Latest Benchmarks - Intel vs AMD - Page 3 - ED Forums
 


Notices

Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 07-09-2019, 06:00 AM   #21
Kirin
Member
 
Join Date: Oct 2010
Location: Switzerland
Posts: 131
Default

Do we know where Vulkan API integration is on the roadmap?
Kirin is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-09-2019, 06:52 AM   #22
VitS
Junior Member
 
Join Date: May 2019
Posts: 34
Default

There is nothing Vulkan can do, DX12 can't do.
VitS is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-09-2019, 07:06 AM   #23
Mr_sukebe
Senior Member
 
Mr_sukebe's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2016
Location: England
Posts: 1,440
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by VitS View Post
There is nothing Vulkan can do, DX12 can't do.
And the relevance of that is?
DCS is coded currently for DX11 and ED have already stated that they’re working on releasing with Vulkan.
__________________
System: 9700, 64GB DDR4, 1080, NVME2, Rift S, Jetseat, VPC HOTAS, MFG crosswinds, custom button box, Logitech G502 and Marble mouse.
631 Squadron Server: i5 2500@3.9Ghz, 24GB DDR3, SSD.
Mr_sukebe is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-09-2019, 07:57 AM   #24
Der Hirte
Member
 
Der Hirte's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2015
Location: Baden-Württemberg, Germany
Posts: 156
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Kirin View Post
Do we know where Vulkan API integration is on the roadmap?
I'm not 100% certain where to find the thread/posts and also don't have the time to look for it but I remember someone (Silver Dragon?) stated something about the progression of Vulkan implementation and most people left with the impression that it already was surprisingly advanced, more than you'd think.
Der Hirte is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-09-2019, 10:32 PM   #25
etherbattx
Member
 
Join Date: May 2018
Posts: 580
Default Latest Benchmarks - Intel vs AMD

Quote:
Originally Posted by CYLON View Post
Vulkan utilizes multi-core?
what do you mean by utilize?

any app can use more than one core if it’s coded to do so.

i would reduce expectations of “vulkan”. it’s not a silver bullet. there is no magic. it’s just a more basic api that lets you get closer to the metal.

it’s nothing different than what we could do in the old days.
etherbattx is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-10-2019, 12:26 AM   #26
boscoh
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Oct 2015
Posts: 99
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Der Hirte View Post
Yes. This should be the reason for ED to port DCSW to run on Vulkan. And then if you consider this and build a little future proof - the AMD CPU is now the better option. 3900X (3800X?) really does not lag a lot behind 9900K in single core honestly. As of Gamers Nexus benchmark the Ryzen also has a more stable frametime than its Intel counterpart which translates into a more smooth experience, especially for VR this could possibly make a feelable difference.
The game engine still has to be written to take full advantage of it. Simply using Vulkan doesn't fully optimize everything for multi-core. My understanding of Vulkan is that it makes it much easier for devs to accomplish this, and do so across a variety of platforms.

There are benchmarks available showing games using Vulkan today where the Ryzen 3700x and 3900x do not have any appreciable advantage over the 9700k and 9900k.
boscoh is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-10-2019, 03:43 AM   #27
hansangb
Veteran
 
hansangb's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2013
Location: New York
Posts: 4,499
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Der Hirte View Post
I'm not 100% certain where to find the thread/posts and also don't have the time to look for it but I remember someone (Silver Dragon?) stated something about the progression of Vulkan implementation and most people left with the impression that it already was surprisingly advanced, more than you'd think.

The last update from Wags (a few months ago?) was that the engine was updated to use Vulkan, and the devs were working on the shaders. I imagine that's the bulk of the work.
__________________
hsb
HW Spec in Spoiler
---
Spoiler:
i7-8700K Delid/OC'ed to 5.1GHz, EVGA Z370 MB, 32GB DDR4 3200MHz, EVGA 2080 Ti FTW3, NVMe+SSD, Win 10 x64 Pro, MFG, JetSeat, Warthog, TM MFDs, Komodo Huey set, CV1
hansangb is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-10-2019, 10:31 AM   #28
BitMaster
Veteran
 
BitMaster's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2013
Location: SW-Germany
Posts: 5,926
Default

My Magic Glass tells me AMD is the better deal down the road.

I run both side by side, Intel and AMD Ryzen 1st and 2nd gen,...hands down, AMD is clearly the easier to maintain system. Intel flodds you with IME and Bios updates that you CANNOT revert and each one takes it's toll on performance, cuz of their shi//y silicon layout.

Once Intel fixes that in silicon and gets to 10 or 7nm things may look better.
__________________
Asus Strix Z370-E - Intel i7-8700K@5G_delidded - 32GB 3000-14/3600-16 XMP - Asus 1080GTX-Ti Poseidon - 1x 960Evo 250GB - 2x 850Pro 256GB Raid-0 - 1 x 840 Evo 250GB PageFile - 2x Seagate 2TB - Heatkiller IV - MoRa3-360LT@4x180mm fans - Corsair AXi-1200 - TiR5-Pro - Warthog Hotas - Saitek Combat Pedals - Asus PG278Q 27" WQHD Gsync 144Hz - Oculus Rift VR - Win10Pro64 - Slave to the Machine
BitMaster is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-10-2019, 10:35 AM   #29
BitMaster
Veteran
 
BitMaster's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2013
Location: SW-Germany
Posts: 5,926
Default

FYI: while I typed the above...

checked my Asus board's page, yet another Bios MAINLY to fix ( or cripple ) the IME....along with a new IRST driver that is bugged after vers. 16.02, which is 1 11/2 years old.

If I had not built this 5-5.2G 8700k I am gaming on almost 2 years ago I'd happily hop to Team AMD. I have not had that hassle with any of my Ryzens. Love'em for the ease of operation
__________________
Asus Strix Z370-E - Intel i7-8700K@5G_delidded - 32GB 3000-14/3600-16 XMP - Asus 1080GTX-Ti Poseidon - 1x 960Evo 250GB - 2x 850Pro 256GB Raid-0 - 1 x 840 Evo 250GB PageFile - 2x Seagate 2TB - Heatkiller IV - MoRa3-360LT@4x180mm fans - Corsair AXi-1200 - TiR5-Pro - Warthog Hotas - Saitek Combat Pedals - Asus PG278Q 27" WQHD Gsync 144Hz - Oculus Rift VR - Win10Pro64 - Slave to the Machine
BitMaster is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-11-2019, 02:41 AM   #30
Sandman1330
Member
 
Sandman1330's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2015
Location: Alberta, Canada
Posts: 939
Default

Forget everything I’ve said, buy Intel.

3900X won’t even post in my board, RAM training fails of all things.

FFS.
__________________
Ryzen 9 3900X / Asus Crosshair VI Hero X370 / Corsair H110i / EVGA GTX 1080ti FTW3 / 32Gb G.Skill TridentZ 3200 / Samsung 960 Evo M.2 / Saitek X56 / Saitek Pro Combat pedals / Rift S
Sandman1330 is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump

All times are GMT. The time now is 01:20 PM. vBulletin Skin by ForumMonkeys. Powered by vBulletin®.
Copyright ©2000 - 2019, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.