The DCS Updater GUI Utility - Page 67 - ED Forums
 


Notices

Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 10-19-2018, 11:17 AM   #661
NeilWillis
Veteran
 
Join Date: Jun 2013
Location: United Kingdom
Posts: 4,612
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Salsam View Post
@SkateZilla, maybe I've missed it in the thread above, but how come, every time I start GUI utility, I need to click SETTINGS and then "Verify DCS install and saved games folders" in order to get the LAUNCH and/or VR ON/OFF buttons to work?
Ive got 2 green lights at Status from the start.
Its not that it annoys me as much as Im starting to thing I've missed some kind of settings.
Are you running the program as an administrator? If not, it won't save the settings.
NeilWillis is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-19-2018, 10:57 PM   #662
=Panther=
Member
 
=Panther='s Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2008
Location: Las Vegas
Posts: 562
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by NeilWillis View Post
Are you running the program as an administrator? If not, it won't save the settings.
Runs just fine without running as admin, no issues saving settings.
__________________

Virtual Thunderbirds, LLC | Sponsored by Thrustmaster

Twitch Channel
ASUS ROG MAXIMUS VIII HERO, i7 6700k, G.SKILL Ripjaws V Series 32GB, 1080ti 11GB, Obutto R3Volution, Thrustmaster HOTAS Warthog, TPR, Cougar MFDs, JetSeat, Oculus Rift cv1, Buddy-Fox A-10C UFC
=Panther= is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-28-2018, 04:14 AM   #663
hAirypAulsAck
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Sep 2016
Posts: 11
Default

@skatezilla well wasn't a big issue, point was that i was left with a 0b file and had no knowledge of a backed up file. Mind you this was back in the last release that used the SZGS Mini Updater, basically it hangs on the restarting application portion, but I gather this is all irrelevant as of now as you don't appear to be using the mini updater anymore.
hAirypAulsAck is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-29-2018, 03:32 AM   #664
SkateZilla
Moderator/ED Testers Team
 
SkateZilla's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2012
Location: Virginia Beach
Posts: 18,204
Default

SZGS Mini Updater is still being used in the new version(s), Just differently.

The issue was the App was not allowed to over-write itself, So it would hang. and then delete everything when it closed.
__________________
Windows 7 Ult. 64, HAF922, FX8350 @ 5.31GHz H100 Cooled, 16GB DDR3-2133 GSkill,
2x R7970 Lightnings Crossfired @ 1.1/6.0GHz, Creative XFi Plat. Fatal1ty Champion,
3x ASUS VS248HP + Hanns·G HZ201HPB + Acer AL2002 (5760x1080+1600x900+1680x1050)
TM Warthog HOTAS, TM MFDs, CH Fighterstick, Pro Throttle, CH Pro Pedals, TrackIR4 Pro
SkateZilla is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-29-2018, 06:15 AM   #665
calys
Member
 
calys's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2011
Posts: 139
Default

Could you insert the 'turn off the computer after updating' function?
__________________


S.O: Win7 64bit
MB: ASUS P8H67
(Audio card integrated)
CPU: INTEL Core i7 2600 3.4Ghz 8MB
GPU: nVidia GTX1080Ti 8GB
HD: Western Digital 1000GB 7200rpm 8MB
RAM: DDR3 1600Mhz 16GB Corsair
Accessories: Hotas Saitek X52

Alim: 850 watt Corsair 850TXEU
calys is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-31-2018, 06:17 PM   #666
Svsmokey
Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2017
Location: Dystrumpia
Posts: 750
Default

Bump
__________________
I5-6500 3.2ghz cpu, 16 gb ddr4-2133mhz , Asrock H170M PRO4 , 128gb & 240gb ssd's , 1tb hdd , EVGA 1070 FE , TiR5 , BenQ 1080p monitor , CH hotas and pedals

"Hold my beer"
Svsmokey is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-10-2018, 12:32 AM   #667
Cellvictor
Junior Member
 
Cellvictor's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2014
Location: Sydney, Australia
Posts: 32
Default

Hello SkateZilla.
Apologies in advance because I'm experiencing problems that have been documented before but I am not PC savvy and need help.
I successfully installed and ran the utility once.
Now I get the .net framework error when I run:



And here is the log:

See the end of this message for details on invoking
just-in-time (JIT) debugging instead of this dialog box.

************** Exception Text **************
System.IO.FileNotFoundException: Could not find file 'E:\Eagle Dynamics\DCS World Beta 2.5/Config/Options.lua'.
File name: 'E:\Eagle Dynamics\DCS World Beta 2.5/Config/Options.lua'
at Microsoft.VisualBasic.FileSystem.FileCopy(String Source, String Destination)
at DCSUpdaterUtility.Form_Main.FolderScanAndVerify()
at DCSUpdaterUtility.Form_Main.Form1_Load(Object sender, EventArgs e)
at System.EventHandler.Invoke(Object sender, EventArgs e)
at System.Windows.Forms.Form.OnLoad(EventArgs e)
at System.Windows.Forms.Form.OnCreateControl()
at System.Windows.Forms.Control.CreateControl(Boolean fIgnoreVisible)
at System.Windows.Forms.Control.CreateControl()
at System.Windows.Forms.Control.WmShowWindow(Message& m)
at System.Windows.Forms.Control.WndProc(Message& m)
at System.Windows.Forms.ScrollableControl.WndProc(Message& m)
at System.Windows.Forms.Form.WmShowWindow(Message& m)
at System.Windows.Forms.Form.WndProc(Message& m)
at System.Windows.Forms.Control.ControlNativeWindow.OnMessage(Message& m)
at System.Windows.Forms.Control.ControlNativeWindow.WndProc(Message& m)
at System.Windows.Forms.NativeWindow.Callback(IntPtr hWnd, Int32 msg, IntPtr wparam, IntPtr lparam)


************** Loaded Assemblies **************
mscorlib
Assembly Version: 4.0.0.0
Win32 Version: 4.7.3190.0 built by: NET472REL1LAST_C
CodeBase: file:///C:/Windows/Microsoft.NET/Framework/v4.0.30319/mscorlib.dll
----------------------------------------
DCS Updater Utility
Assembly Version: 1.1.0.1010
Win32 Version: 9.13.2018
CodeBase: file:///C:/Program%20Files%20(x86)/DCS%20Updater%20Utility/DCS%20Updater%20Utility.exe
----------------------------------------
Microsoft.VisualBasic
Assembly Version: 10.0.0.0
Win32 Version: 14.7.3056.0 built by: NET472REL1
CodeBase: file:///C:/WINDOWS/Microsoft.Net/assembly/GAC_MSIL/Microsoft.VisualBasic/v4.0_10.0.0.0__b03f5f7f11d50a3a/Microsoft.VisualBasic.dll
----------------------------------------
System
Assembly Version: 4.0.0.0
Win32 Version: 4.7.3190.0 built by: NET472REL1LAST_C
CodeBase: file:///C:/WINDOWS/Microsoft.Net/assembly/GAC_MSIL/System/v4.0_4.0.0.0__b77a5c561934e089/System.dll
----------------------------------------
System.Core
Assembly Version: 4.0.0.0
Win32 Version: 4.7.3190.0 built by: NET472REL1LAST_C
CodeBase: file:///C:/WINDOWS/Microsoft.Net/assembly/GAC_MSIL/System.Core/v4.0_4.0.0.0__b77a5c561934e089/System.Core.dll
----------------------------------------
System.Windows.Forms
Assembly Version: 4.0.0.0
Win32 Version: 4.7.3056.0 built by: NET472REL1
CodeBase: file:///C:/WINDOWS/Microsoft.Net/assembly/GAC_MSIL/System.Windows.Forms/v4.0_4.0.0.0__b77a5c561934e089/System.Windows.Forms.dll
----------------------------------------
System.Drawing
Assembly Version: 4.0.0.0
Win32 Version: 4.7.3056.0 built by: NET472REL1
CodeBase: file:///C:/WINDOWS/Microsoft.Net/assembly/GAC_MSIL/System.Drawing/v4.0_4.0.0.0__b03f5f7f11d50a3a/System.Drawing.dll
----------------------------------------
System.Configuration
Assembly Version: 4.0.0.0
Win32 Version: 4.7.3056.0 built by: NET472REL1
CodeBase: file:///C:/WINDOWS/Microsoft.Net/assembly/GAC_MSIL/System.Configuration/v4.0_4.0.0.0__b03f5f7f11d50a3a/System.Configuration.dll
----------------------------------------
System.Xml
Assembly Version: 4.0.0.0
Win32 Version: 4.7.3056.0 built by: NET472REL1
CodeBase: file:///C:/WINDOWS/Microsoft.Net/assembly/GAC_MSIL/System.Xml/v4.0_4.0.0.0__b77a5c561934e089/System.Xml.dll
----------------------------------------
System.Runtime.Remoting
Assembly Version: 4.0.0.0
Win32 Version: 4.7.3056.0 built by: NET472REL1
CodeBase: file:///C:/WINDOWS/Microsoft.Net/assembly/GAC_MSIL/System.Runtime.Remoting/v4.0_4.0.0.0__b77a5c561934e089/System.Runtime.Remoting.dll
----------------------------------------

************** JIT Debugging **************
To enable just-in-time (JIT) debugging, the .config file for this
application or computer (machine.config) must have the
jitDebugging value set in the system.windows.forms section.
The application must also be compiled with debugging
enabled.

For example:

<configuration>
<system.windows.forms jitDebugging="true" />
</configuration>

When JIT debugging is enabled, any unhandled exception
will be sent to the JIT debugger registered on the computer
rather than be handled by this dialog box.

Last edited by Cellvictor; 11-10-2018 at 12:34 AM.
Cellvictor is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-11-2018, 01:36 AM   #668
hansangb
Veteran
 
hansangb's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2013
Location: New York
Posts: 3,481
Default

Question on setting up multiple configs (different resolutions, different system settings etc)


In the instructions, it states "-Click Browse, and Select your /DCS.<build>/ Saved Games Folder, for the first Build Slot, (repeat for 2-6 if you are managing more installs)"



So if I wanted to have different configurations, resolutions etc, I should
1) copy the current USERS\SAVED GAMES folder to USERS"Config1-SavedGames"
2) in the utilities "Saved Games Folder Path" point it to "USERS\Config1-SavedGames"


Is that right?



It seems to pass the "VERIFY DCS Install and Saved Games folder. But wasn't sure.
__________________
hsb
HW Spec in Spoiler
---
Spoiler:
i7-8700K Delid/OC'ed to 5.1GHz, EVGA Z370 MB, 32GB DDR4 3200MHz, EVGA 2080 Ti FTW3, NVMe+SSD, Win 10 x64 Pro, MFG, JetSeat, Warthog, TM MFDs, Komodo Huey set, CV1
hansangb is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-12-2018, 02:33 PM   #669
SkateZilla
Moderator/ED Testers Team
 
SkateZilla's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2012
Location: Virginia Beach
Posts: 18,204
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Cellvictor View Post
Hello SkateZilla.
Apologies in advance because I'm experiencing problems that have been documented before but I am not PC savvy and need help.
I successfully installed and ran the utility once.
Now I get the .net framework error when I run:

Caused By pointing the DCS Saved Games Folder to a DCS Folder.
There is no Options.lua in the DCS World Program Folder.

I may put more protection against this and exeption catches.

Quote:
Originally Posted by hansangb View Post
Question on setting up multiple configs (different resolutions, different system settings etc)


In the instructions, it states "-Click Browse, and Select your /DCS.<build>/ Saved Games Folder, for the first Build Slot, (repeat for 2-6 if you are managing more installs)"



So if I wanted to have different configurations, resolutions etc, I should
1) copy the current USERS\SAVED GAMES folder to USERS"Config1-SavedGames"
2) in the utilities "Saved Games Folder Path" point it to "USERS\Config1-SavedGames"


Is that right?



It seems to pass the "VERIFY DCS Install and Saved Games folder. But wasn't sure.
This would work in theory (having all builds use the same saved games folder). But you'd have to use a DCS saved games folder and not a Custom folder. as DCS itself would not see the folder without some modding. using DCS Variant TXT Method. in Which case folder name would be "DCS.<variantname>"

I point all my 2.5 installs to the same Saved Games folder in DCS and the App.

But pointing greatly differing Versions (ie 1.5, 2.0 and 2.5) or even 2.5 Early Versions and 2.5 Current Versions to the Same Saved Games path is not recommended as Values and Database Sections of the Files Change from version to version, along with Module Input and Input Function IDs.

In the future I will likely change the "source" of the Options.Preset01 Files from the Individual Saved Games folders to the /Saved Games/DCS Updater Utility/ Folder, allowing the same Presets to be used across all builds.

But the issue of Vastly different builds still comes into play, which is why I havent done it yet.
__________________
Windows 7 Ult. 64, HAF922, FX8350 @ 5.31GHz H100 Cooled, 16GB DDR3-2133 GSkill,
2x R7970 Lightnings Crossfired @ 1.1/6.0GHz, Creative XFi Plat. Fatal1ty Champion,
3x ASUS VS248HP + Hanns·G HZ201HPB + Acer AL2002 (5760x1080+1600x900+1680x1050)
TM Warthog HOTAS, TM MFDs, CH Fighterstick, Pro Throttle, CH Pro Pedals, TrackIR4 Pro

Last edited by SkateZilla; 11-14-2018 at 04:48 PM.
SkateZilla is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-13-2018, 10:20 PM   #670
Cellvictor
Junior Member
 
Cellvictor's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2014
Location: Sydney, Australia
Posts: 32
Default

errr....thanks SkateZilla.
Am I missing something here?
Could you recommend how I can fix the problem so that the utility will work for me?
Cellvictor is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump

All times are GMT. The time now is 12:47 PM. vBulletin Skin by ForumMonkeys. Powered by vBulletin®.
Copyright ©2000 - 2018, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.