DCS: F-14 Air to Air Refueling Tutorial - Page 14 - ED Forums
 


Notices

Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 06-14-2019, 07:25 AM   #131
Nealius
Veteran
 
Join Date: Feb 2013
Location: Tokyo
Posts: 3,414
Default

AV-8B with S-3 works fine. I've done it a few dozen times, and found it much easier to stay connected than in the F-14B. It honestly feels like the "box" for the S-3B/F-14B combo is smaller than the "box" for the S-3B/AV-8B (or even FA-18C) combo, despite using the same refueling platform.

Quote:
I know that some guys here do AAR with wings all the way back, but I will never understand it why they are doing that.
I put the wings in BOMB mode. With the wings full forward the maneuvering slats pop out and totally ruin your stabilization behind the basket. It's essentially the same as trying to refuel the Harrier in AUTO flaps.
__________________
YouTube Channel: "Clutch"

ASUS Z170 | i5-7600 | RTX2070 | 32GB DDR4 | Windows 10
Nealius is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-14-2019, 10:05 AM   #132
viper2097
Member
 
viper2097's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2019
Location: Austria - LOXZ
Posts: 873
Default

I just was not sure if there is enough "space" between the harrier and the S3, as the probe is on the left side on the Harrier.

Really? Manouvering slat are poping out? Need to check that. I have the tanker always set to 250kts IAS, set the wings to man full forward and it jsut works perfect and nothing is unpredictable.
__________________
Steam user - Singleplayer & on GAW, TTI, Cold War, Just Dogfight, 99th & 104th server.
Aircrafts: TF-51, Su-25T, M2000C, Su-27, F/A-18C, F-14, Su-33, MiG-29, AV-8B, FW190 D-9, AJS-37, F-15C, A-10C, Mig-21bis, UH-1H, F-5E
Maps: Caucasus, Persian Gulf, NTTR, Normandy, WWII Assets Pack
System: i7-4790K@4.5GHz, 32GB Ram, Strix 1080 8GB, M.2 SSD, Win10Pro, 27" 1080p curved S27D590
Equipment: TrackIR 5 w/ Trackclip Pro, TM Warthog HOTAS, TFRP pedals
viper2097 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-14-2019, 12:07 PM   #133
Nealius
Veteran
 
Join Date: Feb 2013
Location: Tokyo
Posts: 3,414
Default

I wonder if there's a difference between MAN full forward and AUTO full forward. I used to do the latter and it was incredibly unstable.
__________________
YouTube Channel: "Clutch"

ASUS Z170 | i5-7600 | RTX2070 | 32GB DDR4 | Windows 10
Nealius is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump

All times are GMT. The time now is 12:30 PM. vBulletin Skin by ForumMonkeys. Powered by vBulletin®.
Copyright ©2000 - 2019, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.