Which AG weapon to use for cloudy sorties? - Page 2 - ED Forums
 


Notices

Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 10-13-2019, 03:22 PM   #11
pimp
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Mar 2011
Location: Texas
Posts: 1,026
Default

Thank you all for the feedback. When I think of IR, I assume that can see through smoke or clouds, but that's not always the case. So is it safe to say that currently DCS does not have any camera system, Mav or T-Pod, that can see through clouds?
__________________
i9 9900k @5.1GHz h100i |Asus ROG Strix Z390 E-Gaming | Samsung NVMe m.2 970 Pro 512GB | LPX 32GB DDR4 3200MHz
EVGA RTX 2080ti FTW3 Ultra | Reverb | HOTAS Warthog | Saitek Flight Pedals
pimp is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-13-2019, 04:06 PM   #12
Fri13
Veteran
 
Join Date: Aug 2013
Posts: 3,562
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by pimp View Post
Thank you all for the feedback. When I think of IR, I assume that can see through smoke or clouds, but that's not always the case. So is it safe to say that currently DCS does not have any camera system, Mav or T-Pod, that can see through clouds?
Only system that can see through clouds is the radar. But radar ain't accurate enough in many cases to do targeting unless very new ones. In theory radar can be used, but in practice it is not so reliable and accurate.
__________________
i7-8700k, 32GB 2666Mhz DDR4, 2x 2080S SLI 8GB, Oculus Rift S.
i7-8700k, 16GB 2666Mhz DDR4, 1080Ti 11GB, 27" 4K, 65" HDR 4K.
Fri13 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-13-2019, 04:16 PM   #13
Cupra
Member
 
Cupra's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2011
Location: Switzerland
Posts: 335
Default

You can use Mk82 or Mk84 in CCRP... or you decide that you have the wrong loadout for your mission / weather and go back home to try it again later or send an other unit to do the job.
__________________
DCS F-16C 40/42
Cupra is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-13-2019, 04:25 PM   #14
Speedywrx
Junior Member
 
Speedywrx's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2017
Posts: 66
Default

Like Fri13 said, a synthetic aperture radar will "see" through the clouds. Depending on the system, you may be able to pull Cat-1 grids and target off that - but you still need the terminal guidance bit for LGBs. A laser won't work through clouds.

As someone else mentioned, JDAMs work best and even if you can't pull your own target grids due to cloud cover and no radar, there are other cross-cue capes from other weapon systems (hook a J3.5 via LINK-16), but that's far beyond our scope here.
__________________
i7-7700k OC'd to 5.0 GHz (1.31 vcore), ASUS 1080ti OC, 32 GB 3200 MHz G.Skill, Samsung 960 pro M.2, Thrustmaster Warthog, Saitek pedals, Samsung Odyssey HMD
Speedywrx is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-13-2019, 11:37 PM   #15
Kazansky222
Member
 
Kazansky222's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2018
Posts: 146
Default

CBU-97 or CBU-105 once we get CBU-105.
__________________

64th "Scorpions" Aggressor Squadron
Discord: 64th Aggressor Squadron
TS: 195.201.110.22
Kazansky222 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-13-2019, 11:53 PM   #16
yngvef
Member
 
Join Date: Oct 2010
Posts: 130
Default

Radar bombing used to be a huge thing back in Vietnam and such. And that works in any weather (with possible extreme exceptions) and light conditions. Not sure if it's still a thing though, as JDAMS are so much easier to deal with against known stationary targets.

But currently, I would just say: get below the clouds. Clouds at 1000 feet? stay at 900. Clouds at 100 feet... stay at 90. And use retarded bombs, lest you frag yourself.
yngvef is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-14-2019, 04:38 AM   #17
Harlikwin
Veteran
 
Harlikwin's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2018
Location: Living rent free in your mind
Posts: 4,242
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by pimp View Post
Thank you all for the feedback. When I think of IR, I assume that can see through smoke or clouds, but that's not always the case. So is it safe to say that currently DCS does not have any camera system, Mav or T-Pod, that can see through clouds?
Just to pick a nit. FLIR sees through smoke just fine in most cases (unless its engineered multi-spectral smoke). Clouds are not smoke, they are water vapor, FLIR doesn't see through water very well.

And the answer to your question is radar which we don't have and doesn't really work that well.
__________________
New hotness: I7 9700k 4.8ghz, 32gb ddr4, 2080ti, TM Warthog. TrackIR, HP Reverb (formermly CV1)
Old-N-busted: i7 4720HQ ~3.5GHZ, +32GB DDR3 + Nvidia GTX980m (4GB VRAM) TM Warthog. TrackIR, Rift CV1 (yes really).

Last edited by Harlikwin; 10-14-2019 at 07:22 PM.
Harlikwin is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-14-2019, 04:59 AM   #18
Speedywrx
Junior Member
 
Speedywrx's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2017
Posts: 66
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Harlikwin View Post
Just to pick a nit. FLIR sees through smike just fine un most cases. Clouds are not smoke, they are water vapor, FLIR doesnt see through water very well.

And the answer to your question is radar which we dont have and doesnt really work that well.
A SAR-equipped aircraft can work very well and it’s another sensor to use. Sensor deconfliction can also have huge gains (TGP search one area while you SAR another). Just ask any mudhen Pilot/WSO.
__________________
i7-7700k OC'd to 5.0 GHz (1.31 vcore), ASUS 1080ti OC, 32 GB 3200 MHz G.Skill, Samsung 960 pro M.2, Thrustmaster Warthog, Saitek pedals, Samsung Odyssey HMD
Speedywrx is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-14-2019, 05:55 PM   #19
Harlikwin
Veteran
 
Harlikwin's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2018
Location: Living rent free in your mind
Posts: 4,242
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Speedywrx View Post
A SAR-equipped aircraft can work very well and it’s another sensor to use. Sensor deconfliction can also have huge gains (TGP search one area while you SAR another). Just ask any mudhen Pilot/WSO.
I agree that SAR can be quite useful, especially through clouds, but does our F16 actually have SAR?
__________________
New hotness: I7 9700k 4.8ghz, 32gb ddr4, 2080ti, TM Warthog. TrackIR, HP Reverb (formermly CV1)
Old-N-busted: i7 4720HQ ~3.5GHZ, +32GB DDR3 + Nvidia GTX980m (4GB VRAM) TM Warthog. TrackIR, Rift CV1 (yes really).
Harlikwin is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-14-2019, 06:05 PM   #20
EvanWeeks
Junior Member
 
EvanWeeks's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2011
Location: Dawsonville, GA
Posts: 73
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Harlikwin View Post
I agree that SAR can be quite useful, especially through clouds, but does our F16 actually have SAR?
According to the Planned Systems post, this version of the Viper will model the AN/APG-68(V)5. That version of the radar did not have SAR, according to my brief google searching. The first model that did come with SAR capability is the AN/APG-68(V)9.
__________________
Evan "Preacher" Weeks - Dad. Programmer. Virtual Fighter Pilot.
EvanWeeks is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump

All times are GMT. The time now is 05:49 AM. vBulletin Skin by ForumMonkeys. Powered by vBulletin®.
Copyright ©2000 - 2019, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.