wheel brakes (analog) - Page 2 - ED Forums
 


Notices

Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 09-26-2018, 07:27 PM   #11
aledmb
Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2008
Posts: 319
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by AcroGimp View Post
In close quarters, you lead with rudder, use maximum deflection typically, THEN stab the brakes with a squeeze of the lever - so if you want to turn left for example you put in full left rudder and will then squeeze and release the brake lever several times to get the nosewheel to brake over and turn left. After about 5 minutes it becomes second nature.
can you replicate that exact technique in DCS?

i've been trying and it's kind of 8 or 80 for me... it either doesn't turn or completely overreacts.
aledmb is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-26-2018, 08:05 PM   #12
bbrz
Member
 
bbrz's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2016
Location: Europe
Posts: 486
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by aledmb View Post
can you replicate that exact technique in DCS?

i've been trying and it's kind of 8 or 80 for me... it either doesn't turn or completely overreacts.
Yes. As AcroGimp mentioned, you get used to it quickly. It's very similar to other tricycle gear equipped planes without nosewheel steering
bbrz is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-26-2018, 08:08 PM   #13
Skwinty
Junior Member
 
Skwinty's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2018
Location: Cape Town
Posts: 71
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by aledmb View Post
can you replicate that exact technique in DCS?
Follow this advice.

https://www.yak-52.com/flying%20a%20yak52.htm
Skwinty is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-26-2018, 09:45 PM   #14
aledmb
Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2008
Posts: 319
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Skwinty View Post
that's very nice, and in line with what AcroGimp said above.

thank you guys!
aledmb is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-27-2018, 07:17 AM   #15
Goblin
Member
 
Goblin's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2012
Posts: 882
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Oubaas View Post
does anyone know of a PC joystick that does have a brake lever?
The VPC MT-50 also has an analogue brake axis on the stick grip.

Last edited by Goblin; 09-27-2018 at 07:19 AM.
Goblin is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-27-2018, 07:43 AM   #16
bbrz
Member
 
bbrz's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2016
Location: Europe
Posts: 486
Default

I'm simply using the trigger on my T16000M for braking.
bbrz is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-02-2018, 10:48 PM   #17
Vannipo
Member
 
Join Date: Jun 2018
Posts: 275
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by bbrz View Post
I'm simply using the trigger on my T16000M for braking.
Nice. But this is not analogue ands makes it... strange..

The Virpil grips have a break lever, too.
https://virpil-controls.eu/shop/grips.html


Btw:
I use my two toe brakes for braking in the Y-52. I combinded them both to a new averaged axis in a virtual joystick (vJoy) using the tool "Universal Control Remapper"

https://autohotkey.com/boards/viewtopic.php?t=12249

I assign all commands in DCS to the virtual joystick. If I switch the stick, I only need to change the setup once in the UCR and all works in DCS. For all aircrafts.
Vannipo is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-03-2018, 12:21 AM   #18
lmp
ED Translator
 
Join Date: May 2013
Posts: 956
Default

I use a half of the rudder axis on my twcs throttle. To do that, set the axis to "slider" and give it a 50% deadzone. You may also have to invert it, I can't remember.
lmp is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-03-2018, 04:54 AM   #19
bbrz
Member
 
bbrz's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2016
Location: Europe
Posts: 486
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Vannipo View Post
Nice. But this is not analogue ands makes it... strange.
Sounds more strange than it actually is because IRL you press the lever/trigger just momentarily after applying rudder to get the Yak (or any other plane without NWS) to turn, that's why it feels surprisingly realistic.
bbrz is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-03-2018, 01:57 PM   #20
Lixma 06
Member
 
Join Date: Feb 2006
Posts: 910
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by lmp View Post
I use a half of the rudder axis on my twcs throttle. To do that, set the axis to "slider" and give it a 50% deadzone. You may also have to invert it, I can't remember.
I don't own the 52 but I do something similar with my TWCS rudder for other aircraft.

This setup uses the left side paddle for braking - on some aircraft you need to un-tick 'INVERT' or else the brakes are locked on.

Lixma 06 is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump

All times are GMT. The time now is 04:08 PM. vBulletin Skin by ForumMonkeys. Powered by vBulletin®.
Copyright ©2000 - 2018, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.