Why does the MiG-29 have two HUDs? - ED Forums
 


Notices

Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 02-16-2017, 07:49 PM   #1
Spades_Neil
Member
 
Spades_Neil's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2010
Posts: 170
Question Why does the MiG-29 have two HUDs?

Okay I mean the second one isn't really a hud per-say, but why doesn't the MiG-29 have a radar display like the Su-27 and Su-33 anymore? I swear it used to in the old games, now it just has a redundant second screen that I don't understand the point of in place of where the radar should be... and it's exactly the same as what's on the HUD already.
Spades_Neil is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-16-2017, 08:20 PM   #2
probad
Senior Member
 
probad's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2016
Posts: 1,696
Default

there are like 3 threads about this at any one time if you actually took care to read the forums.

but just to repeat the answer for the 999th time, the old version wasn't realistic. the irl mig only has a hud repeater, and its far from useless because real pilots aren't tunnelvisioning through the hud all the time.

the phrase is also spelled "per se."
probad is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-17-2017, 03:49 AM   #3
williehayesjr
Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2014
Posts: 154
Default

Probad, I think you are a little hard on Spades Neil. It is answers like that that deterred me from forum participation, years back. Not every one has 22 hours a day to read the DCS forum. If you can not answer the question with some degree of civility, then let someone else answer it. Or, this may sound novel, just be polite.
williehayesjr is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-17-2017, 05:19 AM   #4
joeshenglingyuan
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Feb 2015
Posts: 9
Default

I think at 54: 30 of this vedio may explain the reason of hud repeater. https://youtu.be/M5v_lY7rOwE

Sent from my m1 metal using Tapatalk
joeshenglingyuan is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-17-2017, 05:49 AM   #5
Spades_Neil
Member
 
Spades_Neil's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2010
Posts: 170
Thumbs down

Quote:
Originally Posted by probad View Post
there are like 3 threads about this at any one time if you actually took care to read the forums.

but just to repeat the answer for the 999th time, the old version wasn't realistic. the irl mig only has a hud repeater, and its far from useless because real pilots aren't tunnelvisioning through the hud all the time.

the phrase is also spelled "per se."
Contrary to your beliefs, I do always use the search function before making a thread.

https://forums.eagle.ru/search.php?searchid=14484318

Here is what that page looks like. You know the one thread that mentions a HUD repeater, which I didn't even know what it was until now? It's in German. I don't speak German. I appreciate the information, but I'd also appreciate it if you were a little more understanding that perhaps not everyone who posts is an idiot.

I also don't speak Latin, either.

Quote:
Originally Posted by joeshenglingyuan View Post
I think at 54: 30 of this vedio may explain the reason of hud repeater. https://youtu.be/M5v_lY7rOwE

Sent from my m1 metal using Tapatalk
I'm afraid I don't understand. If it's a two-seater plane, it makes sense to have a display for the rear seat, but the MiG-29S is not a two-seater as far as I am aware. Certainly not the variant in FC3.

Last edited by Spades_Neil; 02-17-2017 at 05:56 AM.
Spades_Neil is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-17-2017, 08:52 AM   #6
Dudikoff
Senior Member
 
Dudikoff's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2004
Location: Croatia / Lebanon
Posts: 1,885
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Spades_Neil View Post
I'm afraid I don't understand. If it's a two-seater plane, it makes sense to have a display for the rear seat, but the MiG-29S is not a two-seater as far as I am aware. Certainly not the variant in FC3.
Are you asking why it's there in the game or why it's there in the real plane?
__________________
i386DX40@42 MHz w/i387 CP, 4 MB RAM (8*512 kB), Trident 8900C 1 MB w/16-bit RAMDAC ISA, Quantum 340 MB UDMA33, SB 16, DOS 6.22 w/QEMM + Win3.11CE, Quickshot 1 btn 2 axis gameport joystick, Numpad as hat. 2 FPH on a good day, 1 FPH avg.

DISCLAIMER: My posts are absolutely useless. Just passing time till DCS: F-14..

Annoyed by my posts? Please consider donating. Once the target sum is reached, I'll be off to somewhere nice I promise not to post from. I'd buy that for a dollar!
Dudikoff is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-17-2017, 12:53 PM   #7
joeshenglingyuan
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Feb 2015
Posts: 9
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Spades_Neil View Post
Contrary to your beliefs, I do always use the search function before making a thread.

https://forums.eagle.ru/search.php?searchid=14484318

Here is what that page looks like. You know the one thread that mentions a HUD repeater, which I didn't even know what it was until now? It's in German. I don't speak German. I appreciate the information, but I'd also appreciate it if you were a little more understanding that perhaps not everyone who posts is an idiot.

I also don't speak Latin, either.



I'm afraid I don't understand. If it's a two-seater plane, it makes sense to have a display for the rear seat, but the MiG-29S is not a two-seater as far as I am aware. Certainly not the variant in FC3.
There is another example, I am pretty sure this one is single sitter. Look at 1: 40 carefully. https://youtu.be/nh76OmJ24v8

Sent from my m1 metal using Tapatalk
joeshenglingyuan is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-17-2017, 01:14 PM   #8
firmek
Senior Member
 
firmek's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2015
Posts: 1,192
Default

@Spades, you can find some more information, including photos and vidoes here:
https://forums.eagle.ru/showthread.php?t=171212
https://forums.eagle.ru/showthread.php?t=158228
https://forums.eagle.ru/showthread.php?t=168862
https://forums.eagle.ru/showthread.php?t=169951
__________________
F/A-18, M-2000C, A-10C, AV-8B, AJS-37 Viggen, F-5E-3, F-86F, MiG-21bis, MiG-15bis, L-39 Albatros, C-101 Aviojet, P-51D, Spitfire LF Mk. IX, Bf 109 4-K, UH-1H, Mi-8, Ka-50, NTTR, Normandy, Persian Gulf... and not enough time to fully enjoy it all
firmek is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-17-2017, 01:32 PM   #9
Ironhand
Veteran
 
Ironhand's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2004
Location: New Hampshire, USA
Posts: 3,475
Default

From the real world manual:
Quote:
The HDD is a TV monitor on the right side of the instrument panel. It displays essentially the same picture as the HUD.
There's no other function mentioned for it. It may be there simply as a backup in case of HUD failure. It does, however, note that it can be brightened sufficiently to be readable in direct sunlight. Perhaps that's not the case with the MiG's HUD?
__________________
http://rsoro.host22.com/Flankertraining_Images/Flankertraining_Banner-1a.jpg

Win 10 Pro x64, ASUS Z97 Pro MoBo, Intel i7-4790K, EVGA GTX 970 4GB, HyperX Savage 16GB, Samsung 850 EVO 250 GB SSD, 2x Seagate Hybrid Drive 2TB Raid 0.
Ironhand is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-17-2017, 03:12 PM   #10
///Rage
Senior Member
 
///Rage's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2005
Location: London, UK
Posts: 2,901
Default

Perhaps it was intended for more functions like the Su27 HDD but never underwent the development necessary.
__________________

www.51bisons.com

51st TS 96.43.128.170
///Rage is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump

All times are GMT. The time now is 10:33 AM. vBulletin Skin by ForumMonkeys. Powered by vBulletin®.
Copyright ©2000 - 2018, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.