Aim-120 / Time to Active - ED Forums
 


Notices

Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 01-20-2020, 10:30 AM   #1
takamba
Member
 
takamba's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2008
Location: Switzerland/Zurich
Posts: 250
Default Aim-120 / Time to Active

Hi all

Since the timer showing the remaining time till the AMRAAM goes active is not working right now, I would like to know how you guys handle this in combat.

Do you just wait till impact?

Do you break lock at a certain time of the count down and hope for the best?
__________________
DCS Rafale - please
takamba is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-20-2020, 11:05 AM   #2
GaryR
Member
 
GaryR's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2017
Location: Valencia, Spain
Posts: 174
Default

Does TWS work yet? If so, I believe (been a while, and it's in the "other" F16 sim) in that mode you can lock and fire on several targets at once.
__________________
Aerocool Mid-tower, Gigabyte Z390 Master MB, EVGA 1000w PS
Intel i9-9900K @4.7Gz - Nfortec Hydrus V2 Liquid CPU cooler - Noctua NT-H2 Themal paste
32GB Kingston HyperX DDR4 3200mhz
1TB M.2 Crucial Boot Drive (DCS World Beta installed here), 1TB M.2 Data drive, 1TB WD SATA drive
Gigabyte RTX 2080 w/ 8GB - Nvidia 451.48 drivers
LG 32GK850G-B 32" 2560x1440 G-Sync at 144Hz
Win10 Pro Ver. 2004 - Build 19041.329
TIR 5, CH Fighterstick / Pro Throttle HOTAS w/ MTWSims Sensors and Mainboards
GaryR is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-20-2020, 01:13 PM   #3
Notso
Member
 
Notso's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2019
Location: Viva Las Vegas
Posts: 740
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by GaryR View Post
Does TWS work yet? If so, I believe (been a while, and it's in the "other" F16 sim) in that mode you can lock and fire on several targets at once.
I'm not sure what that has to do with the OP's question at all.
__________________
System HW: i9-9900K @5ghz, MSI 11GB RTX-2080-Ti Trio, G-Skill 32GB RAM, Reverb HMD, Steam VR, TM Warthog Hotas Stick & Throttle, TM F/A-18 Stick grip add-on, TM TFRP pedals. SW: 2.5.6 OB
Notso is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-20-2020, 01:25 PM   #4
Notso
Member
 
Notso's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2019
Location: Viva Las Vegas
Posts: 740
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by takamba View Post
Hi all

Since the timer showing the remaining time till the AMRAAM goes active is not working right now, I would like to know how you guys handle this in combat.

Do you just wait till impact?

Do you break lock at a certain time of the count down and hope for the best?
The answer to your questions, as always, depends. Depends mostly on your tactical gameplan and who you're going up against. If an aware bandit with a long range radar missile - then you would most likely F-Pole and support to active and then notch or drag out. If an older gen fighter with shorter range radar missiles, Heaters only or a bomber - you might support it to impact just to increase the Pk.

I was playing with the AIM-120s a bit the other day and I was seeing what I assumed to be the time to active countdown in the HUD. At pickle, there was an A14 and it gradually counted down, although somewhat erratically. I snipped it when it went to A0 and then notched but noticed two strange things. 1) I had an almost 0 % PK on the bandit on numerous occasions and 2) it didn't continue to count down to impact.

Unless I'm misunderstanding how the Viper works, at Fox3 - you should get a countdown to Active and then once it goes active, it should then switch the countdown to impact. Of course if you cut the missile loose, the computer has no way of knowing and I believe it just continues to countdown based on last known maneuvers. But it shouldn't just stop altogether. Otherwise there is no way to know when to call "Timeout".
__________________
System HW: i9-9900K @5ghz, MSI 11GB RTX-2080-Ti Trio, G-Skill 32GB RAM, Reverb HMD, Steam VR, TM Warthog Hotas Stick & Throttle, TM F/A-18 Stick grip add-on, TM TFRP pedals. SW: 2.5.6 OB
Notso is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-20-2020, 02:40 PM   #5
Exorcet
Veteran
 
Exorcet's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2009
Posts: 3,027
Default

Typically I try to never break lock unless I have to. It makes it easier to follow up with another missile.


Though I kind of have an idea of how long it takes the missile to go a certain distance, so I just estimate. Even if you break lock too early the missile can still find the target.
__________________
http://i280.photobucket.com/albums/kk187/Exorcet/F-15singaturebaseACOmodifiedcomp-1.jpg
Win 10 i5-9600KF 4.6 GHz 64 GB RAM RTX2080Ti 11GB -- Win 7 64 i5-6600K 3.6 GHz 32 GB RAM GTX970 4GB -- A-10C, F-5E, Su-27, F-15C, F-14B, F-16C missions in User Files
Exorcet is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-20-2020, 03:20 PM   #6
Fri13
Veteran
 
Join Date: Aug 2013
Posts: 5,073
Default

Just by the range and the heading of the target. You know soon after launch that does your missile have a any change to reach the target even if shot at NEZ, and then better be ready to put another at right time.
__________________
i7-8700k, 32GB 2666Mhz DDR4, 2x 2080S SLI 8GB, Oculus Rift S.
i7-8700k, 16GB 2666Mhz DDR4, 1080Ti 11GB, 27" 4K, 65" HDR 4K.
Fri13 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-20-2020, 09:49 PM   #7
Frederf
Veteran
 
Join Date: Dec 2008
Location: Campbell, CA
Posts: 4,781
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by takamba View Post
Hi all

Since the timer showing the remaining time till the AMRAAM goes active is not working right now, I would like to know how you guys handle this in combat.

Do you just wait till impact?

Do you break lock at a certain time of the count down and hope for the best?
Typically you support the missile as long as possible as all support improves Pk. Decision to snip and run has everything to do with the threat posed by the adversary and nothing to do with the chance of success of your own missile. If your minimum abort range is 15nm then you turn and run at 15nm regardless of how sweet or sour your shot is going.
Frederf is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-21-2020, 03:46 AM   #8
KlarSnow
Member
 
Join Date: Oct 2010
Posts: 134
Default

All active missiles in DCS go active 15Km or 7.5 ish miles to their target, rough rule of thumb I use is 2/3rds the range I shoot it at. For example, if I shoot at 30, it should be active around 20 miles, if I shoot at 20, it should be active around 13 miles, if not a little further.

Rule of thumb, so its not 100% accurate, but I'd say it is on the side of being more conservative (missile is active) than not (snipping the missile and leaving early)

!!THIS RULE OF THUMB ONLY APPLIES IF YOU CRANK 50 DEGREES OR GREATER!!
(if you dont crank you will be much closer when the missile goes active)

Also with the way missiles in DCS work right now, there is not much point to supporting your missile past it getting active. if the target notches your missile, it doesnt matter if you hold the lock or not, the missile doesnt continue to guide on your lock if its own sensor is notched. Bit dumb but thats how it works right now.

Last edited by KlarSnow; 01-21-2020 at 03:49 AM.
KlarSnow is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-21-2020, 07:45 AM   #9
takamba
Member
 
takamba's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2008
Location: Switzerland/Zurich
Posts: 250
Default

Many thanks for all your answers, some good points there.

Thanks.
__________________
DCS Rafale - please
takamba is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump

All times are GMT. The time now is 08:52 AM. vBulletin Skin by ForumMonkeys. Powered by vBulletin®.
Copyright ©2000 - 2020, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.