Volume of sound in 2.5.5.33552 is weaker - ED Forums
 


Notices

Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 07-18-2019, 10:07 AM   #1
f-18hornet
Campaign Testers
 
f-18hornet's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2006
Location: Czech Republic
Posts: 749
Default Volume of sound in 2.5.5.33552 is weaker

In latest version of Open Beta 2.5.5.33552 volume of all sounds are almost 5 times weaker or so than in release version. It is problem on my side or does anyone else got the same problem? For example music I must set from 20 % to almost 100 % to get same result.
Attached Thumbnails
Click image for larger version

Name:	Screen_190718_104225.jpg
Views:	60
Size:	376.5 KB
ID:	213923  
__________________

Last edited by f-18hornet; 07-18-2019 at 10:11 AM.
f-18hornet is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-18-2019, 12:09 PM   #2
BlueRaven
ED Translator
 
BlueRaven's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2015
Location: Pesaro, Italy
Posts: 419
Default

No, you're not alone... same here.
__________________


Nulla Dies Sine Linea
__________________
Case: Phanteks Eclipse P400S Tempered Glass Red/Black | Motherboard: ASRock Fatal1ty H170 Performance/Hyper | CPU: Intel Core i5-6500 | RAM: 2 x Corsair Vengeance DDR4 8GB 3200MHz CL16 | GPU: Gigabyte GeForce® GTX 1070 G1 Gaming 8G | HDD: 1 x Samsung 850 EVO 250 GB SSD + 1 x Crucial MX500 1 TB SSD | PSU: EVGA SuperNova G2 550W | Monitor: ASUS ROG Swift PG279Q | OS: Windows 10 Pro 64 bit
BlueRaven is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-18-2019, 12:21 PM   #3
VikingOnWings
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Oct 2015
Posts: 2
Default

Excatly the same here... after Open Beta 2.5.5.33552 i have a very low overall soundlevel in the sim.
VikingOnWings is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-18-2019, 12:25 PM   #4
c0ff
ED Team
 
c0ff's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2003
Posts: 3,055
Default

We changed the sensitivity of the sliders to use the range more effectively.
The actual values of 0% and 100% did not change.
__________________
Dmitry S. Baikov @ Eagle Dynamics
Listen to my music here: http://soundcloud.com/c0ff ---> Latest track: https://soundcloud.com/c0ff/winter-night
c0ff is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-18-2019, 02:51 PM   #5
BlueRaven
ED Translator
 
BlueRaven's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2015
Location: Pesaro, Italy
Posts: 419
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by c0ff View Post
We changed the sensitivity of the sliders to use the range more effectively.
The actual values of 0% and 100% did not change.
So we have to increase the values?
I always had it at 50% for all - except for 'World' at 5% - and was perfect, also VaicomPro suggests keeping them at that level... what do you mean with 'use the range more effectively'?
__________________


Nulla Dies Sine Linea
__________________
Case: Phanteks Eclipse P400S Tempered Glass Red/Black | Motherboard: ASRock Fatal1ty H170 Performance/Hyper | CPU: Intel Core i5-6500 | RAM: 2 x Corsair Vengeance DDR4 8GB 3200MHz CL16 | GPU: Gigabyte GeForce® GTX 1070 G1 Gaming 8G | HDD: 1 x Samsung 850 EVO 250 GB SSD + 1 x Crucial MX500 1 TB SSD | PSU: EVGA SuperNova G2 550W | Monitor: ASUS ROG Swift PG279Q | OS: Windows 10 Pro 64 bit
BlueRaven is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-18-2019, 02:57 PM   #6
MegOhm_SD
Senior Member
 
MegOhm_SD's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2011
Location: NC-USA
Posts: 1,341
Default

Works fine for me after making a few adjustments to my World and Volume sliders.
So no real complaints here.
__________________

Thing is....Zuckerberg is definitely an Alien... Some Kind of Grey Hybrid

Cooler Master HAF XB EVO Test Bench, ASUS P8Z77-V, i7-3770K @ 4.6GHz, Noctua AC, 32GB Corsair Vengeance Pro, EVGA 1080TI 11GB, 2 Samsung 840 Pro 540GB SSDs Raid 0, 1TB HDD, EVGA SuperNOVA 1300W PS, G930 Wireless SS Headset, TrackIR5/Wireless Proclip, TM Warthog, Saitek Pro Combat Pedals, 65" Samsung 4k 8 Series, Oculus S, Win 10
MegOhm_SD is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-19-2019, 12:28 AM   #7
Nightstorm
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Jul 2018
Posts: 82
Default

I've noticed that the sound seems "choppy" if two sounds are trying to play at the same time, such as while taxiing you've got your engine sounds and the rolling on the tarmac sound. It seems that both sounds playing fluctuate in volume now where before it didn't.

It makes me feel like my ears are blocked like when pressure changes.

Has anyone else noticed this?
Nightstorm is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-19-2019, 12:36 AM   #8
zhukov032186
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2016
Location: Fort Worth, Tx
Posts: 2,265
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by BlueRaven View Post
So we have to increase the values?
I always had it at 50% for all - except for 'World' at 5% - and was perfect, also VaicomPro suggests keeping them at that level... what do you mean with 'use the range more effectively'?
Because before it had very little range. 100% and 50% sounded equally loud. That's why you had to turn it all the way down to 5% to get a significant change. You didn't think that strange?

Anyway, they altered it to be more reasonable. The max and min values are the same, but the progression is more logical. Just adjust your sliders and move on
__________________
Zhukov attacks *FORUM USER* with Legendary Trollsword!
*FORUM USER* Constitution save roll.... Fail!
*FORUM USER* afflicted with ''Hurt Feelz'', -1 Concentration for two rounds
zhukov032186 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-19-2019, 04:12 PM   #9
Nightstorm
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Jul 2018
Posts: 82
Default

Besides adjust the sliders, I did have to adjust my system sound levels and I think I've got it back to sounding pretty good. I ended up with 50% on Main volume and music and 100% on all others. Then my Windows volume at 50% with system sounds at 25%.

Sounds pretty good and Voice Attack still seems to work fine. The choppiness I mentioned happened with main volume at 100% as well and my overall system volume at 25%. /Shrug
Nightstorm is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-20-2019, 01:37 AM   #10
The AMRAAMer
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Jul 2017
Posts: 80
Default Sound Settings changed

Is it just me or has the volume been changed with a new update? Everything sounds way too quiet...usually keep "In-Cockpit" at around 30% now i have to up it to around 60%
The AMRAAMer is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump

All times are GMT. The time now is 10:18 PM. vBulletin Skin by ForumMonkeys. Powered by vBulletin®.
Copyright ©2000 - 2019, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.