Shaders mod for better VR performance (experimental) - Page 7 - ED Forums
 


Notices

Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 07-11-2018, 05:46 AM   #61
kunterbunt
Member
 
kunterbunt's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2016
Location: Germany
Posts: 326
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by HawkeyeHHDF View Post
I tried it but it didn't rebuild the shaders after I removed them, any ideas ?
Without shaders dcs cannot work. What kind of error did you get?
__________________
My Rig: AMD Ryzen 9 3950X | 64GB DDR4-3200 Ram | NVIDIA GeForce RTX 2080 Ti | Thrustmaster Hotas Warthog | MFG Crosswind rudder pedals | HP Reverb
kunterbunt is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-11-2018, 06:14 AM   #62
nachomaga
Member
 
nachomaga's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2009
Location: Spain
Posts: 140
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by HawkeyeHHDF View Post
I tried it but it didn't rebuild the shaders after I removed them, any ideas ?
I’m at work right now, but if I remember correctly you need to backup de Shaders folder, not remove it. I’ll check later...
nachomaga is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-11-2018, 06:40 AM   #63
nachomaga
Member
 
nachomaga's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2009
Location: Spain
Posts: 140
Default

Yep, from the Reame.txt:

Install:
- Backup your Bazar/shaders directory

Hope it fix your problem
nachomaga is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-11-2018, 07:57 AM   #64
assafm25
Member
 
assafm25's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2012
Location: israel
Posts: 702
Default

Great mod and must have in the DCS for VR community.

I made it as a gsjme mod and its work just fine
__________________


IAF Bell205
IAF Anafa

-----------------------
DCS World Modules: A-10C, FC3, MiG-21BiS, F-86, P-51, KA-50, UH-1H Huey, Mi-8, M2000K, Gazal, Bf109, Mig-15, Hawk and NTTR
-----------------------
My System - ASUS Maximus HERO iiiv, CoolMaster 120 Sadion Plus, I7 -6700K @4.0, G.Skill ddr4 16GB ram, Gigabyte GTX 1070 G1 , PSU Seasonic X-650W, OCZ 150 500Gb ssd drive X2, Seagate 7200 1T X2.
-------------
assafm25 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-11-2018, 09:08 AM   #65
Pikey
Veteran
 
Pikey's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2009
Location: Reading, UK (GMT)
Posts: 4,616
Default

For those of you that don't know Kegety's (possible for the young) he's been improving visuals and making tools for well over 14 years for sims such as arma, flashpoint, dangerous waters, driving sims as well as SoftTH which was awesome in it's prime. So in terms of "why cannot ED do it" or other silly comments, you need to realise the man's qualifications first before starting typing. www.kegetys.fi
__________________
___________________________________________________________________________
SIMPLE SCENERY SAVING * SIMPLE GROUP SAVING * SIMPLE STATIC SAVING * PLAYLIST
Pikey is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 07-11-2018, 09:25 AM   #66
imacken
Veteran
 
Join Date: Dec 2016
Location: Cornwall, UK
Posts: 5,058
Default

I am struggling to see a positive difference when using this mod. I really am not being critical as clearly it has made a difference to many people, but flying around the PG map in the Harrier looks worse to me, as the terrain buildings etc. look kind of 2D and flat.
A lot of the settings seem to be switched off, and that detracts from the overall look to me.
What am I missing? What differences should I be seeing?
__________________
Intel i9 10900K 5.1GHz · Palit RTX 2080 Ti OC Gaming Pro · ASUS ROG STRIX Z490-F · Acer 4K 32" XB321HK · Samsung 970 500Gb M.2 NVMe · 2 x Samsung 850 Evo 1Tb · 2Tb HDD · 32Gb Corsair Vengance 3000MHz DDR4 · Windows 10 · Thrustmaster TPR Pedals · TrackIR5 · Thrustmaster F/A-18 Hornet Grip · Virpil WarBRD Base · HP Reverb Pro · Virpil Throttle MT-50 CM2 · Virpil Alpha Grip
imacken is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-11-2018, 09:40 AM   #67
boedha68
Senior Member
 
boedha68's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2014
Location: The Netherlands
Posts: 1,826
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by imacken View Post
I am struggling to see a positive difference when using this mod. I really am not being critical as clearly it has made a difference to many people, but flying around the PG map in the Harrier looks worse to me, as the terrain buildings etc. look kind of 2D and flat.
A lot of the settings seem to be switched off, and that detracts from the overall look to me.
What am I missing? What differences should I be seeing?


In VR there is a huge FPS boost for me. The stutters are gone for me.


Harrier in PG map before. stutters and 30 fps.


AFTER installing the mod and follow ALL the things in the README!


Harrier in PG map after. no stutters and 45 fps.


Fisheye in VR and missing some shaders. No gamebreaking!
__________________
New system:I9-9900KS, Kingston 64 GB DDR4 3200Mhz, RTX 2080(OC 2070 Mhz), Corsair H150 Pro RGB, Samsung 970 EVO 1 Tb, Scandisk m2 500 MB, 2 x Crucial 1 Tb, T16000M HOTAS, HP Reverb Professional

Old system:I7-4770K(OC 4.5Ghz), Kingston 24 GB DDR3 1600 Mhz,MSI RTX 2080(OC 2070 Mhz), 2 * 500 GB SSD, 3,5 TB HDD, 55' Samsung 3d tv, Trackir 5, Logitech HD Cam, T16000M HOTAS. All DCS modules, maps and campaigns
boedha68 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-11-2018, 09:51 AM   #68
imacken
Veteran
 
Join Date: Dec 2016
Location: Cornwall, UK
Posts: 5,058
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by boedha68 View Post
In VR there is a huge FPS boost for me. The stutters are gone for me.


Harrier in PG map before. stutters and 30 fps.


AFTER installing the mod and follow ALL the things in the README!


Harrier in PG map after. no stutters and 45 fps.


Fisheye in VR and missing some shaders. No gamebreaking!
OK, thanks. I didn't have any of those issues anyway, so maybe that's why I'm not seeing any improvement. With much more demanding settings, I get 45 solid, no stuttering in PG.
I'm glad it's making a difference to a lot of people though.
__________________
Intel i9 10900K 5.1GHz · Palit RTX 2080 Ti OC Gaming Pro · ASUS ROG STRIX Z490-F · Acer 4K 32" XB321HK · Samsung 970 500Gb M.2 NVMe · 2 x Samsung 850 Evo 1Tb · 2Tb HDD · 32Gb Corsair Vengance 3000MHz DDR4 · Windows 10 · Thrustmaster TPR Pedals · TrackIR5 · Thrustmaster F/A-18 Hornet Grip · Virpil WarBRD Base · HP Reverb Pro · Virpil Throttle MT-50 CM2 · Virpil Alpha Grip
imacken is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-11-2018, 09:56 AM   #69
Formski
Junior Member
 
Formski's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2005
Location: Adelaide, Australia
Posts: 73
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by -=Demon=- View Post
unfortunately I recieve an error in the startup of DCS.

Saying that unrecognized token in ResolveDepth.fx -> disableAlphaBlend.

Any Ideas?
Thanks
Demon
I've got the same issue upon startup:

Shader "bazar/shaders/deferred/ResolveDepth.fx" failed to compile. Reason:
warning X4717: Effects deprecated for D3DCompiler_47 D:\...\bazar\shaders\deferred\ResolveDepth.fx{89,17-33}:Unrecognized token disableAlphaBlend


Am running an AMD Vega 64 on the current 18.6.1 drivers version if that is any help?
__________________
Ryzen 3900x | 32GB DDR4 @ 3600MHz | Gigabyte X570-Aorus Ultra
Gigabyte GeForce RTX 2080 Ti Gaming OC | Samsung C34F791 | HTC Vive Pro | Windows 10 Pro x64
Auzentech X-Fi Forte | Thrustmaster MFDs, Warthog & Cougar with Simped-Vario F16C Pedals
Formski is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-11-2018, 10:29 AM   #70
BrainFart0
Junior Member
 
BrainFart0's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2018
Posts: 23
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Astronut View Post
I can confirm that this works! I just copied the original glass.hlsl file back into the functions folder. Thanks for that Brixmis.


This mod is pretty amazing! Thanks Kegetys!

Yep, after copying back the original glass.hlsl it worked, HUGE boost! Thnx!
__________________
[ i7 8700K@5Ghz (LC) - GTX 1080 TI (LC) - 32GB G.Skill Flare X 3200 - Gigabyte Z370 Aorus Gaming K3 - Samsung 970 PRO NVME SSD - LG 34" Ultra Wide - HTC Vive - Virpil MongoosT-50/WarBRD Base ]
BrainFart0 is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump

All times are GMT. The time now is 12:55 PM. vBulletin Skin by ForumMonkeys. Powered by vBulletin®.
Copyright ©2000 - 2020, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.