Enemy Within Campaign after New update - Page 4 - ED Forums
 


Notices

Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 07-12-2016, 02:27 AM   #31
StandingCow
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2014
Posts: 1,406
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by AstroEma View Post
This is a major problem that should not happen with paid content.
I have not been able to play the campaign anymore since a month or more, waiting for a fix.

I do understand and appreciate all the you guys are doing and all the work that ED is going through but there should be a dedicated team to fix paid campaign related issues.

Just my thoughts.
Cheers,
e.
Have to agree with this, I know it isn't BD's fault at all, but this is more toward ED: When you release paid content like this and bugs that prevent it from working why wouldn't there be a hot fix to at least make them playable? We shouldn't have to wait multiple weeks while on the release version (I understand if this was the beta or alpha, but we are on release version here.).
__________________
i7 6700k - 32 GB RAM - 1080TI

~Moo
StandingCow is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-12-2016, 10:22 AM   #32
Enduro14
Senior Member
 
Enduro14's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2016
Location: Germany
Posts: 1,097
Default

I imagine it's because they have been focusing on 2.5 and everything will most likely have to be revamped for that. Rather 2.5 come quicker than make multiple fixes slowing process down. My opinion anyway.
__________________
Sony 4K 60hz, i7-4770k @4.6, 16gb ram, Gainward Gtx 1080 GLH Edition, Volair simpit. Oculus Rift CV1
Enduro14 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-12-2016, 10:56 AM   #33
StandingCow
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2014
Posts: 1,406
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Enduro14 View Post
I imagine it's because they have been focusing on 2.5 and everything will most likely have to be revamped for that. Rather 2.5 come quicker than make multiple fixes slowing process down. My opinion anyway.
Probably, but if you are gonna sell content you'd expect some support to ensure it works correctly. I know bugs are unavoidable and happen, but this has been broken since 1.5.3 on the stable release. A small hotfix just to correct the AI taxi bug would be good.

I am hearing that another big update (2.5?) is only "weeks" away... so there is that.
__________________
i7 6700k - 32 GB RAM - 1080TI

~Moo
StandingCow is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-12-2016, 11:08 AM   #34
baltic_dragon
3rd Party Campaign Creator
 
baltic_dragon's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2012
Location: I am Polish
Posts: 3,024
Default

That is why I am waiting with my part of the update for the Enemy Within (see page 1 in bugs and problems thread, there are quite a few things to do) - but I want to do it on a stable release not to have to re-work stuff several times. Same goes for the MP missions which will come with that update.
__________________
Released DLC Campaigns
THE ENEMY WITHIN for A-10C (more info) (trailer)
F-15C: THE GEORGIAN WAR for F-15C (more info) (trailer)
M-2000C RED FLAG (more info) (trailer)
baltic_dragon is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-12-2016, 12:10 PM   #35
StandingCow
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2014
Posts: 1,406
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by baltic_dragon View Post
That is why I am waiting with my part of the update for the Enemy Within (see page 1 in bugs and problems thread, there are quite a few things to do) - but I want to do it on a stable release not to have to re-work stuff several times. Same goes for the MP missions which will come with that update.
Yea, probably for the better, don't want to have to fix everything again. I have a "fool's hope" that the new ATC will be in soon and that is why this bug isn't being given high priority.
__________________
i7 6700k - 32 GB RAM - 1080TI

~Moo
StandingCow is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-13-2016, 03:21 AM   #36
Preston
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Jun 2016
Posts: 11
Default

i might just be dumb, or i found a bug on the mission birds of prey. when i was fighting, i got the message that schafer was killed and to rtb, then just second later, he started talking on the radio. when i finished the mission, the debrief in the upper top right showed i rescued him and also that he died. when i looked at the line of things that died, he dosent show up. what is the debrief suposed to say if i do everything right.
i also want to know if how i do on missions affect the outcome of the campaign at all, like is it dynamic?
otherwise i am having a blast with the campaign so far!

Last edited by Preston; 07-13-2016 at 04:31 AM. Reason: Thought of something else to add.
Preston is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-13-2016, 08:56 AM   #37
baltic_dragon
3rd Party Campaign Creator
 
baltic_dragon's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2012
Location: I am Polish
Posts: 3,024
Default

Hey,

Yes, it is likely a bug, but a very rare one. With number of things happening in the mission and triggers attached to them it is almost impossible to get rid of this one. This only happens when Schaefer gets killed exactly in a very short period of time between two different flags kick in (S dead / S alive) - I believe it is precisely one second when one may still be valid and second will start working but not disabling the first one, if it makes sense. Which leads to situation when according to DCS S is both dead and alive in the same time.

When updating the campaign I will try to solve this - perhaps I am wrong and there is something wrong with other triggers which may cause this bug to show more often (though I didn't get reports about it I think yet).

Now on dynamic campaign - there is no dynamic campaign in DCS. You can make the campaign advance (or revert) to a number of predefined missions depending on your score (or to stay at the same stage if your score is 50). Originally I thought about using that but then I decided to have a linear campaign which would let player go through all 21 missions instead of having less missions but more varied campaign (good for replayability though!).

In the future campaigns I will make it semi - dynamic, so if for instance in M3 you don't take out that SAM convoy, in M4 you will first have to loiter and wait until SEAD takes care of it, as it has been deployed and poses a threat. This kind of thing.

I am glad you enjoy the campaign!
__________________
Released DLC Campaigns
THE ENEMY WITHIN for A-10C (more info) (trailer)
F-15C: THE GEORGIAN WAR for F-15C (more info) (trailer)
M-2000C RED FLAG (more info) (trailer)
baltic_dragon is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-13-2016, 09:59 AM   #38
StandingCow
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2014
Posts: 1,406
Default

Hey BD, how many of the missions are broken due to the AI bug currently? I know 2 is, since I got through that can I do others?
__________________
i7 6700k - 32 GB RAM - 1080TI

~Moo
StandingCow is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-13-2016, 10:57 AM   #39
baltic_dragon
3rd Party Campaign Creator
 
baltic_dragon's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2012
Location: I am Polish
Posts: 3,024
Default

I only know about M20. Didn't have time to test all of them (and likely won't because from tomorrow till middle of August I will be away from my flying PC). I checked 2 and 20 which were reported so far...

I understand that the taxi issue has been reported to ED directly (also via RAZBAM, as this bug is affecting the M-2000C campaign which is ready and waiting for release).
__________________
Released DLC Campaigns
THE ENEMY WITHIN for A-10C (more info) (trailer)
F-15C: THE GEORGIAN WAR for F-15C (more info) (trailer)
M-2000C RED FLAG (more info) (trailer)
baltic_dragon is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-25-2016, 08:26 AM   #40
PB0_corse66
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Jun 2016
Posts: 42
Default

Just came back from holidays, and completed (with a lot of sweat for the latest mission :p) the missions 20 & 21.

Bug for M20 is gone

THANKS A LOT BALTIC DRAGON FOR THIS SUPERB CAMPAIGN !!!

Can't wait for the 2000 C one :p
PB0_corse66 is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump

All times are GMT. The time now is 08:19 PM. vBulletin Skin by ForumMonkeys. Powered by vBulletin®.
Copyright ©2000 - 2018, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.