Chrome livery? - ED Forums
 


Notices

Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 10-27-2018, 03:53 AM   #1
hughlb
Member
 
hughlb's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2015
Location: Adelaide, South Australia
Posts: 439
Default Chrome livery?

I am trying to replicate the chrome texture, found on the rear of the fuselage (nozzles), across the entire fuselage. I can achieve this in the model viewer, but in-game, the fuselage looks glossy but painted, not chrome/metallic. I have looked extensively at the spec maps, and I can't see anything different on the R, G, B channels for the nozzles compared to the rest of the airframe. Does anyone have any suggestions about how to achieve a chrome look for the rest of the airframe?
__________________
| Windows 10 | I7 4790K @ 4.4ghz | Asus PG348Q | Asus Strix 1080TI | 16GB Corsair Vengeance 2400 DDR3 | Asrock Fatal1ty Z97 | Samsung EVO 850 500GB (x2) | SanDisk 240GB Extreme Pro | Coolermaster Vanguard S 650Watt 80+ | Fractal Design R4 | VirPil T-50 | MFG Crosswind Graphite | KW-908 JetSeat Sim Edition | TrackIR 5 |

hughlb is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-27-2018, 04:39 AM   #2
Vitormouraa
Veteran
 
Vitormouraa's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2014
Location: SC, Brazil
Posts: 3,366
Default

Read this PBR guide by Skate, it might help you out.

https://forums.eagle.ru/showthread.php?t=193596
__________________


SplashOneGaming is a community of viewers, players, and content creators built on combat flight simulation. Flowing through our veins is years of flight simulation experience in a multitude of different platforms. We welcome and encourage all of you to join us, whether you are seasoned or green, looking to learn, teach, or just trying to find someone to fly with.
Discord
Website
Vitormouraa is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-27-2018, 10:26 AM   #3
hughlb
Member
 
hughlb's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2015
Location: Adelaide, South Australia
Posts: 439
Default

Yes I am familiar with Skate's guide. It would appear that renaming the map to "RoughMet", and changing the channel from "2" to "13" does detect the RoughMet, however regardless of changes to the map, it looks the same. Is the F-5 governed by a json file that is overruling my spec map changes?
__________________
| Windows 10 | I7 4790K @ 4.4ghz | Asus PG348Q | Asus Strix 1080TI | 16GB Corsair Vengeance 2400 DDR3 | Asrock Fatal1ty Z97 | Samsung EVO 850 500GB (x2) | SanDisk 240GB Extreme Pro | Coolermaster Vanguard S 650Watt 80+ | Fractal Design R4 | VirPil T-50 | MFG Crosswind Graphite | KW-908 JetSeat Sim Edition | TrackIR 5 |


Last edited by hughlb; 10-27-2018 at 11:39 AM.
hughlb is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-19-2018, 05:56 AM   #4
SkateZilla
Moderator/ED Testers Team
 
SkateZilla's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2012
Location: Virginia Beach
Posts: 18,206
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by hughlb View Post
Yes I am familiar with Skate's guide. It would appear that renaming the map to "RoughMet", and changing the channel from "2" to "13" does detect the RoughMet, however regardless of changes to the map, it looks the same. Is the F-5 governed by a json file that is overruling my spec map changes?
F-5E uses JSON and Speculars
__________________
Windows 7 Ult. 64, HAF922, FX8350 @ 5.31GHz H100 Cooled, 16GB DDR3-2133 GSkill,
2x R7970 Lightnings Crossfired @ 1.1/6.0GHz, Creative XFi Plat. Fatal1ty Champion,
3x ASUS VS248HP + Hanns·G HZ201HPB + Acer AL2002 (5760x1080+1600x900+1680x1050)
TM Warthog HOTAS, TM MFDs, CH Fighterstick, Pro Throttle, CH Pro Pedals, TrackIR4 Pro
SkateZilla is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump

All times are GMT. The time now is 01:33 PM. vBulletin Skin by ForumMonkeys. Powered by vBulletin®.
Copyright ©2000 - 2018, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.