Just getting into DCS - ED Forums

Notices

Old 10-01-2018, 07:10 AM   #1
johnic

Default Just getting into DCS

I’m in the middle of building a pc for DCS and I’m new to sim flying. I do plan on flying with VR headset as well.

My PC build:
I7 8700 CPU
ASUS ROG HERO Mother Board
32 Gb Memory - G. Skill 3200
Asus ROG Strix GTX 1080ti
Samsung Sata 1Tb SSD
Seagate 2 TB 3.5 inch HD
CORAIR AIO Liquid CPU cooler
EVGA 850 Watt power supply

I Plan on getting Thrustmaster Warthog Hotas, Wheel stand pro, pedals (not sure which brand)

Are there any other suggestions ? And are there any pitfalls to installing DCS that I should be cautious of? I’m nervous about getting DCS operating correctly after spending so much on this PC.
johnic is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-01-2018, 07:36 AM   #2
AureliusAugustus

Yes, a few suggestions that might help you:

Purchase either a Samsung 970 Pro or EVO 1 TB Nvme drive to put DCS on. I compared performance in conjunction with a regular Samsung 850 SSD and the performance is nicer. Less stuttering and slightly higher FPS.

Get the Hero Wi-Fi AC version of that ROG board, ...the firmware is better. Less glitches.

In order of ascending quality and precision (based upon what I have owned previously), I would rate pedals as Saitek Pro Flight Rudder Pedals -> CH Pro Pedals -> MFG Crosswind Pedals -> VKB T-Rudder MK IV (no toe breaks but very good precision) -> Slaw Pedals

If you primarily want to fly jets in DCS, the TM Warthog is fine but the stick cannot go to the corners without modding or a custom base (ie... you cannot apply full left roll and full pitch simultaneously) .... this means you cannot perform all needed ACM in a tight fight with a master level online flier. If you want to fly both jets and WW2, then I recommend the CH Fighterstick or TM T-16000m. I used the CH Fighterstick for years until I finally got a VKB Gunfighter.