Cougar HOTAS files for the Gazelle? - ED Forums
 


Notices

Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 04-15-2017, 06:59 PM   #1
Two-Six
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2010
Posts: 73
Default Cougar HOTAS files for the Gazelle?

I just bought the Gazelle module and I could really do with a joystick file and macro for my Cougar HOTAS.

Has anybody made one I could use please or does anybody know where I could get one from?
Two-Six is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-15-2017, 09:46 PM   #2
Home Fries
Senior Member
 
Home Fries's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2012
Location: Greater Washington DC Area
Posts: 2,332
Default

If you have the MFDs, then look at the TARGET profile in my signature. If not, then get the MFDs!
__________________
-Home Fries
Fear the Bolts!


The average naval aviator, despite the sometimes swaggering exterior, is very much capable of such feelings as love, affection, intimacy, and caring.
These feelings just don't involve anyone else.


My DCS Files and Skins
My DCS TARGET Profile for Cougar or Warthog and MFDs
Home Fries is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-16-2017, 10:47 PM   #3
Two-Six
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2010
Posts: 73
Default

Hummmm target, never heard of that before. Can I use it along-side Foxy with no issues? It says in the release notes that I need to unplug my cougar, install the software and re-plug..will that do anything to the firmware of the cougar?

I am a bit reluctant to try it.

Sorry for me being a bit thick but how can I use what you have?

What I could really do with is an old-school macro file and a joystick file for the Gazelle.

Last edited by Two-Six; 04-16-2017 at 10:55 PM.
Two-Six is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-16-2017, 11:46 PM   #4
Rudel_chw
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2013
Location: Antofagasta, Chile
Posts: 2,095
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Two-Six View Post
What I could really do with is an old-school macro file and a joystick file for the Gazelle.

Hello, I can help with the Macro part ... sometime ago i made an Excel Macro that converts each DCS key command, into a Foxy macro command ... this thread shows how to use it:


https://forums.eagle.ru/showthread.php?t=183900


Hope you find it useful ... you will still have to use Foxy to bind the command onto the Cougar buttons, but at least you wont have to write the macros
__________________
For work: iMac mid-2010 of 27" - Core i7 870 - 6 GB DDR3 1333 MHz - ATI HD5670 - SSD 256 GB - HDD 2 TB - macOS High Sierra
For Gaming: 27" Monitor - Ryzen 1500X - 16 GB DDR4 2400 - MSI GTX970 - SSD 384 GB - HDD 8 TB - Windows 8.1 Pro - Thrustmaster HOTAS Cougar - Oculus Rift CV1
Mobile: iPad Pro 12.9" of 128 GB
Rudel_chw is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-17-2017, 09:53 AM   #5
Two-Six
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2010
Posts: 73
Default

Humm, thanks for that. I have had a go at doing this conversion thing but so far no joy. I think I am too thick to make this work. Also I don't have Excel, I use open office so the formula doesn't seem to work and I get errors. I am no Excel expert I can do the most basic of basic things with it, that's about all.

I am not very sure how this is supposed to work.
Two-Six is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-17-2017, 12:31 PM   #6
Rudel_chw
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2013
Location: Antofagasta, Chile
Posts: 2,095
Default

Sorry, you need excel to use the spreadsheet, since it contain a macro to perform the conversion.
__________________
For work: iMac mid-2010 of 27" - Core i7 870 - 6 GB DDR3 1333 MHz - ATI HD5670 - SSD 256 GB - HDD 2 TB - macOS High Sierra
For Gaming: 27" Monitor - Ryzen 1500X - 16 GB DDR4 2400 - MSI GTX970 - SSD 384 GB - HDD 8 TB - Windows 8.1 Pro - Thrustmaster HOTAS Cougar - Oculus Rift CV1
Mobile: iPad Pro 12.9" of 128 GB
Rudel_chw is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-17-2017, 02:05 PM   #7
Two-Six
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2010
Posts: 73
Default

OK, perhaps I am not so dull, I think I have got it to work!

I used Xcel on another PC and did the conversion and WOW, I now have a fully populated macro file.

Superb! That saved me a shed load of typing.

Modern technology eh??

So now I think I need to check out how the stick should be set up and try to get it programmed.

Now...where does the ignition key go?
Two-Six is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-17-2017, 02:54 PM   #8
Rudel_chw
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2013
Location: Antofagasta, Chile
Posts: 2,095
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Two-Six View Post
I used Xcel on another PC and did the conversion and WOW, I now have a fully populated macro file.

Superb! That saved me a shed load of typing.

I'm glad you could get it working.


Quote:
So now I think I need to check out how the stick should be set up and try to get it programmed.

Now...where does the ignition key go?

I know the Gazelle is a completely different helicopter, but perhaps the key assignment that I made for my Blackshark could serve as an example:





__________________
For work: iMac mid-2010 of 27" - Core i7 870 - 6 GB DDR3 1333 MHz - ATI HD5670 - SSD 256 GB - HDD 2 TB - macOS High Sierra
For Gaming: 27" Monitor - Ryzen 1500X - 16 GB DDR4 2400 - MSI GTX970 - SSD 384 GB - HDD 8 TB - Windows 8.1 Pro - Thrustmaster HOTAS Cougar - Oculus Rift CV1
Mobile: iPad Pro 12.9" of 128 GB
Rudel_chw is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-17-2017, 06:00 PM   #9
Home Fries
Senior Member
 
Home Fries's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2012
Location: Greater Washington DC Area
Posts: 2,332
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Two-Six View Post
Hummmm target, never heard of that before. Can I use it along-side Foxy with no issues? It says in the release notes that I need to unplug my cougar, install the software and re-plug..will that do anything to the firmware of the cougar?

I am a bit reluctant to try it.

Sorry for me being a bit thick but how can I use what you have?

What I could really do with is an old-school macro file and a joystick file for the Gazelle.
TARGET is the follow-on to Foxy and works without writing to firmware. Instead of writing a profile to firmware, it creates a virtual controller in Windows at the driver/middleware level. You can use it with Foxy because they work at different levels, but I recommend setting the Cougar to DirectX mode. There's really no upside to working TARGET and Foxy at the same time. TARGET works with the Thrustmaster HOTAS controllers, MFDs, and latest rudders. Of course, you can always create a TARGET profile and exclude the Cougar if you prefer Foxy, but that kind of defeats the purpose.

FWIW, after going to TARGET I never had to re-flash my Cougar again.

EDIT: I no remember that in order to keep the size of the posts down, I no longer put the Cougar layout on my TARGET profile thread. Here is the Cougar layout for the Gazelle:


Setting up my profile is more complicated than loading a Foxy macro and going for it, but there are some very nice things. For helicopters especially, I'm proud of my trimmer routine, which dynamically lets you choose both versions of the ED trimmers and gives you more control if you trimmer with the recentering mode. It's just an example of the power of TARGET.
__________________
-Home Fries
Fear the Bolts!


The average naval aviator, despite the sometimes swaggering exterior, is very much capable of such feelings as love, affection, intimacy, and caring.
These feelings just don't involve anyone else.


My DCS Files and Skins
My DCS TARGET Profile for Cougar or Warthog and MFDs

Last edited by Home Fries; 04-17-2017 at 06:13 PM.
Home Fries is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-24-2017, 01:31 PM   #10
Two-Six
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2010
Posts: 73
Default

That's really helpful, I still haven't tried Target but it sounds interesting and worth having a look at.
I have been making a profile for my Cougar over the weekend and putting some time in with the Gazelle and I have the fundamental things working now. Its a work in progress. Every time I go to program my Cougar its like I am starting from scratch again.

One thing, when the Xcel conversion thing is done there is lots of weird spacing in the generated macro text that needs editing to make it work right but otherwise it was super-helpful.
I am wondering what those {} brackets are?? They seem to have no function and the macro works with or without them

I will post the edited macro file and my joystick file as soon as I can.
Two-Six is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump

All times are GMT. The time now is 12:22 PM. vBulletin Skin by ForumMonkeys. Powered by vBulletin®.
Copyright ©2000 - 2018, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.