Preflight and pre-startup systems test run - ED Forums
 


Notices

Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 10-01-2019, 04:31 PM   #1
Eaglewings
Member
 
Eaglewings's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2012
Posts: 982
Default Preflight and pre-startup systems test run

Hardly ever run those test for the modules I have and I would fly my aircrafts normally all the time. With exception of times when I want to bask in euphoria of realism, those switches are just reductant.

Would we ever get consequences for failing to run those systems tests during startup?
We the scope of the new damage model address this a increase the realism.?
Eaglewings is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 10-01-2019, 04:36 PM   #2
bbrz
Senior Member
 
bbrz's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2016
Location: Europe
Posts: 1,226
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Eaglewings View Post
Would we ever get consequences for failing to run those systems tests during startup?
Why should you? If you e.g. don't perform the fire warning test IRL there are no consequences either, except the bad feeling that you don't know if it works when you need it.
bbrz is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-01-2019, 04:44 PM   #3
NeilWillis
Veteran
 
Join Date: Jun 2013
Location: United Kingdom
Posts: 4,757
Default

They're there so you can do it correctly. You can shortcut everything - but that's entirely up to you. Of course, you can also run DCS World with random failures - so maybe the checks will save your virtual life some day if you do?
NeilWillis is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-01-2019, 04:54 PM   #4
Eaglewings
Member
 
Eaglewings's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2012
Posts: 982
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by NeilWillis View Post
They're there so you can do it correctly. You can shortcut everything - but that's entirely up to you. Of course, you can also run DCS World with random failures - so maybe the checks will save your virtual life some day if you do?
A bit more craving for deeper realism on side here.
Never really tried the random failures option. Got to try that out and see.

Cheers.
Eaglewings is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 10-02-2019, 04:00 AM   #5
zhukov032186
Senior Member
 
zhukov032186's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2016
Location: Fort Worth, Tx
Posts: 2,505
Default

If you have random system failures enabled then yes, there are (rare) consequences. I've had ''bugs'' that miraculously disappeared on respawn. I always try to watch for abnormalities during startup.

...you never tried the random failures and are surprised there's no point to preflight checks?
__________________
Zhukov attacks *FORUM USER* with Legendary Trollsword!
*FORUM USER* Constitution save roll.... Fail!
*FORUM USER* afflicted with ''Hurt Feelz'', -1 Concentration for two rounds

Last edited by zhukov032186; 10-02-2019 at 04:03 AM.
zhukov032186 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-02-2019, 01:06 PM   #6
twistking
Member
 
twistking's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2016
Location: Berlin
Posts: 865
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by zhukov032186 View Post
...you never tried the random failures and are surprised there's no point to preflight checks?
the random failures are a nice feature, but last time i checked they only worked in SP, which is a shame.
also i would like to see the option to have switches in different position each time you enter a cockpit. this would apply only to switches were it was plausible for them to be in a different position (ground weapon override maybe not so much...).
__________________
My personal wishlist after 2 years with dcs: https://forums.eagle.ru/showthread.php?t=216873
twistking is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 10-02-2019, 02:20 PM   #7
Tippis
Member
 
Join Date: Jul 2017
Posts: 597
Default

The only one where it matters (of sorts) is in the Mirage, where you get a nagging warning light if you don't run the FBW tests before take-off. But that's also the only consequence: a warning light.
Tippis is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 10-02-2019, 02:25 PM   #8
hazzer
Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2014
Posts: 440
Default

This is lacking in all aircraft. Eg the piston planes you can run on idle forever, irl the mags would fowl, the engine would run rough and eventually cut out, rich cuts carb icing. Non of it happens
__________________
Asus GTX1080ti,I7-7800k, 32gb ram, SSD, Samsung Odyssey VR, MSFFB2, T-50 Throttle, Thrustmaster Rudder Pedals
hazzer is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-02-2019, 06:52 PM   #9
Harlikwin
Veteran
 
Harlikwin's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2018
Location: Living rent free in your mind
Posts: 4,276
Default

Yeah, its not done very well for most planes. So you can do the 4 button startup on most planes.

I go back on forth on the random failure thing for online use. Yes it adds realism, but for alot of guys, spending 20 minutes getting in the air, only to have to do some emergency procedure because of random failure would piss alot of people who don't have hours and hours of time to spend on it.
__________________
New hotness: I7 9700k 4.8ghz, 32gb ddr4, 2080ti, TM Warthog. TrackIR, HP Reverb (formermly CV1)
Old-N-busted: i7 4720HQ ~3.5GHZ, +32GB DDR3 + Nvidia GTX980m (4GB VRAM) TM Warthog. TrackIR, Rift CV1 (yes really).
Harlikwin is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-02-2019, 07:00 PM   #10
Tom Kazansky
Member
 
Tom Kazansky's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2018
Location: Germany
Posts: 495
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Harlikwin View Post
Yeah, its not done very well for most planes. So you can do the 4 button startup on most planes.

I go back on forth on the random failure thing for online use. Yes it adds realism, but for alot of guys, spending 20 minutes getting in the air, only to have to do some emergency procedure because of random failure would piss alot of people who don't have hours and hours of time to spend on it.

This!


And you might find a failure much quicker if you just start and take off even if you fall out of the skies, than doing the whole tests. But for realism it is ok. Servers should show very clearly that they use random failures though.
Tom Kazansky is online now   Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump

All times are GMT. The time now is 05:44 PM. vBulletin Skin by ForumMonkeys. Powered by vBulletin®.
Copyright ©2000 - 2019, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.