which throttles? - ED Forums
 


Notices

Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 07-27-2018, 08:00 PM   #1
thrustvector
Member
 
thrustvector's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2017
Location: Exeter uk
Posts: 613
Default which throttles?

what throttles do you guys use, just finding the hog throttle isn't sensitive enough for small movements, or is there a greasing guide to help?
if not just thinking of one specially for the helos?
thrustvector is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-27-2018, 08:28 PM   #2
lmp
ED Translator
 
Join Date: May 2013
Posts: 916
Default

I can't tell you which throttle will be ideal but I can tell you one to avoid - Thrustmaster's TWCS. It sticks badly, is too light and the sliding design makes it difficult to judge where you are on the axis. I had a Saitek Throttle Quadrant before and it was significantly better but it died eventually and at least when I was replacing it Saitek had some quality issues, so I went with the TWCS instead.
lmp is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-27-2018, 10:01 PM   #3
FragBum
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Jun 2016
Location: QLD, AUS.
Posts: 1,449
Default

If your handy with basic metal work and wood work and can solder* you could have a go at building your own,

This still uses the Logitech PCB but only for the slider/collective input.

Having physical inputs just makes flying helicopters that much better.


* There are ways to gat around soldering if need be.
__________________
Control is an illusion which usually shatters at the least expected moment.

Gazelle Mini-gun version is endorphins with rotors.
FragBum is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-28-2018, 08:37 AM   #4
ebabil
Senior Member
 
ebabil's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2009
Location: Turkiye/Istanbul
Posts: 2,433
Default

i am using ch pro throttle and i don't recommend it
__________________
FC3 | UH-1H | Mi-8MTV2 | A-10C | F/A-18C | F-4E | F-14 | F-16C
Nevada | Syria
NS-430 | Carriers
Ultimate Argument | Oilfield | Argo | Border

Youtube
ebabil is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-28-2018, 11:42 AM   #5
thrustvector
Member
 
thrustvector's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2017
Location: Exeter uk
Posts: 613
Default

haha well some good recs of what not to get, I'm not the good with the doing myself frag, as much as I would like to, wondering about just taking the hog throttle apart and cleaning maybe
thrustvector is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-28-2018, 04:18 PM   #6
ebabil
Senior Member
 
ebabil's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2009
Location: Turkiye/Istanbul
Posts: 2,433
Default

today i tried my friend's hotas warthog. it moves quite hard but if you use a single throttle as collective, it is ok. my pro throttle has potetionmeter and it is not precise, it moves its own. but warthog throttle moves very stable.
__________________
FC3 | UH-1H | Mi-8MTV2 | A-10C | F/A-18C | F-4E | F-14 | F-16C
Nevada | Syria
NS-430 | Carriers
Ultimate Argument | Oilfield | Argo | Border

Youtube
ebabil is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-28-2018, 06:17 PM   #7
Gizzy
Member
 
Gizzy's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2015
Location: Tír na nÓg
Posts: 368
Default

Food for thought...

IMAGE 1:
I used a simple plastic pipe extension cable clipped to the TMWH throttle... worked a treat with perfect precision control for several years....

IMAGE 2:
A friend then made this up for me, I asked for 'loads' of switches and Hats...
It is on a bracket that slides between the 2 throttles and held in place by the TMWH locking slide bolt.

An elastic cord at the rear balances the weight without using the TMWH friction rotary..... hands off at any position with no slip and instant movement up or down smooth as silk.......







Gizzy is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-28-2018, 06:42 PM   #8
thrustvector
Member
 
thrustvector's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2017
Location: Exeter uk
Posts: 613
Default

Grizzly, now the first one I could manage, as for the second, when is your friend shipping to uk?
I'm gonna give that one a go, can you tell me what the small keypad with led is? as well
thrustvector is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-28-2018, 07:31 PM   #9
Gizzy
Member
 
Gizzy's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2015
Location: Tír na nÓg
Posts: 368
Default

The keypad is a logitec g13.... now redundant as I only use VR (Rift).

I have the original plastic extension in a spares box if you want it... PM an address and I'll post it across... I'm in NI and it's light so N/C if you want it..
Gizzy is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-28-2018, 09:23 PM   #10
feefifofum
3rd Party Developer
 
feefifofum's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2015
Location: USA
Posts: 2,595
Default

That is extremely clever Gizzy! Thanks for sharing.
feefifofum is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump

All times are GMT. The time now is 08:00 PM. vBulletin Skin by ForumMonkeys. Powered by vBulletin®.
Copyright ©2000 - 2018, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.