Vulkan API - Page 28 - ED Forums
 


Notices

Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 01-31-2019, 05:43 AM   #271
SonofEil
Member
 
SonofEil's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2010
Location: USA
Posts: 671
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by The Falcon View Post
I hope it will come soon. There's only one thing I wonder, it's a stupid question, but what happens if you blink your eyelids?
It looks like the first consumer (prosumer?) headset with foveated rendering will be the Vive Pro 'Eye', or whatever they're calling it, expected at some point this year.
The good news is that testers of R&D and proof-of-concept (non Vive Pro Eye) iterations of foveated rendering report performance increases of 40-70% with no perceptible loss in image quality (because you physiologically can't notice the loss). If it's able to track saccadic eye movements with extremely low latency (which it has to to be functional) then blinking shouldn't be a problem at all.
The bad news, as far as we're concerned, is that foveated rendering may be on game developers to support. I have the impression that ED sees VR as the future so hopefully they won't drag their feet in implementing that support.
__________________
i7 7700K @5.0, 1080Ti, 32GB DDR4, HMD Odyssey, TM WH, Saitek Rudder...

Last edited by SonofEil; 02-01-2019 at 12:21 AM.
SonofEil is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-01-2019, 01:27 AM   #272
Catseye
Member
 
Catseye's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2013
Location: Vernon, BC Canada
Posts: 839
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by SonofEil View Post
It looks like the first consumer (prosumer?) headset with foveated rendering will be the Vive Pro 'Eye', or whatever they're calling it, expected at some point this year.
The good news is that testers of R&D and proof-of-concept (non Vive Pro Eye) iterations of foveated rendering report performance increases of 40-70% with no perceptible loss in image quality (because you physiologically can't notice the loss). If it's able to track saccadic eye movements with extremely low latency (which it has to to be functional) then blinking shouldn't be a problem at all.
The bad news, as far as we're concerned, is that foveated rendering may be on game developers to support. I have the impression that ED sees VR as the future so hopefully they won't drag their feet in implementing that support.

Wearing glasses might be a problem if reflection from eyeglass lens?
Catseye is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-02-2019, 02:16 PM   #273
hansangb
Veteran
 
hansangb's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2013
Location: New York
Posts: 4,504
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by blkspade View Post
Also because DX12 locks out a huge player base that isn't on Windows 10.

Sent from my Pixel using Tapatalk

By the time Vulkan is a reality, Win7 will be end of life. So anyone on Win7 is on their own. So I don't think it'll be a deciding factor. SkateZilla had a post that gave the pros and cons of DX12 vs Vulkan once. Shouldn't be too hard to find for those interested.
__________________
hsb
HW Spec in Spoiler
---
Spoiler:
i7-8700K Delid/OC'ed to 5.1GHz, EVGA Z370 MB, 32GB DDR4 3200MHz, EVGA 2080 Ti FTW3, NVMe+SSD, Win 10 x64 Pro, MFG, JetSeat, Warthog, TM MFDs, Komodo Huey set, CV1
hansangb is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-03-2019, 01:34 AM   #274
The Falcon
Member
 
The Falcon's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2019
Location: Europe
Posts: 237
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by hansangb View Post
SkateZilla had a post that gave the pros and cons of DX12 vs Vulkan once. Shouldn't be too hard to find for those interested.
Where can i find it?
The Falcon is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-03-2019, 02:08 AM   #275
hansangb
Veteran
 
hansangb's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2013
Location: New York
Posts: 4,504
Default

I don't remember exactly.

Try using Google:

site:forums.eagle.ru skatezilla vulkan dx12
__________________
hsb
HW Spec in Spoiler
---
Spoiler:
i7-8700K Delid/OC'ed to 5.1GHz, EVGA Z370 MB, 32GB DDR4 3200MHz, EVGA 2080 Ti FTW3, NVMe+SSD, Win 10 x64 Pro, MFG, JetSeat, Warthog, TM MFDs, Komodo Huey set, CV1
hansangb is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-03-2019, 11:24 AM   #276
The Falcon
Member
 
The Falcon's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2019
Location: Europe
Posts: 237
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by hansangb View Post
I don't remember exactly.

Try using Google:

site:forums.eagle.ru skatezilla vulkan dx12
i think is this https://www.google.com/url?sa=t&rct=...7UWYKtZ9ryQejB
The Falcon is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-03-2019, 02:50 PM   #277
falken76
Member
 
Join Date: Mar 2018
Posts: 167
Default

So does this mean that ED is NOT going to use Vulcan? If not are they working on a new engine that is more modern? Needing 32 gigs of ram in any situation is ridiculous for a game.
falken76 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-03-2019, 05:18 PM   #278
hansangb
Veteran
 
hansangb's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2013
Location: New York
Posts: 4,504
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by falken76 View Post
So does this mean that ED is NOT going to use Vulcan? If not are they working on a new engine that is more modern? Needing 32 gigs of ram in any situation is ridiculous for a game.
They are already on it. Using Vulkan that is.
__________________
hsb
HW Spec in Spoiler
---
Spoiler:
i7-8700K Delid/OC'ed to 5.1GHz, EVGA Z370 MB, 32GB DDR4 3200MHz, EVGA 2080 Ti FTW3, NVMe+SSD, Win 10 x64 Pro, MFG, JetSeat, Warthog, TM MFDs, Komodo Huey set, CV1
hansangb is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-05-2019, 07:05 PM   #279
blkspade
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Jun 2011
Posts: 1,095
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by falken76 View Post
So does this mean that ED is NOT going to use Vulcan? If not are they working on a new engine that is more modern? Needing 32 gigs of ram in any situation is ridiculous for a game.
The ram usage is a by product of mission size, map size, and assets. All of which have nothing to do with the API. Lowering your pre-load radius will reduce memory usage though.
__________________
http://104thphoenix.com/
blkspade is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-05-2019, 09:19 PM   #280
Harlikwin
Veteran
 
Harlikwin's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2018
Posts: 3,325
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by falken76 View Post
So does this mean that ED is NOT going to use Vulcan? If not are they working on a new engine that is more modern? Needing 32 gigs of ram in any situation is ridiculous for a game.
Ram is one of the cheapest components to upgrade on any system. IF it would help DCS run faster I'd happily go buy a system with 64 or 128gb of ram.
__________________
New hotness: I7 9700k 4.8ghz, 32gb ddr4, 2080ti, TM Warthog. TrackIR, HP Reverb (formermly CV1)
Old-N-busted: i7 4720HQ ~3.5GHZ, +32GB DDR3 + Nvidia GTX980m (4GB VRAM) TM Warthog. TrackIR, Rift CV1 (yes really).
Harlikwin is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump

All times are GMT. The time now is 01:39 PM. vBulletin Skin by ForumMonkeys. Powered by vBulletin®.
Copyright ©2000 - 2019, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.