Throttle from scratch - ED Forums
 


Notices

Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 08-12-2017, 08:52 PM   #1
Lynx_132a1
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Sep 2016
Posts: 12
Post Throttle from scratch

Hi folks,

I want to make a F-16 style throttle from scratch. I found someone who is capable of carving the throttle grip from wood and we have a deal. But the problem is electronics for me, i don't know where to start. I searched net for some answers but i have nothing. Can it be done with an arduino board like Mega 2560 and a good potentiometer as throttle axis. Also i found BU0836X 12-Bit Joystick Board at bodnar website, would a stick board like this be easier to use for my task?

So to sum up, i found a person to carve me a F-16 Throttle Grip and i can find switches and such from local suppliers but i have problem with integrating the whole setup to DCS and such. I am planning to use a pot as the axis sensor but how can i integrate this to DCS with buttons and such? Which card do i need? Which card would be better and easier?

My best bet is this sub forum i guess as i saw some F-16 threads up. I guess you guys know better from most of the guys at hardware sub forum as I/O is more important for you guys. So

Thank you

P.S. I know we don't have F-16 in DCS but i like the feel of the grip, it feels better for me to use with single engine aircraft.
Lynx_132a1 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-12-2017, 09:16 PM   #2
Lausbub78
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Mar 2013
Posts: 99
Default

I use a BU0836X in my Throttle unit,no problems with conecting buttons and axis to it. It's pretty much straight forward and easy to use. I have no experience with other controler boards, but I imagine they would work well too.
Lausbub78 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-12-2017, 09:35 PM   #3
Lynx_132a1
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Sep 2016
Posts: 12
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Lausbub78 View Post
I use a BU0836X in my Throttle unit,no problems with conecting buttons and axis to it. It's pretty much straight forward and easy to use. I have no experience with other controler boards, but I imagine they would work well too.
So, for example, if i set all my hats and buttons into my grip casing and attach it to a potentiometer (as axis sensor) and connect them to the bodnar card i am pretty much plug an play? I mean after i assign the buttons and such, setting the pot as the axis sensor it is pretty much all i have to do right?
Lynx_132a1 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-12-2017, 10:01 PM   #4
Lausbub78
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Mar 2013
Posts: 99
Default

You just have to connect everything you like to the board. The Board is plug and play with USB. Just remember the Board supports 32 Buttons,1 POV hat and 8 Axis. Your Throttle will be seen as Standard Game Controller by Windows. Every Game that makes use of Joysticks will see the controler aswell.

I might add,the Board is pretty large ca. 12cm x 5cm ,it will not fit into the Grip. You have to find a way to route the wires from the grip to some kind of box which contains the Controler Board.

Last edited by Lausbub78; 08-12-2017 at 10:07 PM.
Lausbub78 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-12-2017, 10:22 PM   #5
Sokol1_br
Veteran
 
Sokol1_br's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2007
Posts: 3,214
Send a message via MSN to Sokol1_br
Default

For ~$ 10 Arduino PRO Micro with MMJoy2 firmware.

Read to use the most affordable is DS 12 bis controller - $39.75 - free shipping.

5 axis > just what F-16 TQS need.
32 buttons

http://www.derekspearedesigns.com/12...ntrollers.html

BDW - Use this parts at start save you a lot of work, specially with switches:

http://www.ebay.com/itm/Trustmaster-...wAAOSw7EJZigFH
Sokol1_br is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-12-2017, 10:48 PM   #6
Lensman
Member
 
Lensman's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2013
Location: Bedford UK
Posts: 144
Default

I use the BU0836X board too, totally plug and play, you don't even need any solder connectors.
As well as the switch and pot inputs you can also connect rotary encoders and led indicators.
__________________
Intel Core i7 6700K @ 4.5GHz. Asus-Z170-PRO MB
CORSAIR H105 HYDRO CPU COOLER.
EVGA GTX 1080Ti FTW3 Elite.
16GB DDR4 2666MHZ HYPERX SAVAGE.
SAMSUNG M.2 SSD 128GB SM951 Boot Drive.
SAMSUNG SSD 500GB EVO Working Drive.
Windows 10 Professional

Last edited by Lensman; 08-13-2017 at 09:18 AM.
Lensman is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-12-2017, 10:55 PM   #7
cichlidfan
Veteran
 
cichlidfan's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2011
Location: Woodbridge,VA,USA
Posts: 19,432
Default

Agreed. The Bodnar board will provide the simplest solution.
__________________
ASUS ROG Maximus VIII Hero, i7-6700K, Noctua NH-D14 Cooler, Crucial 32GB DDR4 2133, Samsung 950 Pro NVMe 256GB, Samsung EVO 250GB & 500GB SSD, 2TB Caviar Black, Zotac GTX 1080 AMP! Extreme 8GB, Corsair HX1000i, Phillips BDM4065UC 40" 4k monitor, VX2258 TouchScreen, TIR 5 w/ProClip, TM Warthog, VKB Gladiator Pro, Saitek X56, et. al., MFG Crosswind Pedals #1199, VolairSim Pit, Rift CV1
cichlidfan is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-13-2017, 08:21 PM   #8
Thadiun Okona
Member
 
Thadiun Okona's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2016
Posts: 238
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Lynx_132a1 View Post
Hi folks,

I want to make a F-16 style throttle from scratch. I found someone who is capable of carving the throttle grip from wood and we have a deal. But the problem is electronics for me, i don't know where to start. I searched net for some answers but i have nothing. Can it be done with an arduino board like Mega 2560 and a good potentiometer as throttle axis. Also i found BU0836X 12-Bit Joystick Board at bodnar website, would a stick board like this be easier to use for my task?

So to sum up, i found a person to carve me a F-16 Throttle Grip and i can find switches and such from local suppliers but i have problem with integrating the whole setup to DCS and such. I am planning to use a pot as the axis sensor but how can i integrate this to DCS with buttons and such? Which card do i need? Which card would be better and easier?

My best bet is this sub forum i guess as i saw some F-16 threads up. I guess you guys know better from most of the guys at hardware sub forum as I/O is more important for you guys. So

Thank you

P.S. I know we don't have F-16 in DCS but i like the feel of the grip, it feels better for me to use with single engine aircraft.
IMO a more sensible starting point is a Cougar throttle grip and print the afterburner trigger/mount for it available here: http://www.checksix-forums.com/downl...1efad4132096c9 (from this thread, which also has the throttle arm and other useful printable bits..)

Thadiun Okona is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-13-2017, 10:24 PM   #9
Fri13
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2013
Posts: 2,516
Default

One vote for Bodnar from here.

Remember that no one is forcing you to use just a single bodnar board, you can use multiple!

When you build a own custom contoller, you can select freely all the buttons, switches, knobs and hats you need and then just get enough those boards as you need to get them connected. Then connect all them to USB HUD and then from there to computer. This way you get a multiple unique USB controllers that you can bind to DCS as wanted (only difference is that you need to know what device you will be binding) and all works.

And that is the amazing thing that such board makes everything so simple. The hardest part really is to get the buttons etc and then make the grip/board/stick and then drill holes, iron the cables to buttons etc and then just plug them to board. So it is the design and decision that you need to do how you want things to be. And if you are doing after F-16 throttle, you already have all the designs done for you, only need to list what you need, buy them, put the throttle together and all works without programming or tweaking with the software one bit.

Yes you can go for Arduino road, but that is something I wouldn't go unless you need something ultra special and complex and enjoy from programming and scripting etc.
Fri13 is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 08-14-2017, 08:58 AM   #10
Duckling
Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2006
Location: Sweden
Posts: 569
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Lynx_132a1 View Post
Hi folks,

I want to make a F-16 style throttle from scratch. ..
Hi Lynx_132a1, why not use an older TM Cougar throttle as base for your build instead ?
Base, grip, switches etc provide what you need. Building a replica from scratch does have an appeal but it is a lot of time and effort needed, just wonder why you roled that option out.

Cost on what avaliable on ebay right now is cracy but both older items and bricked ones pops up from time to time, and there been some HAL conversion kits offered in the sale thread recently if I remember correct.

Best
/Gus
__________________
- - - -
Duckling is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Tags
diy, f-16, f-16c, throttle

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump

All times are GMT. The time now is 08:10 AM. vBulletin Skin by ForumMonkeys. Powered by vBulletin®.
Copyright ©2000 - 2018, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.