Link16/MIDS capabilities - Page 2 - ED Forums
 


Notices

Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 12-03-2019, 01:21 PM   #11
Eddie
Veteran
 
Eddie's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2008
Location: Somewhere in the PG Map
Posts: 4,936
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Harker View Post
I'm not entirely sure of what exactly we're supposed to be doing with the MIDS A and MIDS B throttle switches, but I'm guessing that target sharing might fit there.
They are the PTTs for MIDS voice.
Eddie is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-03-2019, 01:24 PM   #12
Oceandar
Senior Member
 
Oceandar's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2004
Location: Probably would make you smirking
Posts: 1,230
Default

I saw video on youtube that the hornet can also receives DL from the Aegis class destroyer (which I don't believe its modeled in DCS) so it should be possible to see detected ship I guess.

Edit : oops... didnt read it was asked for AWACS
__________________
Mastering others is strength. Mastering yourself is true power. - Lao Tze
Oceandar is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-03-2019, 02:01 PM   #13
AvroLanc
Member
 
Join Date: Sep 2010
Posts: 491
Default

As far as I’m aware link 16 / SA page should be able to display own flight x 4 members TGT / SPI. It should also show specific assigned ground targets from an AWACS or JTAC, seen as a red triangle, similar to A10.

SEAD targets may also be seen in real life...
AvroLanc is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-03-2019, 03:27 PM   #14
Hawkeye_UK
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2018
Location: United Kingdom
Posts: 92
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Harker View Post
AFAIK, the AWACS platforms that we have in the sim are able to detect only air targets. We'd need something like JSTARS or a P-3C with AG radar, for ground targets.
If only this was the case - on multiplayer having hostile assets such as tankers / awacs allows the opposite team to review the location of nearby ground units in jtac/tac command.....
__________________
---------------------------------------------------------------

DCS | F14B | AV8B | F18C | A10C | Viggen | SU27 | F15 | MI8 | Huey | KA50 | Persian Gulf | Nevada | Normandy

Water Cooled i7 9700K @ 5.1Ghz | RTX2080 Ultra | 32GB DDR4 3200 MHz | 500GB SSD m2 | Oculus Rift S | TM Warthog | Saitek X52 Pro | Saitek Side Panel | Steel Series Arctis 7 Heaphones
Hawkeye_UK is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-03-2019, 03:34 PM   #15
Harker
DCS Ground Crew
 
Harker's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2014
Location: France
Posts: 1,348
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Hawkeye_UK View Post
If only this was the case - on multiplayer having hostile assets such as tankers / awacs allows the opposite team to review the location of nearby ground units in jtac/tac command.....
Can you elaborate? You mean that if a Redfor AWACS is present, Red team can see ground units in close proximity to their JTAC units on the F10 map?
__________________
Z370 Aorus Gaming 7, i7-8700k, RTX2080Ti FTW3 Ultra, Corsair Vengeance 32GB DDR4, 960 Pro 512 GB, 970 Evo Plus 1TB, WD Gold 6TB, Seasonic Prime Platinum 1300W, Acer Predator XB271HK|Hornet grip on T-50 base, Warthog side-stick, Warthog throttle, TPR pedals, 3 MFDs, MT desk mounts, TrackIR|
F/A-18C, F-16C, JF-17, AV-8B, A-10C, M-2000C, F-14, BS2, UH-1H, P-51D, Sptifire, FC3, Caucasus, NTTR, Normandy, Persian Gulf
Harker is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 12-03-2019, 04:36 PM   #16
BoneDust
Senior Member
 
BoneDust's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2007
Location: NB, Canada
Posts: 1,100
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by QuiGon View Post
Only airborne targets are shown on DL.
Is that because its not fully implemented? RL ground contacts are displayed.
__________________


Spoiler:
Windows® 10 Home Premium | 64bit, Intel(R) Core(TM) i7-8700 CPU @ 3.20GHz (Cores 6) (Logical/Core 2) | NVIDIA GeForce GTX 1080 Ti 11GB | 1 X 1TB SSD | 1 X 275GB SSD | Sound Blaster X-Fi Xtreme Audio sound card | 16GB Dual Channel DDR3 SDRAM at 1333MHz | Oculus Rift S
BoneDust is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-03-2019, 05:07 PM   #17
Top Jockey
Member
 
Top Jockey's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2015
Location: Portugal
Posts: 841
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Harker View Post
AFAIK, the AWACS platforms that we have in the sim are able to detect only air targets. We'd need something like JSTARS or a P-3C with AG radar, for ground targets.
Ok then, thank you.
__________________
Intel i7 4790K
GTX 1660 Ti, 6GB
16 GB DDR 3
Samsung 860 QVO
Win 7, 64 bit

- HANGAR -
FC 3 , MiG-21Bis , Mirage 2000C , F-14B , F/A-18C
Top Jockey is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-04-2019, 08:13 AM   #18
QuiGon
Veteran
 
Join Date: Jul 2013
Location: Germany
Posts: 12,046
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by BoneDust View Post
Is that because its not fully implemented? RL ground contacts are displayed.
I don't know if and how ground contacts are displayed for the F/A-18C IRL. In DCS there are currently only airborne contacs implemented on the Hornets DL.
__________________
Intel i7-4790K @ 4x4GHz + 16 GB DDR3 + Nvidia Geforce RTX 2080 (8 GB VRAM) + Windows 10 64Bit

DCS Panavia Tornado (IDS) really needs to be a thing!

QuiGon is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-04-2019, 10:55 AM   #19
Harker
DCS Ground Crew
 
Harker's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2014
Location: France
Posts: 1,348
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Eddie View Post
They are the PTTs for MIDS voice.
Ah they're only used for that then? I know they're used for MIDS voice (wondering if we'll get that), but I was wondering if they did anything else as well, thanks. Funny thing is that our throttle 3D model doesn't appear to have the MIDS PTTs, only the COMM1 and COMM2 PTTs.
__________________
Z370 Aorus Gaming 7, i7-8700k, RTX2080Ti FTW3 Ultra, Corsair Vengeance 32GB DDR4, 960 Pro 512 GB, 970 Evo Plus 1TB, WD Gold 6TB, Seasonic Prime Platinum 1300W, Acer Predator XB271HK|Hornet grip on T-50 base, Warthog side-stick, Warthog throttle, TPR pedals, 3 MFDs, MT desk mounts, TrackIR|
F/A-18C, F-16C, JF-17, AV-8B, A-10C, M-2000C, F-14, BS2, UH-1H, P-51D, Sptifire, FC3, Caucasus, NTTR, Normandy, Persian Gulf
Harker is online now   Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump

All times are GMT. The time now is 11:53 PM. vBulletin Skin by ForumMonkeys. Powered by vBulletin®.
Copyright ©2000 - 2019, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.