Memory Limit/Load Issues - Page 2 - ED Forums
 


Notices

Closed Thread
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 04-06-2018, 06:46 PM   #11
NineLine
Community Manager
 
NineLine's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2011
Location: BC, Canada
Posts: 24,087
Default

There is no easy way to put this, but 8GB is for the low-end, this means less eye candy and less objects, DCS is speeding away from systems with lower GB totals.

Now the unload Manager should improve things, but dont experience miracles on lower end systems either. Just to manage expectations.
__________________
Nick Grey - "I have had the privilege of flying most marks of Spit, the I, V, IX, XIV, XIX and enjoyed working with Eagle to make this simulation of the IX the 'mutt's nuts'."
Artist formerly known as SiThSpAwN
Forum RulesForum Rules Guidelines
ED Facebook PageED YouTube PageWags YouTubeMy YouTube • My Discord - NineLine #0440
**How to Report a Bug**
NineLine is offline  
Old 04-06-2018, 06:47 PM   #12
NineLine
Community Manager
 
NineLine's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2011
Location: BC, Canada
Posts: 24,087
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Johnny_Rico View Post
By Grabthars HAMMER ... what a savings!

Loaded a mission of mine,
ran it for 2 mins (no flying, just sitting in my pit)

My normal "high" settings = 11.6G of RAM used (@ 2 min mark)
[IMG]img[/IMG]



Changed settings to "low" = 5.1G of RAM used (@ 2 min mark)

[IMG]imgg[/IMG]

Good post, there are things that you can do until the unload manager shows up. You just have to manage your settings based on the level of PC you have.
__________________
Nick Grey - "I have had the privilege of flying most marks of Spit, the I, V, IX, XIV, XIX and enjoyed working with Eagle to make this simulation of the IX the 'mutt's nuts'."
Artist formerly known as SiThSpAwN
Forum RulesForum Rules Guidelines
ED Facebook PageED YouTube PageWags YouTubeMy YouTube • My Discord - NineLine #0440
**How to Report a Bug**
NineLine is offline  
Old 04-06-2018, 06:59 PM   #13
Snoopy
Veteran
 
Snoopy's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2010
Location: Georgia, USA
Posts: 5,881
Default

Well I’ve got 32 gigs of ram already and it still takes forever to load most missions. Hoping what’s “in the pipe” corrects it. It’s more of a hassle than anything.
Snoopy is offline  
Old 04-06-2018, 07:00 PM   #14
NineLine
Community Manager
 
NineLine's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2011
Location: BC, Canada
Posts: 24,087
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Snoopy View Post
Well I’ve got 32 gigs of ram already and it still takes forever to load most missions. Hoping what’s “in the pipe” corrects it. It’s more of a hassle than anything.
Yeah, I think you guys fall under the heavy mission category too, so I am interested to see how it works for you when the unload manager hits.
__________________
Nick Grey - "I have had the privilege of flying most marks of Spit, the I, V, IX, XIV, XIX and enjoyed working with Eagle to make this simulation of the IX the 'mutt's nuts'."
Artist formerly known as SiThSpAwN
Forum RulesForum Rules Guidelines
ED Facebook PageED YouTube PageWags YouTubeMy YouTube • My Discord - NineLine #0440
**How to Report a Bug**
NineLine is offline  
Old 04-06-2018, 07:02 PM   #15
_e10
Member
 
Join Date: Oct 2015
Location: Germany
Posts: 115
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by NineLine View Post
Currently ED is testing a solution that will help much of this. The initial version of the dynamic texture unload manager which will greatly improve performance for heavy online missions is currently under test and should be available for users within the coming two weeks.
All good but I dont understand why this was not mentioned before to avoid all that "misunderstanding" of the last few days...
A good example of failed communication
_e10 is offline  
Old 04-06-2018, 07:05 PM   #16
NineLine
Community Manager
 
NineLine's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2011
Location: BC, Canada
Posts: 24,087
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by _e10 View Post
All good but I dont understand why this was not mentioned before to avoid all that "misunderstanding" of the last few days...
A good example of failed communication
I dont know why the term Memory Leak went wild....

For the unload Manager, it was just too early in testing to let out of the box, but now you know. I wish it was a perfect world, but we try the best we can
__________________
Nick Grey - "I have had the privilege of flying most marks of Spit, the I, V, IX, XIV, XIX and enjoyed working with Eagle to make this simulation of the IX the 'mutt's nuts'."
Artist formerly known as SiThSpAwN
Forum RulesForum Rules Guidelines
ED Facebook PageED YouTube PageWags YouTubeMy YouTube • My Discord - NineLine #0440
**How to Report a Bug**
NineLine is offline  
Old 04-06-2018, 07:11 PM   #17
SkateZilla
Moderator/ED Testers Team
 
SkateZilla's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2012
Location: Virginia Beach
Posts: 18,489
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by NineLine View Post
I dont know why the term Memory Leak went wild....

For the unload Manager, it was just too early in testing to let out of the box, but now you know. I wish it was a perfect world, but we try the best we can
Because majority of the Users saw their ram fill up until the application crashed, especially 8GB/12 GB users.

That behavior implied Memory Leak, because they assumed it was the same for everyone 16, 24, 32GB and up.

The issue isnt a memory leak, it's the Lower Memory Quantity Users running out of memory before the loading process completes, resulting in crash or excessive use of a slower page file, which slows things weaaaaaaaay down.

Pre 2.5 users even w/ 8GB cranked their Preload Radius all the way up to reduce texture loading in game causing stutters,

2.5 Caucasus has a significantly larger memory foot print per 10km^2 than it did in 1.5, Due to higher resolution terrain (mesh and textures), more objects, higher resolution objects (mesh and textures), etc etc.
__________________
Windows 10 Pro, HAF922, Ryzen 2700X @ 4.6Ghz, 32GB DDR4-3200 GSkill,
2x R7970 Lightnings Crossfired @ 1.1/6.0GHz, Creative XFi Plat. Fatal1ty Champion,
3x ASUS VS248HP + Hanns·G HZ201HPB + Acer AL2002 (5760x1080+1600x900+1680x1050)
TM Warthog HOTAS, TM MFDs, CH Fighterstick, Pro Throttle, CH Pro Pedals, TrackIR4 Pro

Last edited by SkateZilla; 04-06-2018 at 07:14 PM.
SkateZilla is offline  
Old 04-06-2018, 07:13 PM   #18
NineLine
Community Manager
 
NineLine's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2011
Location: BC, Canada
Posts: 24,087
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by SkateZilla View Post
Because majority of the Users saw their ram fill up until the application crashed, especially 8GB/12 GB users.

That behavior implied Memory Leak, because they assumed it was the same for everyone 16, 24, 32GB and up.

The issue isnt a memory leak, it's the Lower Memory Quantity Users running out of memory before the loading process completes, resulting in crash or excessive use of a slower page file, which slows things weaaaaaaaay down.
We own as much of the blame though, we used Memory Leak on our side as well, I think the issue just wasnt understood well at first, and once the Memory Leak term hit the net, it was out there...
__________________
Nick Grey - "I have had the privilege of flying most marks of Spit, the I, V, IX, XIV, XIX and enjoyed working with Eagle to make this simulation of the IX the 'mutt's nuts'."
Artist formerly known as SiThSpAwN
Forum RulesForum Rules Guidelines
ED Facebook PageED YouTube PageWags YouTubeMy YouTube • My Discord - NineLine #0440
**How to Report a Bug**
NineLine is offline  
Old 04-06-2018, 07:14 PM   #19
wolle
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2011
Location: USA
Posts: 1,031
Default

I am a bit worried that the unload manager will help RAM usage but make in-game stutters worse, as it presumably unloads textures that are not needed at the time, but later in the mission they may become needed again and have to be loaded (leading to a stutter).
__________________


Intel Core I7 4820K @4.3 GHz, Asus P9X79 motherboard, 16 GB RAM @ 933 MHz, NVidia GTX 1070 with 8 GB VRAM, Windows 10 Pro
wolle is offline  
Old 04-06-2018, 07:16 PM   #20
TheDoctor46
Junior Member
 
TheDoctor46's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2015
Location: Sweden
Posts: 12
Default

Thank you for the update

Probably a stupid question, but here goes.
Is this mem issue also the reason we experience this stuttering in game, even on low graphics setting? In VR for my part, never tried with regular monitor.
I think I have a reasonable good spec computer, at least my february expenses thought so.
I cant have TGP active and Maverick cam open at the same time in the A10C, too much stuttering.
__________________
Intel i7-8700K 4.8Ghz
32 GB RAM
GTX 1080ti,
Windblows 10
512 SSD
Virpil MongoosT-50 base with TM Warthog Stick
TM Warthog Throttle & Rudder
Oculus CV-1
TheDoctor46 is offline  
Closed Thread

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump

All times are GMT. The time now is 09:37 AM. vBulletin Skin by ForumMonkeys. Powered by vBulletin®.
Copyright ©2000 - 2019, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.