS is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-13-2017, 04:51 PM   #47
molevitch
Member
 
molevitch's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2006
Location: London UK
Posts: 248
Reputation power: 13
molevitch has a spectacular aura aboutmolevitch has a spectacular aura aboutmolevitch has a spectacular aura aboutmolevitch has a spectacular aura about
Default

Thank you again! Trying to puzzle it all out....
__________________
Scan 3XS Performance 7 GTX PC, Overclocked Intel Core i7 6700K, 16GB Corsair DDR4, NVIDIA GTX 1070, 240GB SSD, 2TB HDD, Win 10.
Oculus Rift CV1, custom Mi-24 cyclic and collective.

Mi-24 Cyclic and Collective with Magnetic Brakes and Force Feedback
Mag Brake in operation
molevitch is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-24-2017, 10:00 AM   #48
molevitch
Member
 
molevitch's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2006
Location: London UK
Posts: 248
Reputation power: 13
molevitch has a spectacular aura aboutmolevitch has a spectacular aura aboutmolevitch has a spectacular aura aboutmolevitch has a spectacular aura about
Default

Well, I got the main rotator switch dial working so I am pretty sure the rest will be a piece of cake!

DCS-BIOS a fantastic piece of work! Brilliant.
__________________
Scan 3XS Performance 7 GTX PC, Overclocked Intel Core i7 6700K, 16GB Corsair DDR4, NVIDIA GTX 1070, 240GB SSD, 2TB HDD, Win 10.
Oculus Rift CV1, custom Mi-24 cyclic and collective.

Mi-24 Cyclic and Collective with Magnetic Brakes and Force Feedback
Mag Brake in operation
molevitch is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-24-2017, 10:51 AM   #49
ArturDCS
Member
 
ArturDCS's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2013
Location: Kaarina, Finland
Posts: 401
Reputation power: 5
ArturDCS will become famous soon enoughArturDCS will become famous soon enough
Default

Excellent, yes you will get it done.
__________________
Co-developer of DCSFlightpanels together with pdmarsh.
Like the software? Please consider supporting it via PayPal.
ArturDCS is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump

All times are GMT. The time now is 08:54 AM. vBulletin Skin by ForumMonkeys. Powered by vBulletin®.
Copyright ©2000 - 2018, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.