No 'Receive Mode' in Mig-21? - ED Forums
 


Notices

Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 01-09-2018, 06:46 PM   #1
Lixma 06
Member
 
Join Date: Feb 2006
Posts: 606
Default No 'Receive Mode' in Mig-21?

Just tried Mig-21 online and discovered there's no 'receive mode' control to filter out the AWACS spam on the radio.

Any chance we could get one in a future update?
Lixma 06 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-09-2018, 07:28 PM   #2
QuiGon
Veteran
 
Join Date: Jul 2013
Location: Germany
Posts: 6,116
Default

Just switch the radio channel?
__________________
Intel i7-4790K @ 4x4GHz + 16 GB DDR3 + ATi Sapphire Vapor-X R9 280X (3 GB VRAM) + Windows 10 64Bit

DCS Panavia Tornado (IDS) really needs to be a thing!

QuiGon is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-09-2018, 08:06 PM   #3
Kang
Member
 
Join Date: Sep 2016
Posts: 312
Default

Indeed, I'm quite sure there are no plans for that. The receive mode switch on the FC3 aircraft is a bit of a workaround for them not having properly operable radios and thus you'd have to hear every single radio transmission on the whole map.
Either switch the channel, as QuiGon suggested, or switch off the radio entirely when you need some peace and quiet.

And yes, I realise that on an AWACS or GCI frequency, especially online, there is a lot of chatter and it can actually get a little strenuous to just figure out which information is meant for you, but that's what good old radio is like.
Kang is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-09-2018, 08:53 PM   #4
Lixma 06
Member
 
Join Date: Feb 2006
Posts: 606
Default

Ahhh....I didn't realise it was an FC3-only thing.

Makes sense, thanks chaps.

So the decision is - do I turn off the radio or accidentally shoot down my AWACS?
Lixma 06 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-11-2018, 06:27 AM   #5
QuiGon
Veteran
 
Join Date: Jul 2013
Location: Germany
Posts: 6,116
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Lixma 06 View Post
Ahhh....I didn't realise it was an FC3-only thing.

Makes sense, thanks chaps.

So the decision is - do I turn off the radio or accidentally shoot down my AWACS?
I would recommend to just turn off the radio or switch channel. Shooting down friendlies is a bad option, especially in MP where you can get banned for that.
Or even better: Keep it on, listen to the calls and get some easy kills in the process
__________________
Intel i7-4790K @ 4x4GHz + 16 GB DDR3 + ATi Sapphire Vapor-X R9 280X (3 GB VRAM) + Windows 10 64Bit

DCS Panavia Tornado (IDS) really needs to be a thing!

QuiGon is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-06-2018, 11:35 PM   #6
Fri13
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2013
Posts: 2,118
Default

Shouldn't there be a specific channels for specific flights, so AWACS/GCI is not continually flooding everyones channels, or sending guidance codes to everyone etc?

Then the AWACS/GCI should be the one that does the broadcast to everyone when the situation requires such thing... At least that is how real communication radios work. You can build a specific broadcast channels to be used when needed so you don't need to adjust all specifically for each frequency and channel.
__________________
i7-8700k, 32GB 2666Mhz DDR4, 2x 1080Ti SLI 11GB, Oculus CV1.
i7-8700k, 16GB 2666Mhz DDR4, 1080Ti 11GB, 27" 4K, 60" HDR 4K.
Fri13 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-09-2018, 04:42 PM   #7
Bogey Jammer
Member
 
Bogey Jammer's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2015
Location: France
Posts: 407
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Fri13 View Post
Shouldn't there be a specific channels for specific flights, so AWACS/GCI is not continually flooding everyones channels, or sending guidance codes to everyone etc?
I would love to learn about that part of Warsaw Pact's doctrine. But I'm afraid that DCS would never implement it correctly…
__________________
I own :
FC3 МиГ-21бис МиГ-15бис Ми-8МТВ2 Mirage 2000C Ka-50 F-5E Bf109K-4 SA342 A-10C
I'll buy :
МиГ-23МЛД МиГ-27К МиГ-25 F-14A F/A-18 Mirage III F-4E A6M2 1950' Korea Dynamic campaign module

Running DCS 1.5.8 until costs of hardware required to run 2.5 smoothly in VR mode drop to a reasonable level.
Bogey Jammer is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-09-2018, 07:26 PM   #8
Kang
Member
 
Join Date: Sep 2016
Posts: 312
Default

Well, you could design your mission to feature that to some extent by having multiple EWR units operating on different radio frequencies and briefing your flights to only contact 'their' radar, I guess.
They might still spam broadcasts to other flights, though, sometimes, and quite frankly a more pressing issue, especially for the MiG-21 would be for the GCI AI to improve in general. Quite often they don't give you any information at all on a target they must be seeing clear as day in your vicinity because they are too busy reading out updates on something barely popping over the hills on the other side of the country. But I appreciate that this is just not easy to program.
Kang is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-10-2018, 03:59 PM   #9
Bogey Jammer
Member
 
Bogey Jammer's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2015
Location: France
Posts: 407
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Kang View Post
But I appreciate that this is just not easy to program.
Not really. They just have to update the last message only to the message queue of 2 items max, instead of expanding it by appending and force to announce every obsolete message of the queue to the end.
__________________
I own :
FC3 МиГ-21бис МиГ-15бис Ми-8МТВ2 Mirage 2000C Ka-50 F-5E Bf109K-4 SA342 A-10C
I'll buy :
МиГ-23МЛД МиГ-27К МиГ-25 F-14A F/A-18 Mirage III F-4E A6M2 1950' Korea Dynamic campaign module

Running DCS 1.5.8 until costs of hardware required to run 2.5 smoothly in VR mode drop to a reasonable level.
Bogey Jammer is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-10-2018, 08:15 PM   #10
Kang
Member
 
Join Date: Sep 2016
Posts: 312
Default

Well, true, that would reduce the spam. But I meant there is also a trickier problem about the GCI contact priorities.

They love to be all: «Oh my! There's an enemy group! Bearing 290, 180km at 500m!» and that sort of lets them slip on the «Oh, and by the way, there's a Phantom coming at you from 180, less than 10km away, you might want to check that out at some time.»
Kang is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump

All times are GMT. The time now is 01:14 AM. vBulletin Skin by ForumMonkeys. Powered by vBulletin®.
Copyright ©2000 - 2018, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.