(FA-18) sound folder stucture has once again changed...replaced with sound.edc - ED Forums
 


Notices

Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 03-20-2020, 07:38 PM   #1
fitness88
Veteran
 
Join Date: Nov 2008
Posts: 3,783
Default RESOLVED-(FA-18) sound folder stucture has once again changed&replaced with sound.edc

RE:latest version OB 2.5.6.45317
So my in-cockpit sound mods are once again broken. With the last update that introduced sounds.edc I was able to use the saved games folder but I'm not sure that will work again.

Any info would be appreciated.

Thank you.

Last edited by fitness88; 03-20-2020 at 09:36 PM. Reason: RESOLVED
fitness88 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-20-2020, 07:51 PM   #2
sora_061
Member
 
Join Date: Sep 2019
Location: Mother's basement
Posts: 108
Default

Bought the Module in this sale before the update. Installed some sound mods. Now they are back to default ones.

Sent from my Redmi K20 Pro using Tapatalk
sora_061 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-20-2020, 07:57 PM   #3
fitness88
Veteran
 
Join Date: Nov 2008
Posts: 3,783
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by sora_061 View Post
Bought the Module in this sale before the update. Installed some sound mods. Now they are back to default ones.

Sent from my Redmi K20 Pro using Tapatalk
Yes this is what I'm saying...
fitness88 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-20-2020, 08:26 PM   #4
fitness88
Veteran
 
Join Date: Nov 2008
Posts: 3,783
Default

Update: I placed the mod files directly into saved games with the original folder structure instead of using OVGME [which places the files directly into DCS folders] and it now works again. You can't use OVGME to place sound files directly into the DCS folders.

Last edited by fitness88; 03-20-2020 at 08:28 PM.
fitness88 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-20-2020, 08:32 PM   #5
sora_061
Member
 
Join Date: Sep 2019
Location: Mother's basement
Posts: 108
Default

Ok Tnx for the update. I ll do it tmrw, it's 3 am need to sleep

Sent from my Redmi K20 Pro using Tapatalk
sora_061 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-20-2020, 09:12 PM   #6
fitness88
Veteran
 
Join Date: Nov 2008
Posts: 3,783
Default

Update 2: I have a .lua file that needs to be placed directly into the DCS folder [OVGME works well in this case]. It seems that this particular .lua file is ignored when placed into the saved games, there are many .lua files that of course are seen in the saved games folder.
fitness88 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-23-2020, 11:04 AM   #7
Habu_69
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Jul 2011
Location: USA VA
Posts: 1,036
Default

I think you can still use OvGME, but you must create 2 configs: 1 that targets the main DCS root folder and another that targets Saved Games.
Habu_69 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-23-2020, 03:20 PM   #8
fitness88
Veteran
 
Join Date: Nov 2008
Posts: 3,783
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Habu_69 View Post
I think you can still use OvGME, but you must create 2 configs: 1 that targets the main DCS root folder and another that targets Saved Games.
Why would you need to use OVGME for saved games folders, once installed there they stay there? I'm presently manually putting all files that will work into saved games, the files that are ignored in saved games like what I mentioned above I put into OVGME.
fitness88 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-23-2020, 04:21 PM   #9
Rudel_chw
Veteran
 
Join Date: Nov 2013
Location: Antofagasta, Chile
Posts: 6,500
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by fitness88 View Post
Why would you need to use OVGME for saved games folders, once installed there they stay there?
When you face a dcs crash, it is useful to be able to quickly disable all Mods, both from the program folder and from the saved games one.
__________________
For work: iMac mid-2010 of 27" - Core i7 870 - 6 GB DDR3 1333 MHz - ATI HD5670 - SSD 256 GB - HDD 2 TB - macOS High Sierra
For Gaming: 27" Monitor - Ryzen 1500X - 32 GB DDR4 2400 - MSI GTX970 - SSD 1.25 TB - HDD 10 TB - Windows 10 Pro - Thrustmaster HOTAS Cougar - Oculus Rift CV1
Mobile: iPad Pro 12.9" of 256 GB
Rudel_chw is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 03-24-2020, 01:56 AM   #10
fitness88
Veteran
 
Join Date: Nov 2008
Posts: 3,783
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Rudel_chw View Post
When you face a dcs crash, it is useful to be able to quickly disable all Mods, both from the program folder and from the saved games one.
Good point...hopefully there won't be too many of those
fitness88 is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump

All times are GMT. The time now is 02:37 PM. vBulletin Skin by ForumMonkeys. Powered by vBulletin®.
Copyright ©2000 - 2020, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.