Training mission issue: Kh29t missiles won't lock on - Page 2 - ED Forums
 


Notices

Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 04-08-2018, 11:32 PM   #11
MadDog-IC
ED Testers Team
 
MadDog-IC's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2012
Location: Australia
Posts: 1,008
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Sylosis View Post
While I can understand the comment about lightning condition for TV locks, I don't know if that really is the issue here, since even in the training mission, you can't get a lock at the moment (lock indicator going from KC to AC)
Not saying there isn't an issue, just commenting on something to be aware of.

Quote:
So I'm thinking, why would they set the Kh29T training mission in a lightning condition that doesn't allow the use of Kh29T....????
Unfortunately things change between patches for DCS, going from the old 1.2 to 1.5 did a lot to effect missions, with the season, time of day and year being changed due to the new DATE based season system, this did a lot to affect the lighting of the missions.

For example a lot of missions set at dawn in early morning or dusk in late evening with reasonable lighting became pitch black and needed the hour of day to be adjusted to get same lighting conditions or the date changed to make the day the same season as it was once manually programmed to be. (Big difference between 09:30am lighting in winter compared to summer), the fog and cloud haze also plays a large part.

Regards, Ian.
__________________
Asus p877v-pro, Intel I7 3770k 4.2ghz, 32gb Ripjaw X ram, Gigabyte GTX-780 (419.17), Samsung 32" TV, Saitek x52 pro Joystick and Combat rudder pedals, TrackIR 5, Win8.1 x64 with SSD and SSHD protected by (Avast AV).

Last edited by MadDog-IC; 04-09-2018 at 12:27 AM.
MadDog-IC is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-26-2018, 08:23 AM   #12
59th_Wittman
Junior Member
 
59th_Wittman's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2012
Location: Hungary, BalmazNewYork
Posts: 47
Default

DCS 2.5.1 open beta!

The radio tower was the target. H-29T missed...

https://photos.app.goo.gl/XvKdoZSksj8L59BPA
__________________
HDF 59th Virtual Airbase

Last edited by 59th_Wittman; 04-26-2018 at 09:10 AM.
59th_Wittman is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-14-2018, 08:31 PM   #13
relja
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2015
Posts: 4
Default

I've done some experiments with time and weather.
Made mission on same location, same date, same time. Target was M1A1.

Only variable that made big difference for me was cloud density. When it was set on 0, had no problem locking at 4.5km to the target.

When I changed density to 10, situation was same as in the training mission. For me, it locks at approximately 1.5km, but that's too close to fire.

Seems that it's not a bug, but consistent calculation for camera visibility. Just not sure that it's modeled realistically, because in the particular situation, visibility doesn't seem to be an issue. But, who knows, might be. Never had a chance to "play" with real Shkval
relja is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-15-2018, 01:47 PM   #14
AJaromir
Member
 
AJaromir's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2010
Posts: 218
Default

This problem is still not fixed in 2.5.2.20601 Update 9.
AJaromir is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-07-2018, 09:48 AM   #15
v81
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2014
Posts: 80
Default

Can confirm, setting mission time to 11:45am resolved the issue.
This mission worked OK previously, but getting a lock is so incredibly difficult it's pretty much broken in it's current state.

Temp fix, edit the mission and set time closer to middle of day.

I stand by saying that ED should be fixing things like this.
Broken training missions can be a huge put off to potential new players.
__________________
i5 6600K @4.4GHz -- 16Gig RAM -- 512GB & 940GB SSD -- GTX1070 -- TM Warthog, MFG Crosswinds & TiR
v81 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-19-2018, 12:05 AM   #16
aw33com
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Oct 2018
Posts: 30
Default

Same thing, H-29T works perfect if I create a custom mission, but does not work in the official Campaign for SU-25T.

Did not test the time of day, but if every other weapon locks on consistent basis across different times (sun), then it's a bug.
aw33com is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-19-2018, 02:43 AM   #17
Frag
Member
 
Join Date: Sep 2018
Posts: 369
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by v81 View Post
Can confirm, setting mission time to 11:45am resolved the issue.
This mission worked OK previously, but getting a lock is so incredibly difficult it's pretty much broken in it's current state.

Temp fix, edit the mission and set time closer to middle of day.

I stand by saying that ED should be fixing things like this.
Broken training missions can be a huge put off to potential new players.
Bingo. I have to say that I have been seriously turned off by many training missions getting broken. The only reason I stick around is because I am an old sim enthusiast and a developer myself.

But I have to say that for a new player, getting stuck on training mission bugs is a customer killer. That kind of things has a direct impact on the company revenue when newcomer give up. Personally I opened many bugs in the support forum that were never simply acknowledged. So as a customer you do not even know if they are aware of the bug or not.

In the case of that mission, it is a 15 minutes fix for the dev, but it was never made for an X reason.

DCS is a solid game, but unfortunately the communication channel between the developers and the players is really outdated and need a serious revamp.
Frag is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-19-2018, 03:23 AM   #18
David OC
Senior Member
 
David OC's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2013
Location: Australia
Posts: 1,913
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Frag View Post
Bingo. I have to say that I have been seriously turned off by many training missions getting broken. The only reason I stick around is because I am an old sim enthusiast and a developer myself.

But I have to say that for a new player, getting stuck on training mission bugs is a customer killer. That kind of things has a direct impact on the company revenue when newcomer give up. Personally I opened many bugs in the support forum that were never simply acknowledged. So as a customer you do not even know if they are aware of the bug or not.

In the case of that mission, it is a 15 minutes fix for the dev, but it was never made for an X reason.

DCS is a solid game, but unfortunately the communication channel between the developers and the players is really outdated and need a serious revamp.
The forum moderators / testers do a great job sifting through the now very large forum. Got any ideas as a developer to how it could be setup better.
__________________


i7-7700K OC @ 5Ghz | ASUS ROG Maximus IX Hero MB
| ASUS GTX 1080 Ti STRIX | 16GB Corsair Vengeance 3466Mhz | Corsair H100i V2 Radiator | Samsung 960 EVO M.2 NVMe 500G SSD | 2 X Samsung 850 EVO 500G SSD | Oculus Rift | ASUS PG278Q 27-inch, 2560 x 1440, G-SYNC, 144Hz, 1ms | Fractal Design R5 Case

Chuck's DCS Tutorial Library

Download PDF Tutorial guides
to help get up to speed with aircraft quickly and also great for taking a good look at the aircraft available for DCS before purchasing. Link


David OC is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-20-2018, 10:46 AM   #19
v81
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2014
Posts: 80
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by David OC View Post
The forum moderators / testers do a great job sifting through the now very large forum.
Not meaning to offend anyone, but clear and simple things are being missed.

Things reported multiple times, things that are a 5 minute fix, things that are important.

My first comments on the SU-25T training missions being broken go back 2+ years and are posted in an appropriate section of the forum.

I could contribute a lot more info about bugs but not seeing a dev ever acknowledge or replay to any of the issue threads is a bit of a putoff.

In a recent thread i re-visited the SU25T training and know being a little more confident in the editor tested and verified a few fixes.
I listed these fixes, and the thread is yet to get a reply.
Even if the task is palmed off to blind freddy, making these changes and pushing them out in a rush would be better then nothing.

Surely someone knows that many of the training missions are broken, but it isn't considered important.

I stand by my comment that ED is losing business to this, not a huge deal to me personally, but we're also losing potential new users to fly with and expand the community.
There probably a few people a day giving up on DCS because flying the SU-25T training makes no sense, and they simply might not be aware it's broken, as are several other training missions.

Like i said, no offense, but whatever sifting is being done is missing some long standing and glaring issues.
__________________
i5 6600K @4.4GHz -- 16Gig RAM -- 512GB & 940GB SSD -- GTX1070 -- TM Warthog, MFG Crosswinds & TiR
v81 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-26-2018, 08:32 AM   #20
DerwischGER
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2018
Posts: 11
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by v81 View Post
I stand by my comment that ED is losing business to this, ...
Sure they do. I'm playing DCS for a couple of years now, but only came around to trying the "free" plane a couple of weeks ago (and I was suprised how much fun it is ).
Going through the Training missions I stumple over exactly this problem. Had I not been playing this game for quite some time, I would have thought that this game either is broken or that I am too dumb for it and would have stopped playing right there.

Seeing how easy this is to fix and how early in a tryout phase a new would-be buyer would come across this, I do not understand why not at least the mission is changed for now.
DerwischGER is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Tags
bug, training

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump

All times are GMT. The time now is 01:03 AM. vBulletin Skin by ForumMonkeys. Powered by vBulletin®.
Copyright ©2000 - 2019, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.