[RESOLVED]Artificial horizon freeze - ED Forums
 


Notices

Closed Thread
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 07-06-2019, 09:42 AM   #1
LeCuvier
Senior Member
 
Join Date: May 2013
Location: South of France
Posts: 1,478
Default [RESOLVED]Artificial horizon freeze

The other thread is already closed but with only the turn indicator problem REPORTED.
I was trying something else today and suddenly noticed that the artificial horizon indicated substantial bank although I was not banking at all.

I tried several times and always managed to freeze the Artificial Horizon. As long as I only turn gently the horizon works fine. But when I maneuver heavily with high banking angles, the horizon evebntually freezes and does not recover. Doing some rolls gets you there very quickly. I attach a screenshot where you see the real horizon horizontal, and the artificial one shows me banking sharply right.
Edit: this is in OB.
Edit: Did a repair and tried again. Same problem. And it also happens if I do a steep climb. See new attachment. Just see that there seems to be a new update. That might change the picture.
Edit: In the stable release I see only the turn indicator problem. The artificial horizon seems fine.
Edit: after today's OB update I re-tried and was about to shout "Hurrah the problem is gone" but then the artificial horizon froze again. And I could reproduce it again and again, but it takes far more messing around. So anybody who wants to reproduce the freeze should go through a series of sharp banks and rolls etc., and you should see the artifial horizon freeze.
Attached Thumbnails
Click image for larger version

Name:	FW-190D9_Artificial_Horizon_Fail.jpg
Views:	77
Size:	147.4 KB
ID:	213250   Click image for larger version

Name:	Artificial_Horizon_Fail_Pitch.jpg
Views:	73
Size:	47.3 KB
ID:	213253  
__________________
LeCuvier
Windows 10 Pro 64Bit | i7-4790 CPU |16 GB RAM|SSD System Disk|SSD Gaming Disk| MSI GTX-1080 Gaming 8 GB| Acer XB270HU | TM Warthog HOTAS | VKB Gladiator Pro | MongoosT-50 | MFG Crosswind Pedals | TrackIR 5

Last edited by LeCuvier; 07-08-2019 at 04:26 PM.
LeCuvier is offline  
Old 07-12-2019, 02:24 AM   #2
Rolds
Member
 
Join Date: Oct 2015
Posts: 239
Default

At first I thought this might just be op toppling the gyro but it is not the case, the artificial horizon and the turn indicator appears to have somehow gotten connected with the elevator trim. A moderate level turn can cause the artificial horizon to freeze in place, then using the trimmer switch unfreezes it.
Rolds is offline  
Old 07-12-2019, 08:35 AM   #3
Weegie
Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2014
Location: Glasgow, UK
Posts: 592
Default

Yup

It's like I was originally reporting, there is defo something wrong here with the horizon and mine is not fixed (well not the last time I checked)

The difficulty is that with only some seeing this problem it makes it hard for ED to check it out

It's annoying as I can no longer fly the Dora IFR

My only hope is more do like you and anybody with it reports it

I'm not holding my breath for a fix
Weegie is offline  
Old 07-12-2019, 08:28 PM   #4
iFoxRomeo
Member
 
Join Date: Jun 2013
Posts: 496
Default

Yeah, the Horizon indicator freezes. It can be unfrozen for a moment by caging und uncaging it while trimming the elevator.

Fox
iFoxRomeo is offline  
Old 07-14-2019, 08:14 AM   #5
wju
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Apr 2018
Location: Czechia, EU
Posts: 21
Default

I can confirm - horizon freezes

:-(
wju is offline  
Old 07-14-2019, 08:28 AM   #6
BIGNEWY
Moderator
 
BIGNEWY's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2011
Location: UK
Posts: 15,518
Default

Hi

Yes it is reported, but I can not give you a estimate currently on a fix.

thanks
__________________
Windows 10 Pro x64, NVIDIA PALIT 1080 8GB, INTEL i7 4790K @4.4 GHz( Cooled by H100i ), 32GB DDR3 @1866 , Asus Z97-AR, TM Warthog, Jet provost rudder pedals, DELL Visor WMR
Forum rules - Crash advice - Cleanup and repair - Discord BIGNEWY#8703
BIGNEWY is offline  
Old 07-15-2019, 07:38 AM   #7
LeCuvier
Senior Member
 
Join Date: May 2013
Location: South of France
Posts: 1,478
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by BIGNEWY View Post
Hi
Yes it is reported, but I can not give you a estimate currently on a fix.
thanks
So the issue has been recognized. That's good news, even if a fix is not imminent. We have learned to be patient.
__________________
LeCuvier
Windows 10 Pro 64Bit | i7-4790 CPU |16 GB RAM|SSD System Disk|SSD Gaming Disk| MSI GTX-1080 Gaming 8 GB| Acer XB270HU | TM Warthog HOTAS | VKB Gladiator Pro | MongoosT-50 | MFG Crosswind Pedals | TrackIR 5
LeCuvier is offline  
Old 08-06-2019, 06:30 AM   #8
wju
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Apr 2018
Location: Czechia, EU
Posts: 21
Default

seems to be fixed :-)
wju is offline  
Old 08-06-2019, 10:52 AM   #9
LeCuvier
Senior Member
 
Join Date: May 2013
Location: South of France
Posts: 1,478
Default

Confirm. the Artificial Horizon and the Turn Indicator are working. Thanks ED!
__________________
LeCuvier
Windows 10 Pro 64Bit | i7-4790 CPU |16 GB RAM|SSD System Disk|SSD Gaming Disk| MSI GTX-1080 Gaming 8 GB| Acer XB270HU | TM Warthog HOTAS | VKB Gladiator Pro | MongoosT-50 | MFG Crosswind Pedals | TrackIR 5
LeCuvier is offline  
Closed Thread

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump

All times are GMT. The time now is 03:10 AM. vBulletin Skin by ForumMonkeys. Powered by vBulletin®.
Copyright ©2000 - 2019, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.