f14b and gps? - ED Forums
 


Notices

Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 08-19-2019, 04:40 PM   #1
eatthis
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Apr 2019
Posts: 90
Default f14b and gps?

just found this snippet off tinternet, if its true are hb planning to put gps on the b??
With the addition of the LANTIRN in the early 90s, and later with GPS for the B and D Tomcat models, it was a very viable air-to-ground platform.
eatthis is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-19-2019, 04:44 PM   #2
near_blind
Member
 
Join Date: Apr 2010
Posts: 165
Default

The version of the B HB have modeled for us predates any sort of integrated GPS by about half a decade.
near_blind is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-19-2019, 07:34 PM   #3
eatthis
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Apr 2019
Posts: 90
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by near_blind View Post
The version of the B HB have modeled for us predates any sort of integrated GPS by about half a decade.
ok, cant wait for a d then lol most of my squadmates use the hornet and we mainly do atg, therye annoying me lol
eatthis is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-19-2019, 08:55 PM   #4
near_blind
Member
 
Join Date: Apr 2010
Posts: 165
Default

Well then grab one of your sqauddies by the neck and toss him in the back seat. The F-14 we have can carry an equal or greater tonnage of bombs further than a Hornet can.

The only unique things the Big A little f crowd have are JDAM and standoff weapons (i.e. the boring ones)
near_blind is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-20-2019, 07:05 AM   #5
QuiGon
Veteran
 
Join Date: Jul 2013
Location: Germany
Posts: 10,760
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by near_blind View Post
The version of the B HB have modeled for us predates any sort of integrated GPS by about half a decade.
Not entirely true. Our F-14B does have some kind of GPS: The LANTIRN!
The LANTIRN has a GPS reciever of its own and while it is not tied into the F-14 NAV system you can still manually use the GPS-coordinates provided by the LANTIRN.
__________________
Intel i7-4790K @ 4x4GHz + 16 GB DDR3 + Nvidia Geforce RTX 2080 (8 GB VRAM) + Windows 10 64Bit

DCS Panavia Tornado (IDS) really needs to be a thing!

QuiGon is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-20-2019, 04:21 PM   #6
Chaogen
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Feb 2019
Location: Georgia, US
Posts: 47
Default

Besides that the INS system is more than capable of letting a RIO punching in Co-Ordinates and navigating there (or marking the map and asking Jester to do it), even doing ripple MK-82 bomb toss like Jabbers did early on.
Chaogen is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-20-2019, 05:09 PM   #7
JOEM423
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2014
Posts: 8
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by QuiGon View Post
Not entirely true. Our F-14B does have some kind of GPS: The LANTIRN!
The LANTIRN has a GPS reciever of its own and while it is not tied into the F-14 NAV system you can still manually use the GPS-coordinates provided by the LANTIRN.


I More Than Second That Vote for the Panavia Tornado. Bith versions, IDS and the specialized ground attack. I want to do some NOE under the radar flying. Its a rush. Im not wrong...……..


Joe
JOEM423 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-20-2019, 06:28 PM   #8
near_blind
Member
 
Join Date: Apr 2010
Posts: 165
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by JOEM423 View Post
I More Than Second That Vote for the Panavia Tornado. Bith versions, IDS and the specialized ground attack. I want to do some NOE under the radar flying. Its a rush. Im not wrong...……..


Joe
What does a thread asking if our F-14 has an EGI have to do when bargain rate F-111 impersonators?
near_blind is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-21-2019, 02:37 AM   #9
flashben
Junior Member
 
flashben's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2013
Location: Noord-Holland best Holland
Posts: 81
Default

The F14B Heatblur modeled does have a GPS Dome on its spine.
flashben is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-22-2019, 03:01 PM   #10
Voyager
Member
 
Join Date: Jun 2011
Posts: 133
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by QuiGon View Post
Not entirely true. Our F-14B does have some kind of GPS: The LANTIRN!
The LANTIRN has a GPS reciever of its own and while it is not tied into the F-14 NAV system you can still manually use the GPS-coordinates provided by the LANTIRN.
Does that mean one could use the LANTIRN pod to generate coordinate correction points for the main INS on the fly?
Voyager is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump

All times are GMT. The time now is 10:37 PM. vBulletin Skin by ForumMonkeys. Powered by vBulletin®.
Copyright ©2000 - 2019, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.