Looking To Upgrade My X-55 - ED Forums
 


Notices

Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 10-06-2017, 05:29 AM   #1
KrizzKaliko
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Jul 2014
Location: Fort Drum
Posts: 61
Reputation power: 4
KrizzKaliko will become famous soon enoughKrizzKaliko will become famous soon enough
Default Looking To Upgrade My X-55

So, I want to upgrade to a different HOTAS, I am still very new to the whole DCS hardcore sim when it comes to just doing basics, but with the harrier, hopefully the F-4 and others.... I want to learn with a better Stick and throttle. Any suggestions?
KrizzKaliko is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-06-2017, 08:19 AM   #2
bart
Member
 
bart's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2013
Location: Buckinghamshire UK
Posts: 896
Reputation power: 9
bart is a jewel in the roughbart is a jewel in the roughbart is a jewel in the roughbart is a jewel in the roughbart is a jewel in the roughbart is a jewel in the roughbart is a jewel in the roughbart is a jewel in the rough
Default

If you have the budget go for a TM Warthog Throttle and Stick.
__________________
System :-
Alienware Aurora R4
i7-3960 six core Extreme overclocked to 4.0Ghz, 16GB ram 1600MHz DDR3 Quad channel, 1x 256GB and 1x 512GB 850 Pro SATA 6GB/s Samsung SSD's, 4GB GTX 980, Windows 7. HOTAS Warthog, Saitek combat rudder pedals, Oculus Rift CV1.


.................................................. ........................................................................ ...........................
bart is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-06-2017, 09:58 AM   #3
StandingCow
Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2014
Posts: 978
Reputation power: 7
StandingCow is a jewel in the roughStandingCow is a jewel in the roughStandingCow is a jewel in the roughStandingCow is a jewel in the roughStandingCow is a jewel in the roughStandingCow is a jewel in the roughStandingCow is a jewel in the rough
Default

I have an X55 as well. Currently have a VKB gunfighter and preordered the MCG. Waiting on the VKB throttle now, but there is no ETA.
__________________
i7 6700k - 16 GB DDR4 - 1080TI
http://forums.eagle.ru/signaturepics/sigpic109620_1.gif
StandingCow is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-06-2017, 10:35 AM   #4
Cyph3r
Member
 
Cyph3r's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2011
Location: Shropshire, UK
Posts: 506
Reputation power: 8
Cyph3r is a jewel in the roughCyph3r is a jewel in the roughCyph3r is a jewel in the roughCyph3r is a jewel in the roughCyph3r is a jewel in the roughCyph3r is a jewel in the rough
Default

Be sure to check out the VPC MongoosT-50 Flightstick. Stick with your X55 throttle for the time being until the VPC throttle is available

If you have any questions, let me know.
__________________
► Website: www.virpil.com // ► Facebook: https://www.facebook.com/VirPilControls // ► Twitter: https://twitter.com/VirPilControls

Cyph3r is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-21-2017, 12:24 AM   #5
KrizzKaliko
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Jul 2014
Location: Fort Drum
Posts: 61
Reputation power: 4
KrizzKaliko will become famous soon enoughKrizzKaliko will become famous soon enough
Question

So time to upgrade again, the x-55 was well till the springs got taught. I bought the Thrustmaster warthog+ the tf pedals, was this a good or bad choice, my main issue was Saitech BS setup where I had to constantly change the SAITECH software profile with a specific curve to match the same or close to on DCS, which makes me wanna puke, I was told mostly you can get profiles for aircraft, but software is not needed.
Did I make a good choice, any hints tips, or suggestions since never used pedals for flight and this supposedly(cause I will not but any Saitech product again, and those Saitech pedals were another 300+) one of the best setups. my specs are listed below...
  1. CPU: I7 4790k OC to 3.8-4.0 GHz with an CORSAIR Hydro Series H100i Water Cooler
  1. GPU:ROG-STRIX-GTX1080-O8G-11GBPS
  1. Window 10 64-bit
  1. RAM: 16GB of "Boutique Performance RAM" at 1600MHz DDR3
  1. MSI Z97-Gaming 7 Motherboard
  1. 34 Inch 21:9 Ultra wide Curved ACER 2560x1080 Monitor(It's the non $4k ROG one but still has 144hz)
  1. HDD:SDD:M.2/M.3: 1 Samsung 250GB SSD and a 2TB WD HDD. *m.2/m.3 question after.*

I believe I need to upgrade the RAM to GDDR5(If you know what some reliable good brands are I would love to know) and I can fit a M.2/M.3 SSD on my MB but I am not sure how faster DCS would be with that. Also any info on difference or + vs - of m.2 vs m.3 would help. Last thing is some people said don't use those m.X slots for SSD, and lastly thank you I hope I spread this out enough and I am happy to say goodbye to the x-55. It was amazing in 2014, but time for change!
KrizzKaliko is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-21-2017, 02:36 AM   #6
Sideslip
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Oct 2017
Posts: 44
Reputation power: 1
Sideslip is on a distinguished road
Default

I have no idea what you are talking about with matching Saitek curves with DCS curves. You only need to set the curve in 1 place if you want a curve at all. There should be 0 curve set in the joystick software and you adjust the curve you want on a game by game or even aircraft to aircraft basis. The only reason you would use the joystick software for that is if you can't make curves in a game, or you know you always want a certain amount. Deadzone on the other hand is good to set once to be used for all programs.

The G in GDDR stands for graphics, it's whats on GPUs. You can't buy GDDR. And you can't use memory on your motherboard if it is not supported. Z97 only supports DDR3 IIRC.

m.3 is just a bigger m.2 stick to hold more memory for businesses that need it. Unless you want to shell out $5000 per stick for more capacity, and I don't think consumers can buy them yet but I could be wrong, then there's no point.

Being m.2 does not make an SSD fast, it only potentially gives it access to more PCIe lanes which allows faster bandwidth. Whether it can actually use that bandwidth is a different matter.

DCS will not load significantly faster from a fast m.2 SSD than it will a normal 2.5" SSD (if at all). The CPU and memory can only work so fast given how something is coded. My main SSD is roughly 37 times faster than a typical HDD from just a couple years ago (3GB/s vs ~80MB/s). I guaranty nothing loads 37 times faster. So going from a standard SATA3 SSD to m.2 will not make any difference. What makes an SSD so much faster than an HDD is the amount of IO/s, something like 100,000/s vs 100/s. So if it has to read from 1000s of small files the SSD is much faster.

Whoever is telling you not to use m.2 slots for SSDs has no idea what they are talking about or leaving out the details. It is possible on some MBs that using the m.2 slot will disable the last PCIe port because it uses those PCIe lanes. Again, MB specific.

In my experience I have had trouble with DCS not being on the C drive (fresh DCS install). It was on a RAID0 at the time so maybe that somehow had something to do with it, but it really shouldn't. If you aren't having trouble then don't worry about it, but otherwise install it on the C drive.
Sideslip is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump

All times are GMT. The time now is 03:43 AM. vBulletin Skin by ForumMonkeys. Powered by vBulletin®.
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.