Autorotation in UH-1H

fixen

Hello Huey pilots

Let me start by telling you that I am a noob huey pilot so I might have some things wrong.

I would like to know how you guys autorotate in DCS, but first let me tell you what I do:

Once I notice that the engine RPM is going down I drop the collective. I will try to keep the helicopter in a low angle dive and steer it to a good location for landing. When close to the ground I flare and pull the collective.

But what happens in DCS. The moment engine RPM is going down and I drop the collective, I drop like a brick. Cyclic inputs do nothing and rotor RPM keeps going down. When I increase the collective a bit the rotor rpm goes up a bit, but not enough and I still drop like a brick. If I increase the collective even more the rotor RPM drops again and I fall like a brick.

I thought that the whole idea behind autorotation is trading altitude for rotor RPM by lowering the collective and then using that RPM for the slowdown when you are close to the ground.

I will try to keep the helicopter in a low angle dive and steer it to a good location for landing.

Do you mean a steep dive, or a shallow one? In a steep dive you don't get the air flowing perpendicular to the rotor plane so it won't build RPM. If you don't have any cyclic authority, increase collective a bit until you can level out some, then reduce the collective again. Overall it sounds like you have the right idea.

i5-4670K@4.5GHz / 16 GB RAM / SSD / GTX1080

Rift CV1 / G-seat / modded FFB HOTAS

Shallow dive. But the moment I drop collective it very quickly nose downwards into a steep dive with complete loss of control and rotor RPM. Should I really drop collective down completely or keep it somewhere halfway in the beginning?

I have done it before quite some months ago. But now I somehow just cant get it to work.

I'm no expert here at all as to the aerodynamic forces at play, but here's what I do.....

First I shut the throttle (simulating an engine failure).