Does anyone have the massive FPS drop when radar on at low alt? - ED Forums
 


Notices

Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 05-24-2019, 03:38 AM   #1
Fynek
Junior Member
 
Join Date: May 2019
Location: France/Poland
Posts: 51
Default Does anyone have the massive FPS drop when radar on at low alt?

Hello,

I wanted to ask if I am the only one who has a very annoying bug that makes my FPS go from 60+ to below 10fps when i turn my radar on at low altitude in the Mirage 2000c.

I dont have this bug with any other module and when i searched on google for a fix, i ended up on this thread :https://forums.eagle.ru/showthread.php?t=171415&page=6

However it is in the F5E Tiger forum and not in the Mirage one, therefore to increase the chance of eventually fixing this serious bug on my end, I thought it would be useful to first ask if anyone has this bug before i post in the bug report section.

When i turn my radar on up high ,i have no issue. When i lock someone i have no issue. But when i fly very close to the ground or at very low altitude and turn my radar on, my fps drop like crazy to below 11fps. As soon as i turn off my radar they go back to normal to 60fps.

Anyone experienced this problem?
For info, my cpu is AMD Ryzen5 2400g, with Nvidia GTX1060 6gb and RAM is 16gb.

Thank you for your help.

Last edited by Fynek; 05-24-2019 at 03:41 AM.
Fynek is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-24-2019, 04:18 AM   #2
XtraChrisP
Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2013
Location: Boston MA
Posts: 191
Default

Yes. There's another thread about this, sorry I'm too lazy right now to get you a link, but poke around a little and you'll find it. It has to do with radalt at low altitude. Turn your radalt off and your framerate should be fine.
XtraChrisP is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-24-2019, 05:33 AM   #3
viper2097
Member
 
viper2097's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2019
Location: Austria - LOXZ
Posts: 891
Default

https://forums.eagle.ru/showthread.php?t=230460
__________________
Steam user - Singleplayer & on GAW, TTI, Cold War, Just Dogfight, 99th & 104th server.
Aircrafts: TF-51, Su-25T, M2000C, Su-27, F/A-18C, F-14, Su-33, MiG-29, AV-8B, FW190 D-9, AJS-37, F-15C, A-10C, Mig-21bis, UH-1H, F-5E
Maps: Caucasus, Persian Gulf, NTTR, Normandy, WWII Assets Pack
System: i7-4790K@4.5GHz, 32GB Ram, Strix 1080 8GB, M.2 SSD, Win10Pro, 27" 1080p curved S27D590
Equipment: TrackIR 5 w/ Trackclip Pro, TM Warthog HOTAS, TFRP pedals
viper2097 is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 05-24-2019, 10:42 AM   #4
Fynek
Junior Member
 
Join Date: May 2019
Location: France/Poland
Posts: 51
Default

Thank you very much!
Fynek is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-24-2019, 09:01 PM   #5
Fynek
Junior Member
 
Join Date: May 2019
Location: France/Poland
Posts: 51
Default

I have found another issue that can drop my FPS from 60+ to minus 10fps.

I was playing the Mirage campaign mission #2 today. I aligned my INS and proceeded to fly the mission but at some point, when i switch to D/RLT on the PCN switch, my fps suddenly dropped like crazy to below 10, slideshow.

Moving the knob to any other position fixed it. It is not game breaking since this position is supposed to give you distance to waypoint and heading which i can read on the HSI anyway, but I don't know if it has been reported, i checked right now in bug reports and did not find it.

The first issue with radar alt would be more urgent because it is quite useful in low visibilty.. Would be really nice if they look at it.
Fynek is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-24-2019, 09:34 PM   #6
jojo
Veteran
 
jojo's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2008
Location: France
Posts: 3,264
Default

I think I saw both already reported.
But if you want to get it checked you need to provide a track.

I'm using radio alt, PCN and never got it to hit my fps.

I believe you, just the dev need the track to assess what is happening in the sim.
__________________
Flickr gallery:
https://www.flickr.com/gp/71068385@N02/728Hbi
jojo is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-24-2019, 10:01 PM   #7
Fynek
Junior Member
 
Join Date: May 2019
Location: France/Poland
Posts: 51
Default

Thank you for your reply Jojo, I will replay this mission and try to provide a track.

It only happened to me once so far, the first time today actually ( I am new to DCS, since 2 weeks only) but it is nice to hear that it may have been reported before which implies that Razbam are aware of this minor issue.


EDIT : I flew this mission again tonight to try to reproduce the problem and post a track but I did not have the huge drop in FPS by switching to D/RLT this time. I only had a small drop. Could be an one off or else i did not reproduce the conditions of my earlier flight when i had this issue. Hmm strange.. but a good news either way, as it means it is not as bad as i thought if i cannot reproduce this issue consistently. If it happens again i'll make sure to save the track.

Last edited by Fynek; 05-25-2019 at 01:43 AM.
Fynek is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump

All times are GMT. The time now is 12:47 PM. vBulletin Skin by ForumMonkeys. Powered by vBulletin®.
Copyright ©2000 - 2019, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.