Help: Corrupt controls setting menu - ED Forums
 


Notices

Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 03-13-2019, 01:00 AM   #1
fencible
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Mar 2015
Location: Ontario, Canada
Posts: 48
Default Help: Corrupt controls setting menu

I'm having problems with my Huey - it won't start (I've been flying it for many months, but just switched it to DCS Beta stand-alone). I suspected control setting issues, but when I looked in my control setting menu I found duplicated control entries. I've also seen this issue in my MiG-21 module.

Can anyone tell me which file the command settings for a module are stored in, and suggest a way to repair or refresh this file? Running 'DCS_updater repair' command does NOT fix this issue.

Thanks
fencible is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-13-2019, 11:33 PM   #2
FragBum
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Jun 2016
Location: QLD, AUS.
Posts: 2,133
Default

This is "normal" for DCS it will attempt to assign every controller to axis and keys. Just delete the incorrect settings out.

If you still have a backup of your old input cfg's you might be able to drop them back in, else they may well have be overwritten.

They live C:\Users\username \saved games\DCS\config\input
__________________
Control is an illusion which usually shatters at the least expected moment.
Gazelle Mini-gun version is endorphins with rotors. See above.
DCS Rig. ASUS X99Pro i7 5930K@4.7Ghz Ino3D RTX2080Ti@1950MHz 8*8GB DDR4@2.2GHz SSD EVGA 850W G2 Rift CV1 Windows 10Pro bu0836x and Scratch Built Pedals and Collective and Cyclic.
FragBum is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-14-2019, 06:44 AM   #3
Holton181
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Feb 2015
Location: Far north
Posts: 1,167
Default

The duplicated (orange) control entries for my ED modules are gone, including the Huey, since yesterdays beta update. I still have several of them in the Gazelle and Viggen.
__________________
Helicopters and Viggen
DCS 1.5.7 and OpenAlpha
Win7 Pro 64bit
i7-3820 3.60GHz
P9X79 Pro
32GB
GTX 670 2GB
VG278H + a Dell
PFT Lynx
TrackIR 5
Holton181 is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 03-17-2019, 02:19 AM   #4
fencible
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Mar 2015
Location: Ontario, Canada
Posts: 48
Default

This issue has disappeared for me with the newest beta release. Thanks for your help.

....NOT - problem is now back again!

Last edited by fencible; 03-17-2019 at 04:07 PM.
fencible is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-17-2019, 04:06 PM   #5
fencible
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Mar 2015
Location: Ontario, Canada
Posts: 48
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by fencible View Post
This issue has disappeared for me with the newest beta release. Thanks for your help.
...AAAnnnd this issue is now back with the latest Beta release - same corruption in the key bindings with two lines for a single control function. Both lines show as yellow. Something is corrupting the file(s) associated with control bindings in the Huey. I was having similar problem with the MiG-21 and MiG-19 before.
fencible is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-17-2019, 04:50 PM   #6
Holton181
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Feb 2015
Location: Far north
Posts: 1,167
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by fencible View Post
...AAAnnnd this issue is now back with the latest Beta release - same corruption in the key bindings with two lines for a single control function. Both lines show as yellow. Something is corrupting the file(s) associated with control bindings in the Huey. I was having similar problem with the MiG-21 and MiG-19 before.
What version is that? The version I have and had when posting above is 2.5.4.28461, and running the updater (using Skate Zillas tool) doesn't reveal any more resent. As I mentioned above, the duplicates are not present for me anymore.
__________________
Helicopters and Viggen
DCS 1.5.7 and OpenAlpha
Win7 Pro 64bit
i7-3820 3.60GHz
P9X79 Pro
32GB
GTX 670 2GB
VG278H + a Dell
PFT Lynx
TrackIR 5
Holton181 is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 03-18-2019, 04:11 PM   #7
fencible
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Mar 2015
Location: Ontario, Canada
Posts: 48
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Holton181 View Post
What version is that? The version I have and had when posting above is 2.5.4.28461, and running the updater (using Skate Zillas tool) doesn't reveal any more resent. As I mentioned above, the duplicates are not present for me anymore.
I'm seeing this in the current (as of March 18, 2019) version. It was clear when I first flew the Huey, but after that 1st flight, the key-binding issue was back again. Something is corrupting the key-binding menu on me.
fencible is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-18-2019, 06:40 PM   #8
majapahit
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Jul 2009
Posts: 1,108
Default

If it wont repair by itself it means you have to rebind,
or more drastic,


you have to delete either the full saved games <DCS> user dir
or at least the .\saved games\<dcs version>\config folder



which hold the binding definitions for DCS to rebuild the correct updated ones, which will have the usual double bindings for axis that you have to re-configure.
__________________
Autopilot panel | Headtracker | TM HOTAS | G920 HOTAS | Throttle Quadrants | 8600K | GTX 1080 | 32GB RAM| Win 10 x64 | Voicerecognition | 40" 1080p TV | 2x 24" 1080p side monitors | 24" 1080p touchscreen | VR googles
majapahit is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-18-2019, 07:04 PM   #9
Holton181
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Feb 2015
Location: Far north
Posts: 1,167
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by majapahit View Post
If it wont repair by itself it means you have to rebind,
or more drastic,


you have to delete either the full saved games <DCS> user dir
or at least the .\saved games\<dcs version>\config folder



which hold the binding definitions for DCS to rebuild the correct updated ones, which will have the usual double bindings for axis that you have to re-configure.
No, doesn't have anything to do with the Saved Games content. I've tried to remove it completely and no MODs, but still corrupted entries, even many that I never touched/assigned. Now all ED modules are fine for me but still some others got them.
__________________
Helicopters and Viggen
DCS 1.5.7 and OpenAlpha
Win7 Pro 64bit
i7-3820 3.60GHz
P9X79 Pro
32GB
GTX 670 2GB
VG278H + a Dell
PFT Lynx
TrackIR 5
Holton181 is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 03-19-2019, 01:27 AM   #10
majapahit
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Jul 2009
Posts: 1,108
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Holton181 View Post
No, doesn't have anything to do with the Saved Games content. I've tried to remove it completely and no MODs, but still corrupted entries, even many that I never touched/assigned. Now all ED modules are fine for me but still some others got them.
If not the saved games

then the only other place is the default files in install dir

x:\DCS\Mods\aircraft\F-15C\Input

for F15 for instance, and if these are unnoticed in DCS repair, you delete (or rename them .backup or something) and do a DCS repair again, and most likely DCS repair will notice now they're not there


BTW My Huey as a false double command anyway, there seems to be a typo in either the default keyboard or joystick and nothing that can be done, but no harm, so dont care
__________________
Autopilot panel | Headtracker | TM HOTAS | G920 HOTAS | Throttle Quadrants | 8600K | GTX 1080 | 32GB RAM| Win 10 x64 | Voicerecognition | 40" 1080p TV | 2x 24" 1080p side monitors | 24" 1080p touchscreen | VR googles

Last edited by majapahit; 03-19-2019 at 01:30 AM.
majapahit is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump

All times are GMT. The time now is 03:40 PM. vBulletin Skin by ForumMonkeys. Powered by vBulletin®.
Copyright ©2000 - 2019, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.