Advanced Waypoint Actions Stop Conditions - ED Forums
 


Notices

Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 07-29-2019, 09:56 PM   #1
Habu_69
Member
 
Join Date: Jul 2011
Location: USA VA
Posts: 752
Default Advanced Waypoint Actions Stop Conditions

I assume that multiple START and STOP conditions behave as AND conditions like trigger conditions, rather than OR conditions. Correct?
Habu_69 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-30-2019, 01:26 AM   #2
feefifofum
3rd Party Developer
 
feefifofum's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2015
Location: USA
Posts: 3,089
Default

So this is a little funny; if memory serves, a STOP condition prevents the action from ever executing but it will not necessarily cease the action once it is in progress. I.E. if you have a stop condition of FLAG 7 TRUE for a HOLD action, if flag 7 is true the vehicles will never hold to begin with. If the vehicles are already holding, flag 7 turning true will not cause them to resume.

All actions whose conditions have been met should activate, in linear order, when the unit reaches the waypoint at which the actions are assigned. If one action is given higher priority it may prevent others from occuring I.E. an "orbit" action before an "attack" action.

If orbit comes first, the unit will not attack until ordered to break its orbit. If attack comes first, the unit will attack the group if it is detected, and if not will proceed to their orbit. Hope that clears things up a little bit.
feefifofum is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-30-2019, 11:46 AM   #3
Habu_69
Member
 
Join Date: Jul 2011
Location: USA VA
Posts: 752
Default

Hmmm. I have personally set up several missions with an orbiting AI and halted the orbit by turning a UF to true, using group in zone or a MOOSE script menu item for example. AI then resumes its flight plan. Needs further investigation.
Habu_69 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-30-2019, 01:53 PM   #4
Habu_69
Member
 
Join Date: Jul 2011
Location: USA VA
Posts: 752
Default

OK, I tested STOP conditions somewhat extensively and concluded that they operate as OR conditions. The action will cease when the shortest time condition (time, flag, duration) becomes true.
Habu_69 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-30-2019, 09:40 PM   #5
feefifofum
3rd Party Developer
 
feefifofum's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2015
Location: USA
Posts: 3,089
Default

Assuming multiple stop conditions for the same action, yes. Sorry, didn't follow what you were asking.
feefifofum is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-02-2019, 04:56 AM   #6
ENO
Veteran
 
ENO's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2012
Location: Okotoks, Alberta
Posts: 3,549
Default

Okay well this is in line with an issue I’m having- I’d set a couple units to immortal with the intention of allowing them to close within a certain distance while fighting and not dying. I set a stop condition for the immortal as a flag set to true when pet the red group moved into a zone. Unfortunately it doesn’t turn off.

I ended up deactivating the immortal unit and activating a mortal one and that works but I’d like to figure out the stop condition issue.
__________________
"ENO"
Type in anger and you will make the greatest post you will ever regret.

"Sweetest's" Military Aviation Art

Last edited by ENO; 08-02-2019 at 05:20 AM.
ENO is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-02-2019, 07:15 PM   #7
Habu_69
Member
 
Join Date: Jul 2011
Location: USA VA
Posts: 752
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by ENO View Post
Okay well this is in line with an issue I’m having- I’d set a couple units to immortal with the intention of allowing them to close within a certain distance while fighting and not dying. I set a stop condition for the immortal as a flag set to true when pet the red group moved into a zone. Unfortunately it doesn’t turn off.

Probably better to make an AI PUSH TASK for Immortal with VALUE parameter unchecked (will read 'off') then push that task with a trigger action and conditions you desire.
Habu_69 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-04-2019, 06:53 AM   #8
ENO
Veteran
 
ENO's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2012
Location: Okotoks, Alberta
Posts: 3,549
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Habu_69 View Post
Probably better to make an AI PUSH TASK for Immortal with VALUE parameter unchecked (will read 'off') then push that task with a trigger action and conditions you desire.
Thanks Habu- worth a shot.
__________________
"ENO"
Type in anger and you will make the greatest post you will ever regret.

"Sweetest's" Military Aviation Art
ENO is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump

All times are GMT. The time now is 03:31 AM. vBulletin Skin by ForumMonkeys. Powered by vBulletin®.
Copyright ©2000 - 2019, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.