Dynamic Campaign Engine - Page 3 - ED Forums
 


Notices

Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 11-22-2015, 10:23 PM   #21
MBot
Veteran
 
Join Date: Nov 2004
Posts: 3,241
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by zionid View Post
Hate to ask but, do you have any ETA on a beta of this Mbot? Can't wait to try it
Hard to tell. End of the year perhaps?
MBot is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-22-2015, 10:46 PM   #22
ratherbegliding
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Jul 2010
Location: New Zealand
Posts: 73
Default

Ah, but this being DCS - which year?

Seriously though, great work.



RBG
__________________
-------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------
Intel Core 2 Duo E6850 OC to 3.4ghz / 6gb RAM / Nvidia GeForce GTX 550Ti / Viewsonic 28" monitor / TM Warthog / TM Elite rudder pedals / TrackIR5

First flight sim: Psion 'Flight Simulator' (ZX Spectrum 48k)
ratherbegliding is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-23-2015, 12:05 AM   #23
jester_
Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2015
Posts: 132
Default

This looks interesting.

I've been wanting to say for awhile that without an ATO, the ability to frag multiple packages, and building/editing flight plans from scratch, any Dynamic Campaign brought into DCS would be essentially worthless.

This looks like excellent groundwork for those features though. I'm happy someone else recognizes that at some level as well.
jester_ is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-23-2015, 01:22 AM   #24
Yurgon
Campaign Testers
 
Yurgon's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2010
Location: Germany
Posts: 7,151
Default

Wow this sounds awesome! I'm really curious to see this in action.

Here's an idea: ED, hire this guy!
Yurgon is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-23-2015, 07:43 AM   #25
Ciribob
ED Testers Team
 
Join Date: Mar 2015
Location: Brighton, UK
Posts: 1,858
Default

This sounds incredible! Nice work!
__________________
Scripts: Complete Transport And Logistics Deployment - CTLD / CTLD Examples - Lots of example of how to use CTLD
CSAR Script - Downed Pilot Rescue / Dedicated Server Script - Automatically launch DCS Multiplayer server at startup
Range Scoring Script - Get scores and counts hits on targets for gunnery or bombs / SimpleSlotBlock - Multiplayer dynamic Slot Blocking Script

Projects: DCS-SimpleRadio Standalone - DCS Radio Integration for All Aircraft - NO TeamSpeak Required!
DCS-SimpleRadio Troubleshooting Post / DCS-SimpleRadio Free Support Channel on Discord
Ciribob is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-23-2015, 08:27 AM   #26
Rivvern
Member
 
Rivvern's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2012
Posts: 419
Default

Awesome. Cant wait to try it out!
__________________


We are looking for Swedish members!
www.masterarms.se
Rivvern is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-23-2015, 11:27 AM   #27
Fudge
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Sep 2013
Location: United Kingdom, Midlands
Posts: 91
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by MBot View Post
Yes
Look forward to some Coop campaigns with this.
Fudge is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-23-2015, 11:58 AM   #28
xcom
Senior Member
 
xcom's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2012
Posts: 1,380
Default

Question about the routes -
Is ground masking/Line Of Sight being calculated into the path?
This will allow the ATO to create low altitude penetration routes which will add another dimension to the realism.
xcom is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-23-2015, 01:20 PM   #29
MBot
Veteran
 
Join Date: Nov 2004
Posts: 3,241
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by xcom View Post
Question about the routes -
Is ground masking/Line Of Sight being calculated into the path?
This will allow the ATO to create low altitude penetration routes which will add another dimension to the realism.
No, terrain masking is not taken into account. This primarily has a technical reason. Since the missions are created outside of DCS, DCE has no access to the topography of the map. Therefore it is not possible to make any Line of Sight calculations. While this is a pitty, it is also somehow a relief for me, since making smart threat avoidance using terrain masking would be brutal to code

Therfore DCE assumes the world is flat. Low level flight still has a merrit through, as since 1.5 DCS simulates curviture of the earth and DCE plans with reuduced threat radi at low altitude.


P.S.:
Giving this a second though, it might be possible to write a script that runs during the mission that lets aircraft fly between two given waypoints "like the water flows" instead of flying in a straight line. I did some experiments some years ago with tanks doing this. The principle could also be adapted to aircraft. Something that might be worth looking into in the future, but not now.
MBot is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-23-2015, 02:42 PM   #30
Greekbull
Member
 
Greekbull's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2015
Location: Tulsa, OK
Posts: 723
Default

This looks great! Thanks for the efforts and I can't wait to try it!
__________________
i7 8700K @ 5.0Ghz I ASUS Maximus Hero X Z370 I 64GB G Skill TridentZ DDR4 3200 I EVGA RTX 2080Ti XC Ultra Gaming I Samsung EVO 960 500GB M.2 PCIe SSD I TM Warthog HOTAS I VPC Mongoose T-50 Stick Base I Thrustmaster TPR Pedals W/Damper I 4K Curved 65" I TrackIR 5 W/LukeClip

VFA-25 Fist of the Fleet

Virtual Carrier Strike Group 1 | Discord
Greekbull is online now   Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump

All times are GMT. The time now is 03:20 AM. vBulletin Skin by ForumMonkeys. Powered by vBulletin®.
Copyright ©2000 - 2019, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.