Wind - ED Forums
 


Notices

Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 05-18-2019, 08:51 AM   #1
jojo
Veteran
 
jojo's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2008
Location: France
Posts: 3,226
Default Wind

I'm sure I'm not the first one to bring up this topic.


If I set the wind in ME at 000°, it should be blowing FROM the North, and not TO the North (from the South).


And this is also true at Moscow Sheremetyevo UUEE airport


So the wind direction in ME is reversed by 180°.
__________________
Flickr gallery:
https://www.flickr.com/gp/71068385@N02/728Hbi
jojo is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-18-2019, 09:44 AM   #2
Nooch
Senior Member
 
Nooch's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2014
Location: Earth, Milky Way, Universe, Consciousness
Posts: 1,305
Default

Yeah it's been like this forever but still hasn't been fixed. I have no idea why...
__________________
Nooch is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-19-2019, 07:30 PM   #3
feefifofum
3rd Party Developer
 
feefifofum's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2015
Location: USA
Posts: 2,937
Default

If memory serves, per the last time this was brought up it's a deliberate choice because it is representative of meteorological maps; it makes more sense in the context of the dynamic weather in the ME.

Flipping it 180 degrees in the briefing WX report for proper wind reports with respect to aviation would be appropriate, though, I agree.
feefifofum is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-20-2019, 02:23 PM   #4
BaD CrC
Senior Member
 
BaD CrC's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2008
Location: New Jersey, USA
Posts: 2,408
Default

The subject is as old as DCS itself. There must be hundreds of threads about that since 2008. It's still hard for me to remember how the wind works despite the hundreds of missions I designed. I think ED doesn't see the point in changing this.
__________________

8086K delid @5.1Ghz under EKWB Water, 2080Ti FE, 32Gb DDR4, 970Pro NvME.
BaD CrC is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 05-20-2019, 03:45 PM   #5
Kang
Member
 
Join Date: Sep 2016
Posts: 777
Default

I remember from when I first started playing in the mission editor I sure would have appreciated that being explained somewhere. One of those little '?' thingies that are in other parts of the ME wouldn't go amiss.
Kang is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-20-2019, 05:09 PM   #6
Rudel_chw
Veteran
 
Join Date: Nov 2013
Location: Antofagasta, Chile
Posts: 3,609
Default

If ED were to change the wind direction, every existing mission and campaign would have to be updated ... I prefer to just be aware of this issue, and take it into account when editing my missions.
__________________
For work: iMac mid-2010 of 27" - Core i7 870 - 6 GB DDR3 1333 MHz - ATI HD5670 - SSD 256 GB - HDD 2 TB - macOS High Sierra
For Gaming: 27" Monitor - Ryzen 1500X - 32 GB DDR4 2400 - MSI GTX970 - SSD 480 GB - HDD 10 TB - Windows 8.1 Pro - Thrustmaster HOTAS Cougar - Oculus Rift CV1
Mobile: iPad Pro 12.9" of 128 GB
Rudel_chw is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-20-2019, 05:37 PM   #7
johnv2pt0
Member
 
johnv2pt0's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2010
Posts: 592
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Rudel_chw View Post
If ED were to change the wind direction, every existing mission and campaign would have to be updated ... I prefer to just be aware of this issue, and take it into account when editing my missions.
I agree, but there's nothing stopping them from making the briefing correct though for the users of the missions that don't know about the problem. For a study aviation simulation (ish), it really is a big problem. Seems like a simple math conversion in the auto generated briefing would make sense...
johnv2pt0 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-20-2019, 05:52 PM   #8
Holbeach
Member
 
Holbeach's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2012
Location: West Norfolk, England.
Posts: 874
Default

It's a legacy from "Lock On" 2003.
..
__________________
I7 2600K @ 3.8, CoolerMaster 212X, EVGA GTX 1070. 8 gb RAM, 1kw PSU. 12 yo Saitek X-52. Saitek Pro Flight pedals. CH Flight Sim yoke. TrackIR 5. Win 10. IIyama 1080p. DCS on HDD.. FSX on SSD..
..



Holbeach is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-20-2019, 07:12 PM   #9
jmarso
Junior Member
 
Join Date: May 2019
Posts: 6
Default

So all this time my carrier sailing 'into the wind' has in fact been sailing away from it?

That explains all those 4-wires and bolters. But not the 1-wires and ramp strikes. :p
jmarso is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump

All times are GMT. The time now is 11:42 PM. vBulletin Skin by ForumMonkeys. Powered by vBulletin®.
Copyright ©2000 - 2019, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.