DCS: Eurofighter Typhoon - Avionics - Page 2 - ED Forums
 


Notices

Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 06-08-2012, 01:34 PM   #11
Ells228
3rd Party Developer
 
Ells228's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2006
Location: London, UK
Posts: 7,356
Send a message via MSN to Ells228
Default

Awww shucks <blushing>
Ells228 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-08-2012, 02:56 PM   #12
VH-SkyHawk+
Posting Rights Revoked
 
Join Date: Aug 2010
Location: Malta
Posts: 85
Send a message via MSN to VH-SkyHawk
Default

my precioooooouuuuuusssssssssss

must have the preciouuussssssssss!
VH-SkyHawk is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-08-2012, 02:58 PM   #13
garengarch
Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2010
Location: Glenfiddich
Posts: 400
Default

Looking forward to this as I can't get the FC2 version working (operator error) !
__________________

i5-4690k @ 4.7/16Gb ram/480Gb SSD/1Tb Seagate/nVidia 1070/Win 10 64 bit Rift. Dell Visor. Cougar Hotas, T-flight pedals.
garengarch is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-08-2012, 03:21 PM   #14
f-18hornet
Campaign Testers
 
f-18hornet's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2006
Location: Czech Republic
Posts: 736
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by WildBillKelsoe View Post
^ and that my friend, is the main purpose of DCS, and ED's existence so far. High fidelity simulators, for combat. We are not asking the impossible, here, you see. Whichever aircraft you have 100% access to simulate, doesn't matter old or new, we will purchase, so long as it's on par with A-10C fidelity, BS fidelity...
+1.
__________________
f-18hornet is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-11-2012, 09:40 PM   #15
Mastiff
Veteran
 
Mastiff's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2009
Location: Mars
Posts: 4,221
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Ells228 View Post
Hi Phant,
As you say many of the systems are still classified and it is very early to give an estimate based on the data we already have.

Our aim of course is to be 100% acurate, but with systems classified this just may not be possible and will have to based on available data and our engineers best guess in wind tunnels etc.

All I can say at the moment is that we are working on other avenues that may give us more access to data.
yes just build a 1:24th scale model, make a wind tunnel and then make your own data?
__________________
" any failure you meet is never a defeat; merely a set up for a greater comeback "
"I Don't Use Mods."
Asus z370 MX||i7x8700k||ddr4-32gb PC3200||RTX 2080-8gb||AX1200 Corsair||turtle beach elite pro 7.1||Win10x64||TrackIr 4/ir||VKB,MCG\ViRpiL,T50cm|MFG CrossWinds||X55 Throttle||G15 Keyboard/Mouse|| Rift VR
32 Samsung|| 1x9inc||
Mastiff is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-12-2012, 11:45 AM   #16
Ells228
3rd Party Developer
 
Ells228's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2006
Location: London, UK
Posts: 7,356
Send a message via MSN to Ells228
Default

Yep that's already being discussed with our engineer.
Ells228 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-12-2012, 05:54 PM   #17
159th_Falcon
Senior Member
 
159th_Falcon's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2009
Location: Den Helder, The Netherlands
Posts: 2,025
Default

Please note though, aerodynamics on a small scale aircraft work a bit different then on the actual aircraft.

Not that this makes it impossible, just need to keep it in mind and adjust accordingly.

(this is the reason why flying scale model aircraft often have either slightly different profiles, or are a b*tch to fly)

~S~
__________________

Quote:
Originally Posted by cichlidfan View Post
The keeper of all mathematical knowledge and the oracle of flight modeling.
159th_Falcon is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-12-2012, 06:07 PM   #18
WildFire
Member
 
WildFire's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2011
Location: All over the US
Posts: 404
Default

I'd imagine it would be difficult to match the weight and get the proper config for the exact thrust to weight ratio with the engine. And trying also to match the center of gravity and all that jazz... Sounds like a tough gig.
WildFire is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-12-2012, 08:00 PM   #19
F l a n k e r
Member
 
F l a n k e r's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2004
Location: Italy
Posts: 367
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by 159th_Falcon View Post
Please note though, aerodynamics on a small scale aircraft work a bit different then on the actual aircraft.

Not that this makes it impossible, just need to keep it in mind and adjust accordingly.

(this is the reason why flying scale model aircraft often have either slightly different profiles, or are a b*tch to fly)

~S~
Yep, adimensional parameters in the Navier-Stokes equation, but I think an engineer knows it.
F l a n k e r is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-12-2012, 09:19 PM   #20
159th_Falcon
Senior Member
 
159th_Falcon's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2009
Location: Den Helder, The Netherlands
Posts: 2,025
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by F l a n k e r View Post
Yep, adimensional parameters in the Navier-Stokes equation, but I think an engineer knows it.
Never hearth of Navier-Strokes equation......
gonna look it up.
__________________

Quote:
Originally Posted by cichlidfan View Post
The keeper of all mathematical knowledge and the oracle of flight modeling.
159th_Falcon is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump

All times are GMT. The time now is 09:12 PM. vBulletin Skin by ForumMonkeys. Powered by vBulletin®.
Copyright ©2000 - 2018, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.