Missiles refuse to launch and radar issues - ED Forums
 


Notices

Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 08-08-2018, 11:34 PM   #1
Bananimal
Member
 
Join Date: Mar 2014
Posts: 125
Default Missiles refuse to launch and radar issues

I'm unable to launch the missiles at all. They are armed, jettison control is set to safe, weapons release mode is set to safe and both sidewinders toggles are flipped in the up position and no dogfight mode selected. The missiles refuse to release/fire.

Had a mission setup with a MiG-21 right in from of me. I could see him in the HUD but the radar refuses to show him at all. Tried everything, no joy. Never had this problem before the latest update.
Bananimal is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-09-2018, 12:38 AM   #2
Jenrick
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2018
Posts: 82
Default

Can you put up a track? From your description nothing is jumping to mind.
Jenrick is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-09-2018, 12:59 PM   #3
tom_19d
Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2015
Location: United States
Posts: 114
Default

As for the AIM-9
-You said "armed" I'm assuming that means master arm to GUNS MSL & CAMR?
-Did you have tone from the missle?
-Were you holding down the bomb/rocket button (pickle)? A tap on the button won't do it.
I know those sound obvious but I don't want to sound condescending, this is just a strange one...
tom_19d is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-09-2018, 06:22 PM   #4
Bananimal
Member
 
Join Date: Mar 2014
Posts: 125
Default

Yes, master to GUNS MSL & CAMR is on.
Have tone from the missile and tone when the seeker head finds the targets heat signature.
Yes, holding down the pickle button. I even went in and remapped the button to be sure there was no possibility the button was not mapped.

I had a buddy try his F-5E last night and same thing for him.

Last edited by Bananimal; 08-09-2018 at 06:25 PM.
Bananimal is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-09-2018, 11:14 PM   #5
Jenrick
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2018
Posts: 82
Default

Are you on open beta or release? I updated the release client last night and tried it, missiles came off the rail just fine in my DACM mission.

Are you doing a cold start, hot start, on the ramp, parking, runway, etc? Just trying to narrow things down.
Jenrick is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-10-2018, 03:41 AM   #6
Bananimal
Member
 
Join Date: Mar 2014
Posts: 125
Default

On the latest open beta. Hot start on the runway, NTTR map at Groom Lake.
Bananimal is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-10-2018, 09:42 AM   #7
Svend_Dellepude
Senior Member
 
Svend_Dellepude's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2008
Location: Copenhagen, Denmark
Posts: 1,453
Default

Track needed. AFAIK all issues regarding missiles not launching, bombs not dropping etc, have been pilot error or hardware issues.
__________________

Win10 64, Asus Maximus VIII Formula, i5 6600K, Geforce 980 GTX Ti, 32 GB Ram, Samsung EVO SSD.
Svend_Dellepude is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-10-2018, 10:29 AM   #8
beppe_goodoldrebel
Member
 
beppe_goodoldrebel's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2017
Posts: 179
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Bananimal View Post
Yes, master to GUNS MSL & CAMR is on.
Have tone from the missile and tone when the seeker head finds the targets heat signature.
Yes, holding down the pickle button. I even went in and remapped the button to be sure there was no possibility the button was not mapped.

I had a buddy try his F-5E last night and same thing for him.
Try press Ralt+Space instead of your designated button on HOTAS.
Plus , you have to mantain pickle for at least 0.5 sec before launch.

Last edited by beppe_goodoldrebel; 08-10-2018 at 10:35 AM.
beppe_goodoldrebel is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-10-2018, 05:57 PM   #9
tom_19d
Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2015
Location: United States
Posts: 114
Default

Like Svend says, a track would probably be best...one last idea which will also sound condescending but people have managed to make the mistake-- you are loaded with live AIMs, not the captive trainers?
tom_19d is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-11-2018, 05:57 AM   #10
Bananimal
Member
 
Join Date: Mar 2014
Posts: 125
Default

Well, apparently I wasn't holding the pickle button long enough. Missiles are firing now. Just need to figure out why I can see the target on radar. Thanks.
Bananimal is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump

All times are GMT. The time now is 08:49 AM. vBulletin Skin by ForumMonkeys. Powered by vBulletin®.
Copyright ©2000 - 2018, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.