INS alignment - ED Forums
 


Notices

Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 06-04-2018, 09:46 PM   #1
MustangSally
Member
 
MustangSally's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2011
Location: Brisbane Australia
Posts: 477
Default INS alignment

I created a training mission for myself last night, with takeoff from Al Dhafra, heading out to a carrier group, A/A refuel and finally return back to IP.

My question is - do I have re-align the INS after I land on the carrier prior to takeoff again??

Thanks
__________________


Obutto Ozone
i7-7740x @ 4.9 (Delided), ASRock X299 Fatal1ty M/B
Samsung 970 EVO Series 500GB M.2 2280 NVMe SSD
Crucial M500 and M300 SSD's, 32gig GSkill Ripjaws DDR4
Gigabyte 1080Ti, Corsair 1115 Pro water cooler
Philips BDM3270QP2/75 32inch 2k monitor
HP L2105TM Touch screen
Virpil T-50 Mongoos Throttle
Virpil T50 CM, VKB T-Rudders Mk.IV, TrackIr, DS FLT1

Please remember that there is no such word as "aircrafts"
MustangSally is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-05-2018, 01:57 AM   #2
USMC_Trev
Senior Member
 
USMC_Trev's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2011
Location: Debtsville
Posts: 2,303
Default

No as long as the system has power it’s going to be navigating.
__________________

i7 4770K OC'ed to 4.3, GTX 1070 Seahawk (OC'ed), Oculus Rift CV1, 32Gb RAM, 64-bit Windows 10
USMC_Trev is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-05-2018, 04:03 AM   #3
MustangSally
Member
 
MustangSally's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2011
Location: Brisbane Australia
Posts: 477
Default

Thanks, much appreciated.
__________________


Obutto Ozone
i7-7740x @ 4.9 (Delided), ASRock X299 Fatal1ty M/B
Samsung 970 EVO Series 500GB M.2 2280 NVMe SSD
Crucial M500 and M300 SSD's, 32gig GSkill Ripjaws DDR4
Gigabyte 1080Ti, Corsair 1115 Pro water cooler
Philips BDM3270QP2/75 32inch 2k monitor
HP L2105TM Touch screen
Virpil T-50 Mongoos Throttle
Virpil T50 CM, VKB T-Rudders Mk.IV, TrackIr, DS FLT1

Please remember that there is no such word as "aircrafts"
MustangSally is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-17-2019, 12:36 PM   #4
Jonnie2Bad
Member
 
Jonnie2Bad's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2019
Location: florida
Posts: 115
Default

hey so looking around on here I'm not finding anything. But The other day I landed on mom and INS got knocked out of align. I tried setting knob to CV on the deck but mfcd just flashed 00:00 and never aligned anything. The standby attitude reference gauge was all wacko too. Did I do something wrong? Why was I unable to realign my INS? I dont have a track file but if I can get it to happen again I can surely provide one.
Jonnie2Bad is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-17-2019, 01:32 PM   #5
Calicrook
Junior Member
 
Calicrook's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2016
Posts: 19
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Jonnie2Bad View Post
hey so looking around on here I'm not finding anything. But The other day I landed on mom and INS got knocked out of align. I tried setting knob to CV on the deck but mfcd just flashed 00:00 and never aligned anything. The standby attitude reference gauge was all wacko too. Did I do something wrong? Why was I unable to realign my INS? I dont have a track file but if I can get it to happen again I can surely provide one.
I seemed to have that happened to me once before. I know it wasn’t a bug and it was something I did. Pretty sure what I ended up doing was going through a full shut down procedure and restart up the aircraft. If anything it gives you time to go through your knee board and get all your ducks in a row before you take off again! Haha
__________________
i7-6700k| 32GB ram| GTX 2080 founders edition| Oculus Rift 2
My WIP Youtube
Calicrook is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-17-2019, 09:58 PM   #6
Bunny Clark
Junior Member
 
Join Date: May 2019
Location: Minneapolis
Posts: 32
Default

As far as I know, right now, INS alignment is not modeled. You get the alignment countdown timer on startup, but it's just eye candy. You can switch directly into Nav mode and go without doing an alignment at all.
Bunny Clark is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-18-2019, 07:25 AM   #7
QuiGon
Veteran
 
Join Date: Jul 2013
Location: Germany
Posts: 10,496
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Bunny Clark View Post
As far as I know, right now, INS alignment is not modeled. You get the alignment countdown timer on startup, but it's just eye candy. You can switch directly into Nav mode and go without doing an alignment at all.
This. Actual INS alignment will be implemented later.
__________________
Intel i7-4790K @ 4x4GHz + 16 GB DDR3 + Nvidia Geforce RTX 2080 (8 GB VRAM) + Windows 10 64Bit

DCS Panavia Tornado (IDS) really needs to be a thing!

QuiGon is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-18-2019, 12:24 PM   #8
Harker
Member
 
Harker's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2014
Location: France
Posts: 675
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by QuiGon View Post
This. Actual INS alignment will be implemented later.
Seems like it. They had started do change some stuff a while ago, but I think they reverted back to the earlier state and are going to revisit it later.
__________________
Z370 Aorus Gaming 7, i7-8700k @4.9GHz, RTX2080Ti FTW3 Ultra, Corsair Vengeance 32GB DDR4 @3000CL15, Samsung 960 Pro 512 GB, 970 Evo Plus 1TB, WD Gold 6TB, Seasonic Prime Platinum 1300W, Acer Predator XB271HK|Warthog/Hornet grip w/extension, TPR pedals, 3 Cougar MFDs, MT desk mounts, TrackIR w/Pro clip, Win10 x64 Home|
F/A-18C, F-16C, AV-8B, A-10C, M-2000C, F-14, P-51D, Sptifire, BS2, FC3, Caucasus, NTTR, Normandy, Persian Gulf
Harker is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump

All times are GMT. The time now is 12:29 AM. vBulletin Skin by ForumMonkeys. Powered by vBulletin®.
Copyright ©2000 - 2019, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.