P-51D throttle quadrant friction mechanism?

Razi

Hello everyone,

I'm going to be attempting to build a P-51D throttle quadrant soon and am just doing my preliminary research. I've been studying all the images I can find, but do not have any real experience pushing aircraft throttles around.

In short, I'm puzzled as to how the friction and tension mechanism in the throttle works as I'm hoping to replicate a semi-real feel. Since I have no experience and no one around locally to help me, I figure my best shot is to understand how the real mechanism works and try to aim for something close to that.

I'm fine with the electronics and computer side, but any help on the mechanical side would be greatly appreciated!

Thanks in advance.

Chuck's DCS Tutorials would be a good place to start.

These are invaluable references.

https://forums.eagle.ru/showthread.php?t=135765

Would like to see your work in progress as I plan on doing a lot of pony-time in the next few months.

Cheers

Asus ROG Maximus Hero Z690-E, i9-13900KF, RTX 4090, Trident Z Neo 64Gb (4x16) DDR5 6600 C32, EVO 980 Pro 2Tb M.2 Nvme SSD, HP Reverb G2, VKB Gunfighter Modern Combat Pro, MFG Crosswind pedals, Virpil MongoosT-50 throttle, Corsair 7000D Airflow Case, 1200W Asus Platinum G+ PSU, Win10 Pro 64 bit

Hello everyone,

I'm going to be attempting to build a P-51D throttle quadrant soon and am just doing my preliminary research. I've been studying all the images I can find, but do not have any real experience pushing aircraft throttles around.

In short, I'm puzzled as to how the friction and tension mechanism in the throttle works as I'm hoping to replicate a semi-real feel. Since I have no experience and no one around locally to help me, I figure my best shot is to understand how the real mechanism works and try to aim for something close to that.

I'm fine with the electronics and computer side, but any help on the mechanical side would be greatly appreciated!

Thanks in advance.