Very strange bug since last firmware update - T50 Stick - ED Forums
 


Notices

Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 09-11-2018, 08:38 AM   #1
Whisper
Member
 
Whisper's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2004
Posts: 454
Default Very strange bug since last firmware update - T50 Stick

Since I upgraded my T50 Stick firmware last sunday, I face a very strange (and annoying ) thing.
I noticed that just after the upgrade, jumping in my Mi8, each time I tried to reach radio (via trigger button on the Mi, I had a unusual button sound played. I appeared the thumb button on the stick was also pushed at the same time the trigger was pushed. I try to use the same mapping as IRL on my DCS configurations, so the DCS Mi8 thumb button (trim button) is the T50 thumb button for me as well. So I was pushing the trim button when I was contacting radio, for some reason....

Looking deeper into it via the Virpil configurator, I saw the following :
Each button on the T50 is assigned a phsical ID. You can then map the pushing of "physical Id X" to "logical Id" (let's call it that way) Y being sent to Windows/DCS.
Typically on my setup, trigger detent (stage 1) is physical Id 8 and mapped to logical Id 1, thumb button is physical Id 7 and mapped to logical Id 17. For the completion of my post, I'll list several other buttons : trigger detent (Stage 2) is physical Id 1 and mapped to logical Id 2, retractable trigger is physical Id 2 and mapped to "I don't remember".
So what I saw happening in the Virpil configurator is that for trigger detent (stage 1), thumb button and retractable trigger, when I push them, I see the corresponding physical Id being activated, but ALSO the physical Id - 1 being activated. Ie : when I push the trigger, the physical Id 8 is triggered (which triggers 'button 1' in DCS), but ALSO physical Id 7 (which triggers 'button 17' in DCS).
When I push the retractable trigger (Id 2), I have both Id 2 and Id 1 (trigger detent stage 2) being triggered
In the Virpil configurator, this behavior is not consistent, sometimes only the correct button is triggered, sometimes, button + 'Id -1' are pushed. I need to spam the button to see the strange behavior.
In DCS, it looks like both buttons are caught everytime, and from what I see the second, wrong Id is being triggered on button deactivation.
It doesn't happen for all buttons, Hats, PoV, 2-ways and the 2 buttons bunched together are OK, the rest has wrong behavior.

The behavior looks a lot like a hardware fault to me, but :
* it happened just after a firmware upgrade where I didn't touch the hardware, hardware mishandling didn't happen on that period.
* The "ID - 1" thing looks a lot like a software bug

From what I understood of it, I'm running a PCB version 5 (I think you see this by the name of the configuration file that the Virpil configurator proposes you after you upgraded firmware, '.cnfv05' means PCB v5, '.cnfv06' means PCB v6, etc....)

So, 2 questions :
* Has anyone seen such behavior? I guess not or we would hear of this sooner
* I stupidely have overwritten my old Virpil configurator / firmware files in the upgrade process. I want to confirm if it's a firmware issue or not, I guess downgrading the firmware to previous version would prove that. Has anyone still the older firmware version somewhere available? It's not on Virpil site anymore.

Ofc, I opened a ticket, so I'm also waiting on it.
__________________
Whisper of old OFP & C6 forums, now Kalbuth.
Specs : i7 6700K / MSI 1070 / 16G RAM / SSD / Rift / Virpil MongooseT50 with X55 Throttle / MFG Crosswind.
DCS fanboi - Only missing Hawk, Viggen & Persian Gulf
Whisper is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-11-2018, 07:16 PM   #2
unknown
Member
 
Join Date: Mar 2010
Location: Germany
Posts: 501
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Whisper View Post
....
So, 2 questions :
* Has anyone seen such behavior? I guess not or we would hear of this sooner
* I stupidely have overwritten my old Virpil configurator / firmware files in the upgrade process. I want to confirm if it's a firmware issue or not, I guess downgrading the firmware to previous version would prove that. Has anyone still the older firmware version somewhere available? It's not on Virpil site anymore.

Ofc, I opened a ticket, so I'm also waiting on it.
I use the same(?) config for the MI-8 as you. Trigger first stage is the Radio and Trigger second stage is the Intercom, i also use the thumb button for trimming and the pinky(?) button for trimmer reset. I can't reproduce your observation. Everytime i use Trigger Stage 1/2 and the thumb button only these buttons are recognised by DCS, no double buttons or two at the same time...tested it a couple minutes ago in the latest DCS OpenBeta(in Game).
I updated my FW of the T-50CM and the T-50 Throttle recently. I don't know if this is the latest version, or if that is the version at all. VPC-JOY-180828
__________________
Modules: KA-50, A-10C, FC3, UH-1H, MI-8MTV2, CA, MIG-21bis, FW-190D9, Bf-109K4, F-86F, MIG-15bis, M-2000C, SA342 Gazelle, AJS-37 Viggen, F/A-18C

System: Win 10 64bit, Ryzen 1800X, 32gb RAM, Radeon R9 Fury X

MFG Crosswind Rudder Pedals - TrackIR 5 - VIRPIL T-50CM and VIRPIL MongoosT-50 Throttle
unknown is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 09-11-2018, 08:35 PM   #3
Whisper
Member
 
Whisper's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2004
Posts: 454
Default

Yes 180828 is the latest one. Maybe it's something to do with the PCB version I have. Would you still have, by chance, the old version of the Virpil Software / FW somewhere on you disk ? I can"t it anywhere on mine to try for a downgrade
__________________
Whisper of old OFP & C6 forums, now Kalbuth.
Specs : i7 6700K / MSI 1070 / 16G RAM / SSD / Rift / Virpil MongooseT50 with X55 Throttle / MFG Crosswind.
DCS fanboi - Only missing Hawk, Viggen & Persian Gulf
Whisper is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-12-2018, 05:06 AM   #4
unknown
Member
 
Join Date: Mar 2010
Location: Germany
Posts: 501
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Whisper View Post
Yes 180828 is the latest one. Maybe it's something to do with the PCB version I have. Would you still have, by chance, the old version of the Virpil Software / FW somewhere on you disk ? I can"t it anywhere on mine to try for a downgrade
Unfortunately i deleted every previous version.
Maybe Cyph3r can help here?
__________________
Modules: KA-50, A-10C, FC3, UH-1H, MI-8MTV2, CA, MIG-21bis, FW-190D9, Bf-109K4, F-86F, MIG-15bis, M-2000C, SA342 Gazelle, AJS-37 Viggen, F/A-18C

System: Win 10 64bit, Ryzen 1800X, 32gb RAM, Radeon R9 Fury X

MFG Crosswind Rudder Pedals - TrackIR 5 - VIRPIL T-50CM and VIRPIL MongoosT-50 Throttle
unknown is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 09-12-2018, 01:19 PM   #5
Karon
Member
 
Karon's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2009
Location: London - UK
Posts: 562
Default

This firmware is almost one year old: https://www.dropbox.com/s/uvhangp4x6...4%5D.hexc?dl=0


Mr V sent it to me when one of the two sensors stopped working (it has hardware failure, btw). Try if you want.
__________________
KEEP CALM AND AUTOROTATE

132nd Virtual Wing - 696th vSquadron
VCB: ArmA3 British Army Light Infantry platoon
A3/DCS youtube channel: ArmA3 streaming + DCS nonsense
Arduino controls box forum thread
Karon is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-12-2018, 07:33 PM   #6
Whisper
Member
 
Whisper's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2004
Posts: 454
Default

Thank you Karon, but unfortunately that's only the firmware file, if I downgrade to it, my current version of VPC Configuration Tool will tell me it's incompatible and I won't be able to re-sync until I re-upgrade to the latest firmware.
If you also have the corresponding Configuration Tool version that would be great, otherwise, I'm in touch with VPC Support now, we're going through divers tests and check what could be wrong

Thanks a lot for the help anyway
__________________
Whisper of old OFP & C6 forums, now Kalbuth.
Specs : i7 6700K / MSI 1070 / 16G RAM / SSD / Rift / Virpil MongooseT50 with X55 Throttle / MFG Crosswind.
DCS fanboi - Only missing Hawk, Viggen & Persian Gulf
Whisper is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-13-2018, 03:03 AM   #7
Thomasew
Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2008
Location: Bluewater Bay, South Africa
Posts: 108
Default

Hi,


Here's a link to the complete VPC_Light vers. 1.01, .. from January.


https://www.dropbox.com/s/znnw96q7cq..._1.01.zip?dl=0


Hope it helps you out.


Cheers
Tom
__________________
He Who Will Not Risk Cannot Win

Last edited by Thomasew; 09-13-2018 at 03:07 AM.
Thomasew is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-13-2018, 06:42 AM   #8
Whisper
Member
 
Whisper's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2004
Posts: 454
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Thomasew View Post
Hi,


Here's a link to the complete VPC_Light vers. 1.01, .. from January.


https://www.dropbox.com/s/znnw96q7cq..._1.01.zip?dl=0


Hope it helps you out.


Cheers
Tom
Thanks a lot. I downgraded, and it made the problem disappear. So it is either a firmware issue (but strange that I would be the only one having it) or a very subtle hardware issue that only brings defect since the latest firmware version. I'd guess the latter, I see no reason to be the only one suffering this issue.
It helped a ton, thanks a lot again!
__________________
Whisper of old OFP & C6 forums, now Kalbuth.
Specs : i7 6700K / MSI 1070 / 16G RAM / SSD / Rift / Virpil MongooseT50 with X55 Throttle / MFG Crosswind.
DCS fanboi - Only missing Hawk, Viggen & Persian Gulf
Whisper is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-13-2018, 09:40 AM   #9
Thomasew
Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2008
Location: Bluewater Bay, South Africa
Posts: 108
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Whisper View Post
Thanks a lot. I downgraded, and it made the problem disappear. So it is either a firmware issue (but strange that I would be the only one having it) or a very subtle hardware issue that only brings defect since the latest firmware version. I'd guess the latter, I see no reason to be the only one suffering this issue.
It helped a ton, thanks a lot again!


Hi,

You may not be the only one, ..

I upgraded my MT-50 about 3 or 4 weeks ago, with the 20180807 firmware, and I seem to recall also having some oddity with button presses etc..

.. but, I can't remember exactly what the button presses were doing, just that they seemed incorrect. I also have a vague memory of using the old VPC Tester (1.01), .. and the buttons seemed ok.

I was actually more concerned about the name change, .. i.e. from VPC- MongoosT-50 to .. VPC Flightstick, .. and thinking about the implications of it being identified as a new device, .. and all my DCS & iL2 configs not working anymore.

.. on that basis, I rolled back to the older firmware (20180101, .. the one I posted)

So, inasmuch as I can't be certain exactly what button was doing what, .. I did notice something odd.

I may try the newer software/firmware again this week, .. or, wait until my MT-50 throttle arrives, .. and try it then.


Did Virpil have any ideas/solutions for you?



Cheers
Tom
__________________
He Who Will Not Risk Cannot Win

Last edited by Thomasew; 09-13-2018 at 09:47 AM.
Thomasew is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-13-2018, 11:38 AM   #10
Whisper
Member
 
Whisper's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2004
Posts: 454
Default

We're onto debugging. Awesome support by them, tbh.
I'll keep updated
__________________
Whisper of old OFP & C6 forums, now Kalbuth.
Specs : i7 6700K / MSI 1070 / 16G RAM / SSD / Rift / Virpil MongooseT50 with X55 Throttle / MFG Crosswind.
DCS fanboi - Only missing Hawk, Viggen & Persian Gulf
Whisper is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump

All times are GMT. The time now is 04:03 PM. vBulletin Skin by ForumMonkeys. Powered by vBulletin®.
Copyright ©2000 - 2018, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.