Is there a trick/hack to be able to bind the gunner's seat? - ED Forums
 


Notices

Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 08-20-2019, 05:17 PM   #1
fargo007
Member
 
Join Date: Jul 2017
Posts: 660
Default Is there a trick/hack to be able to bind the gunner's seat?

It seems like this is not bindable, but I remember there was a trick for it that used to work.

I know I can voice attack it, but I'd like to have it bound.

Thanks!
__________________



Are you ready to take your chopper flying skills to the next level?
Then check out http://www.blacksharkden.com/ Or visit us on Discord https://discord.gg/kaayJ5z and talk to some of our awesome pilots today.
fargo007 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-21-2019, 08:58 PM   #2
SMH
Junior Member
 
Join Date: May 2018
Posts: 79
Default

How is the 4 key not bindable? (I'm away from my DCS machine at the moment but I'll take a look and see if I can find what they called it in the Controls Options.)

I wish we could man the rear gunner too. Aside from being able to shoot, it would be valuable for observation. The auto-gunners don't call out bogeys or bandits like they would in reality.
SMH is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-21-2019, 09:06 PM   #3
fargo007
Member
 
Join Date: Jul 2017
Posts: 660
Default

It's just not bindable to a hotas or stick. The box doesn't respond when you click it to bring up the assignment dialog. It does show up as bindable for my cougar MFCD's, but that's not where I want it.
__________________



Are you ready to take your chopper flying skills to the next level?
Then check out http://www.blacksharkden.com/ Or visit us on Discord https://discord.gg/kaayJ5z and talk to some of our awesome pilots today.
fargo007 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-22-2019, 02:52 AM   #4
NOALB
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Feb 2018
Posts: 35
Default

The strange thing about this is that the necessary line of code is already present in the joystick default.lua, just commented out. Search for the line containing "Set Gunner Seat" and you'll find it - all you need to do is delete the leading "--" to match the other lines.
Presumably they had their reason to disallow binding that function to a peripheral, but I have no clue why. So if you uncomment the line just be aware it might possibly cause some other control to break (though it seemed to work fine for me). I should note I also generally delete all the other files besides default.lua because I prefer to set things up myself, so also be aware that some other peripheral's default bindings might interfere.
NOALB is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-22-2019, 05:15 AM   #5
fargo007
Member
 
Join Date: Jul 2017
Posts: 660
Default

Gotta be something else, that still does not enable it by itself.

It gets enabled for my rudder pedals, and the MFCD's, but not the stick or hotas.
__________________



Are you ready to take your chopper flying skills to the next level?
Then check out http://www.blacksharkden.com/ Or visit us on Discord https://discord.gg/kaayJ5z and talk to some of our awesome pilots today.
fargo007 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-22-2019, 07:30 AM   #6
NOALB
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Feb 2018
Posts: 35
Default

Then it must be getting overridden by one of the default profiles provided for some peripherals. Add the code yourself to the file for your device if it isn't already commented out there - for example, Joystick - HOTAS Warthog.lua has the same code on line 244 which should only need to be uncommented to work.
NOALB is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-22-2019, 03:41 PM   #7
fargo007
Member
 
Join Date: Jul 2017
Posts: 660
Default

Thanks, after uncommenting them both, it's now bindable!
__________________



Are you ready to take your chopper flying skills to the next level?
Then check out http://www.blacksharkden.com/ Or visit us on Discord https://discord.gg/kaayJ5z and talk to some of our awesome pilots today.
fargo007 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-22-2019, 06:03 PM   #8
Fri13
Veteran
 
Join Date: Aug 2013
Posts: 3,585
Default

I was just today about to come to ask about the same as restarted to train Mi-8MTv2 again more as KA-50 is so badly broken and likely needs to be waiting that Black Shark 3 comes out until it gets fixed.

I was wondering that why there ain't the rear gunner bindable for HOTAS as VR pilot doesn't fly with a keyboard!
But now luckily I can at least be the door gunner, while not the ramp gunner.

I really hope that ED (ex-Belsimtek) is going to update Mi-8 cockpit and flight model (well, FM at least gets fixed as they said they need to fix all flight models) and while at it, make all the gunner doors possible be seated and all be possible be operated by AI as well (all helicopters).

It is very fun to be able shoot from that door Kord, and ramp gunner position would be likely even more fun as you can fly over the enemies.

If in future we get the Kord and 30mm grenade launcher (if it was mounted?) for human flight crew, it could be amazing!
__________________
i7-8700k, 32GB 2666Mhz DDR4, 2x 2080S SLI 8GB, Oculus Rift S.
i7-8700k, 16GB 2666Mhz DDR4, 1080Ti 11GB, 27" 4K, 65" HDR 4K.
Fri13 is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump

All times are GMT. The time now is 06:02 PM. vBulletin Skin by ForumMonkeys. Powered by vBulletin®.
Copyright ©2000 - 2019, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.