[Guide] How to make DCS download updates on a separate drive - Page 2 - ED Forums
 


Notices

Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 06-14-2018, 09:01 PM   #11
=Pedro=
Senior Member
 
=Pedro='s Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2006
Location: CENTRAL POLAND
Posts: 1,124
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Shadow KT View Post

Don't worry if you mess up something, nothing happens, you can just delete that folder and you destroy the link.

Cheers !
Sounds like a collapse of the wave function of quantum entanglement

Great guide S!
__________________
i7 6700K @ 4.8GHz | Gigabyte GTX 1080 8 GB | 16 GB DDR4 | Win7 Ultimate X64 | TrackIR 5 | TM Warthog HOTAS | MFG Croswinds Pedals
=Pedro= is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-15-2018, 12:05 PM   #12
FistofZen+
Posting Rights Suspended
 
Join Date: Jul 2017
Location: in a house
Posts: 253
Default

mklink /j "D:\DCS World OpenBeta 2.5" "G:\DCS World 2.5\_downloads"
Cannot create a file when that file already exists.
__________________
Am I special?
FistofZen is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-15-2018, 01:14 PM   #13
QuiGon
Veteran
 
Join Date: Jul 2013
Location: Germany
Posts: 6,738
Default

In todays launcher update:
Quote:
Version 2.8.3:
- Ability to select a different download folder if there's not enough disk space.
The selection is saved in the 'autoupdate_settings.cfg' file.
- Ask for retry if there's not enough space in the install folder.
__________________
Intel i7-4790K @ 4x4GHz + 16 GB DDR3 + ATi Sapphire Vapor-X R9 280X (3 GB VRAM) + Windows 10 64Bit

DCS Panavia Tornado (IDS) really needs to be a thing!

QuiGon is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-15-2018, 02:20 PM   #14
Shadow KT
Senior Member
 
Shadow KT's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2013
Location: Sofia, Bulgaria
Posts: 1,141
Default

Well, guess this is no longer of help.

Cheers

Quote:
Originally Posted by FistofZen View Post
mklink /j "D:\DCS World OpenBeta 2.5" "G:\DCS World 2.5\_downloads"
Cannot create a file when that file already exists.
Did you delete the _downloads folder from your install directory ?

The J also has to be capital.

If you still want to do it after the last updater update, link some screenshots to your directories and their paths.

I wonder what method have ED gone with ? Just my luck to have such an update after all I had to do
__________________
'Shadow'

Everybody gotta be offended and take it personally now-a-days

Last edited by Shadow KT; 06-15-2018 at 02:27 PM.
Shadow KT is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-15-2018, 02:49 PM   #15
FistofZen+
Posting Rights Suspended
 
Join Date: Jul 2017
Location: in a house
Posts: 253
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Shadow KT View Post
Well, guess this is no longer of help.

Cheers



Did you delete the _downloads folder from your install directory ?

The J also has to be capital.

If you still want to do it after the last updater update, link some screenshots to your directories and their paths.

I wonder what method have ED gone with ? Just my luck to have such an update after all I had to do
With the new updater I think I won't need symlink. Thanks anyway.
__________________
Am I special?
FistofZen is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump

All times are GMT. The time now is 08:46 PM. vBulletin Skin by ForumMonkeys. Powered by vBulletin®.
Copyright ©2000 - 2018, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.