L-39 ATC communication. - ED Forums
 


Notices

Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 07-12-2018, 10:37 AM   #1
hsth
Member
 
Join Date: Oct 2009
Posts: 127
Default L-39 ATC communication.

Hi,


I've tested this only with the L-39 module (DCS version 2.5) as I noticed this problem first with this module. Please feel free to test this on other modules.


At first I deleted the DCS & Saved Games directories completely to rule out any time-creeping issues.
Did a complete new install & updated to the latest 2.5 version.


Map: Caucasus.
Airfield: Batumi.
Created new missions with L-39C, parked hot.


First with default coalition as presented by Mission Editor.
1. New mission where country = USA. Request taxi question = English, ATC reply = English.
2. New mission where country = Russia. Request taxi question = Russian, ATC reply = Russian.
3. Change country to Russia in first mission. Request taxi question = Russian, ATC reply = none.
4. Change country to USA in second mission. Request taxi question = English, ATC reply = none.


Now change coalition for new missions. One new mission where Russia is moved to blue coalition and another where USA is moved to red coalition.
1. New mission where country = USA. Request taxi question = English, ATC reply = English.
2. New mission where country = Russia. Request taxi question = Russian, ATC reply = Russian.
3. Change country to Russia in first mission. Request taxi question = Russian, ATC reply = Russian.
4. Change country to USA in second mission. Request taxi question = English, ATC reply = English.

It seems that the language for the communication with ATC is depending on the coalition/country combination when the mission is created. If there is any deviation, ATC will not respond.


The settings in the menu (Gameplay - language native/English and for all missions ticked or not) does not have any impact on this.


To me this is annoying as training missions and campaigns are also influenced by this.
hsth is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-12-2018, 11:02 AM   #2
lmp
ED Translator
 
Join Date: May 2013
Posts: 872
Default

In the first case, if I understand correctly, you ended up with the aircraft being in one coalition and the airfield in the other coalition, right? If that's the case, I think the behavior is intentional. The ATC won't give an enemy aircraft permission to do anything (why would it?).
lmp is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-12-2018, 12:33 PM   #3
hsth
Member
 
Join Date: Oct 2009
Posts: 127
Default

Maybe I don't understand it fully but your answer implies that you cannot change country for a plane once it has been placed on a specific airfield. So a training mission created in Russian language could not be used for users in English language. Meaning that you cannot use an existing mission but would have to recreate from new.


Is that what you are saying?
hsth is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-12-2018, 12:45 PM   #4
firmek
Senior Member
 
firmek's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2015
Posts: 1,237
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by lmp View Post
In the first case, if I understand correctly, you ended up with the aircraft being in one coalition and the airfield in the other coalition, right? If that's the case, I think the behavior is intentional. The ATC won't give an enemy aircraft permission to do anything (why would it?).
+1. It seems that two last cases (3 and 4) result in a situation that the pilot is trying to communicate with an hostile airfield ATC. Not even a neutral one, simply owned by the opposite coalition.
__________________
F/A-18, M-2000C, A-10C, AV-8B, AJS-37 Viggen, F-5E-3, F-86F, MiG-21bis, MiG-15bis, L-39 Albatros, C-101 Aviojet, P-51D, Spitfire LF Mk. IX, Bf 109 4-K, UH-1H, Mi-8, Ka-50, NTTR, Normandy, Persian Gulf... and not enough time to fully enjoy it all
firmek is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-12-2018, 01:08 PM   #5
lmp
ED Translator
 
Join Date: May 2013
Posts: 872
Default

You can change the country of a plane on an airfield (you just did that! ) but if you want to talk to ATC you also need to change the coalition of the airfield to match that of the plane. Unselect the plane, click on the airfield and set it's coalition in airfield configuration form.
lmp is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-12-2018, 01:26 PM   #6
hsth
Member
 
Join Date: Oct 2009
Posts: 127
Default

Thanks for the explanation.


In VR I'm trying to rely more on audio than on reading and it would have been much easier (for me!) if communication language could be set on a user preference. Like the written messages.


But I guess it is what it is now.
hsth is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump

All times are GMT. The time now is 11:03 PM. vBulletin Skin by ForumMonkeys. Powered by vBulletin®.
Copyright ©2000 - 2018, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.