Lamps & Lightning - ED Forums
 


Notices

Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 11-16-2018, 03:30 PM   #1
Avantar
Junior Member
 
Avantar's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2011
Location: Europe
Posts: 61
Default Lamps & Lightning

Hi guys & gals,

I am working on a night mission in a remote Iranian area and I wonder - is there any way to add lamp posts or any other kind of lightning to the map?

I am building a refinery complex out of static objects but without any kond of lightning it will look very dull at night.

Avantar
__________________
Avantar
My rig: Gigabyte Z170-Gaming K3; 4x8GB HyperX Fury Black 2133MHz DDR4 CL14; Intel Core i7-6700K 4.0 GHz; MSI GTX1080Ti; HOTAS Warthog; MFD Cougar; Track IR 5; Saitek Pro Flight rudder Pedals;
Avantar is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-16-2018, 03:53 PM   #2
Knock-Knock
Senior Member
 
Knock-Knock's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2016
Location: Denmark
Posts: 1,296
Default

You can use the Russian APC Tigr (under unarmed). Its headlights will come on at night time, and then place a bunch of those inside, or just at the edge of the given static buildings. Static units will do the trick, or use AI units with no disperse, if you want to late activate.
Is the only light source Im aware of.

Just be aware that their lights dont come on just as the sun sets, they come on like from 23.00 to 5.00 or something.
__________________
- Jack of many DCS modules, master of none.
- Personal wishlist: A-7E Corsair II, F-35 Draken, F-104 Starfighter, Panavia Tornado IDS.


| MSI Z87-G45 Gaming | i5-4670K @ 4.3Ghz | 16Gb DDR3 1600 | Asus GTX 1070 Strix OC | Samsung 850 Evo 250 & 500Gb | 40" Sony FullHD | Oculus Rift CV1 | Thrustmaster Warthog Stick (19.5cm extension) & Throttle | MFG Crosswind | Windows 7-64 |
Knock-Knock is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-16-2018, 05:12 PM   #3
Rudel_chw
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2013
Location: Antofagasta, Chile
Posts: 2,436
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Avantar View Post
Hi guys & gals,
I am working on a night mission in a remote Iranian area and I wonder - is there any way to add lamp posts or any other kind of lightning to the map?

Hi,
The VirPil Airfield Scenery Mod includes two lights that could fit your need:


Lightower:



Streetlight:



Unfortunately, this Mod was designed for DCS 1.5 and on 2.5 they are a bit dim; but they turn on automatically between 20:00 and 6:00


Quote:
I am building a refinery complex out of static objects but without any kond of lightning it will look very dull at night.

Nice project .. I'd love to see it when you have finished it
Best regards
__________________
For work: iMac mid-2010 of 27" - Core i7 870 - 6 GB DDR3 1333 MHz - ATI HD5670 - SSD 256 GB - HDD 2 TB - macOS High Sierra
For Gaming: 27" Monitor - Ryzen 1500X - 16 GB DDR4 2400 - MSI GTX970 - SSD 384 GB - HDD 8 TB - Windows 8.1 Pro - Thrustmaster HOTAS Cougar - Oculus Rift CV1
Mobile: iPad Pro 12.9" of 128 GB
Rudel_chw is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 11-16-2018, 06:07 PM   #4
moespeeds
Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2017
Posts: 109
Default

Something you might try is to use illum bombs, set them to zero altitude, and a switched condition where they continually keep coming back on. Might give you a good lighting effect.
__________________
Moe "Moespeeds" Colontonio
NJ, USA
vVMA 231
http://www.vvma-231.com/
Looking for a serious Harrier or F18 Squadron?
We are recruiting!
moespeeds is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-17-2018, 12:45 PM   #5
Habu_69
Member
 
Join Date: Jul 2011
Location: USA VA
Posts: 558
Default

GD Parking Lights from Airshow Scenery mod by Grinelli provide bright illumination. Found in Statics/Vehicles.
Habu_69 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-17-2018, 08:54 PM   #6
FullGas
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2018
Location: France
Posts: 8
Default A little gift..

Hello,

if you want something like that (see picture)

I made that few weeks ago.. Just have to :

1> download the zip attached
2> unzip it in your "SavedGame/Mods/tech" folder
3> in the mission editor you find a structure called "Y_Projecteur". You can orient it like a unit with the rotative button

Have fun
Attached Thumbnails
Click image for larger version

Name:	Oil_Rig_lights.jpg
Views:	69
Size:	214.0 KB
ID:	198073  
Attached Files
File Type: zip FG_Projecteur.zip (1.18 MB, 9 views)

Last edited by FullGas; 11-17-2018 at 10:43 PM.
FullGas is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-17-2018, 09:21 PM   #7
Rudel_chw
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2013
Location: Antofagasta, Chile
Posts: 2,436
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by FullGas View Post
.. I made that few weeks ago..

Really useful, thanks a lot, will give it a try tonight
__________________
For work: iMac mid-2010 of 27" - Core i7 870 - 6 GB DDR3 1333 MHz - ATI HD5670 - SSD 256 GB - HDD 2 TB - macOS High Sierra
For Gaming: 27" Monitor - Ryzen 1500X - 16 GB DDR4 2400 - MSI GTX970 - SSD 384 GB - HDD 8 TB - Windows 8.1 Pro - Thrustmaster HOTAS Cougar - Oculus Rift CV1
Mobile: iPad Pro 12.9" of 128 GB
Rudel_chw is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 11-17-2018, 09:34 PM   #8
FullGas
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2018
Location: France
Posts: 8
Default

De nada amigo.

E echo este spot para dar luz initialmente al single FARP. Pero se pude usar no importa donde.

Lo que no se hacer, es controlar este objecto para encender o apagar la luz desde el editor !

sigo buscando..
FullGas is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-17-2018, 11:25 PM   #9
Rudel_chw
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2013
Location: Antofagasta, Chile
Posts: 2,436
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by FullGas View Post
Lo que no se hacer, es controlar este objecto para encender o apagar la luz desde el editor !

Yes, I tested it and while it looks really nice in the dark ...





... it keeps illuminating during the day, casting a whitish shade on the objects; but I can see its use on missions that are night-only


Cheers.
__________________
For work: iMac mid-2010 of 27" - Core i7 870 - 6 GB DDR3 1333 MHz - ATI HD5670 - SSD 256 GB - HDD 2 TB - macOS High Sierra
For Gaming: 27" Monitor - Ryzen 1500X - 16 GB DDR4 2400 - MSI GTX970 - SSD 384 GB - HDD 8 TB - Windows 8.1 Pro - Thrustmaster HOTAS Cougar - Oculus Rift CV1
Mobile: iPad Pro 12.9" of 128 GB
Rudel_chw is online now   Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump

All times are GMT. The time now is 01:57 PM. vBulletin Skin by ForumMonkeys. Powered by vBulletin®.
Copyright ©2000 - 2018, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.