[REPORTED] RWS radar stabilization and tracking loss - ED Forums
 


Notices

Closed Thread
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 07-18-2018, 08:49 PM   #1
KungFu
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Mar 2009
Posts: 90
Default Weird radar behavior after today's update

Wanted to see if anyone else is getting this or if I'm doing something wrong (must be, because there is no way in the world this would make it through testing) before I put in a bug report:

Locked up a target that was at my 12 co alt. Radar seems to lock fine, but the target designation on the HUD stays in one location, like at 8 o'clock. No amount of movement will bring it to center.

Repeated this with several aircraft hostile and friendly.
__________________
Win 10 Prof 64bit i7-8770k @4.8GHz, 32GB GSkill RAM, 1 x 250, 1 x 500 GB Samsung PCIe NVMe m.2 drives, ASUS ROG 1080Ti 11GB, Thrustmaster Warthog HOTAS, TFRP pedals, 3DConnexion spacemouse, Trackir 5
KungFu is offline  
Old 07-18-2018, 09:08 PM   #2
KungFu
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Mar 2009
Posts: 90
Default

Track file, excuse the sloppy cat lineup, not used to new behavior on deck.
Attached Files
File Type: trk f18Radar.trk (1.46 MB, 26 views)
__________________
Win 10 Prof 64bit i7-8770k @4.8GHz, 32GB GSkill RAM, 1 x 250, 1 x 500 GB Samsung PCIe NVMe m.2 drives, ASUS ROG 1080Ti 11GB, Thrustmaster Warthog HOTAS, TFRP pedals, 3DConnexion spacemouse, Trackir 5
KungFu is offline  
Old 07-18-2018, 09:17 PM   #3
Mr_sukebe
Member
 
Mr_sukebe's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2016
Posts: 972
Default

I have the same. Did wonder if the process has changed with the update.
__________________
System: i5 2500@3.8Ghz, 24GB DDR3, 1080, SSD, Rift CV1, Jetseat 908, VPC T50/MT50, MFG Crosswinds.
Mr_sukebe is offline  
Old 07-18-2018, 10:23 PM   #4
Elysian Angel
Member
 
Elysian Angel's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2017
Location: Earth
Posts: 683
Default

I watched the track, and it's odd indeed. It worked fine for me today: I locked up and destroyed 4 aircraft today, and locked up 2 friendlies, all without issues.

It's probably not related, but just in case: did you clear out your fxo and metashaders2 folders after installing today's update? Otherwise, maybe a repair would help? Or check your bindings for radar elevation: maybe the axis is "stuck"?
__________________
Raven - Admin of the WILDCATS milsim squadron

System specs:
Spoiler:

i7 6700k @4.5Ghz
32 GB Corsair DDR4 2400MHz
ASUS Strix GTX 1080Ti OC
ASUS Maximus VIII Ranger
1TB Samsung 960 Pro M.2 SSD

Pro Flight Trainer Puma
TM Warthog HOTAS w/ 10cm extension by Sahaj
Thrustmaster TPR rudder pedals
Oculus Rift CV1
Elysian Angel is offline  
Old 07-18-2018, 10:44 PM   #5
KungFu
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Mar 2009
Posts: 90
Default

Yeah I always clean out those before updating, but did again just to make sure and did a repair..... no change.

Antennae elevation I have mapped to a 4 way hat switch and works as intended looks like

Same behavior on several missions
__________________
Win 10 Prof 64bit i7-8770k @4.8GHz, 32GB GSkill RAM, 1 x 250, 1 x 500 GB Samsung PCIe NVMe m.2 drives, ASUS ROG 1080Ti 11GB, Thrustmaster Warthog HOTAS, TFRP pedals, 3DConnexion spacemouse, Trackir 5
KungFu is offline  
Old 07-18-2018, 11:35 PM   #6
raelias
Member
 
Join Date: Feb 2018
Location: Brazil
Posts: 127
Default

I report the same problem, Both the radar screen and HUD symbology regarding the lock stays frozen after regular lock after update 7
raelias is offline  
Old 07-19-2018, 02:28 AM   #7
sze5003
Member
 
Join Date: Jul 2017
Location: US
Posts: 906
Default

Noticed similar behavior. Cage or uncage moves the velocity vector relative to the true direction of your nose when master arm is off.

If I press tdc depress with an aim 9 and nothing locked the reticle locks on to something in the distance on the HUD right below the 5 degree mark on the HUD. I turned off master arm and still had the radar up and pressing cage/uncage did the same thing rather than show the true velocity vector. I may be doing something wrong but I thought this was strange.

Radar elevation is now fixed though I can move it up and down without issues.
__________________
Asus ROG Strix Z370-E | Core i7 8700k @5.0Ghz-Corsair H100i v2 | 32GB DDR4 Corsair Vengence LPX 3000 | 1TB Seagate 7200 rpm | OCZ Trion 150 960GB | 256GB Samsung 830 | 1TB Samsung 850 EVO | Asus Strix OC 1080Ti | Samsung Odyssey
sze5003 is offline  
Old 07-19-2018, 06:03 AM   #8
TBear
Member
 
TBear's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2015
Posts: 957
Default

Same beheaviour for me.

Also became much harder to lock targets in boresight and vertical autoacquire mode.
__________________
=TIA= proud member (big one !)

and mission designer with...drumroll....
https://forums.eagle.ru/signaturepics/sigpic115426_2.gif

skin artist at:
https://forums.eagle.ru/showthread.php?t=183217

Last edited by TBear; 07-19-2018 at 06:06 AM.
TBear is offline  
Old 07-19-2018, 09:03 AM   #9
Mr_sukebe
Member
 
Mr_sukebe's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2016
Posts: 972
Default

With a number of us experiencing the same , does imply that this is a bug, and not a local issue.
__________________
System: i5 2500@3.8Ghz, 24GB DDR3, 1080, SSD, Rift CV1, Jetseat 908, VPC T50/MT50, MFG Crosswinds.
Mr_sukebe is offline  
Old 07-19-2018, 10:41 AM   #10
Elysian Angel
Member
 
Elysian Angel's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2017
Location: Earth
Posts: 683
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Mr_sukebe View Post
With a number of us experiencing the same , does imply that this is a bug, and not a local issue.
Yes, I'd say it's safe to say that: I have had it happen a few times now as well. Not every time, but enough to confirm this behaviour.


Quote:
Originally Posted by TBear View Post
Also became much harder to lock targets in boresight and vertical autoacquire mode.
This I can also confirm.
__________________
Raven - Admin of the WILDCATS milsim squadron

System specs:
Spoiler:

i7 6700k @4.5Ghz
32 GB Corsair DDR4 2400MHz
ASUS Strix GTX 1080Ti OC
ASUS Maximus VIII Ranger
1TB Samsung 960 Pro M.2 SSD

Pro Flight Trainer Puma
TM Warthog HOTAS w/ 10cm extension by Sahaj
Thrustmaster TPR rudder pedals
Oculus Rift CV1
Elysian Angel is offline  
Closed Thread

Tags
f-18, radar, rws

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump

All times are GMT. The time now is 02:05 AM. vBulletin Skin by ForumMonkeys. Powered by vBulletin®.
Copyright ©2000 - 2018, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.