21:9 1440p 200Hz vs 16:9 4k 144Hz? - Page 2 - ED Forums
 


Notices

Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 06-01-2017, 09:36 AM   #11
Quadg
Member
 
Join Date: Oct 2016
Posts: 131
Reputation power: 2
Quadg will become famous soon enoughQuadg will become famous soon enoughQuadg will become famous soon enough
Default

its called the law of diminishing returns.

you will see the greatest difference in smoothness between 0 -60 fps.

above 60 fps and you start to not notice.. until you get to a point where you cant notice.. its smooth. and more fps and its still smooth.

its exactly the same with the number of polygons in 3d objects.
above a certain amount and a face wont look more like a face if you add more polygons. because it already looks like a face..

so ignore the raw numbers and play with settings that you "like", for whatever reason bar raw numbers.
because it looks good, or because it runs smoother.
__________________
My Rig: i7 4930k 4.5Ghz, 16GB DDR3 2400, 2x SSD, EVGA 1080 Superclocked, Warthog Throttle and Stick, MFG Crosswinds, Oculus Rift.
Quadg is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-01-2017, 10:19 PM   #12
remi
Member
 
Join Date: Mar 2014
Posts: 118
Reputation power: 4
remi is on a distinguished road
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Quadg View Post
its called the law of diminishing returns.

you will see the greatest difference in smoothness between 0 -60 fps.

above 60 fps and you start to not notice.. until you get to a point where you cant notice.. its smooth. and more fps and its still smooth.

its exactly the same with the number of polygons in 3d objects.
above a certain amount and a face wont look more like a face if you add more polygons. because it already looks like a face..

so ignore the raw numbers and play with settings that you "like", for whatever reason bar raw numbers.
because it looks good, or because it runs smoother.
This ignores all the users who say once you go 144+, you can't go back. You even recognize the difference between 144 and 120.
__________________
remi is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-02-2017, 04:24 AM   #13
Kev2go
Senior Member
 
Kev2go's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2015
Location: Canada
Posts: 1,327
Reputation power: 6
Kev2go has a spectacular aura aboutKev2go has a spectacular aura aboutKev2go has a spectacular aura aboutKev2go has a spectacular aura about
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Quadg View Post
its called the law of diminishing returns.

you will see the greatest difference in smoothness between 0 -60 fps.

above 60 fps and you start to not notice.. until you get to a point where you cant notice.. its smooth. and more fps and its still smooth.

its exactly the same with the number of polygons in 3d objects.
above a certain amount and a face wont look more like a face if you add more polygons. because it already looks like a face..

so ignore the raw numbers and play with settings that you "like", for whatever reason bar raw numbers.
because it looks good, or because it runs smoother.
yup i agree here, biggest diffeerence is 0-60 after 60 not so much. I really dont see a difference between 120 and 144hz, even 85- 100 sublte but not big deal 60 and above is more than smooth enough. i really have no problems and thus when nessary i dont shy away from down clocking my refresh rate if i have to.

i have to agree getting picky with frame rates above 60 FPS ( and especially 120HZ or higher) is just silly, even with down locking to say 85 hz, gives you enough leeway in most instances so if there are stutters or dips it wont go below 60 fps ( when hardware can achieve above that).
__________________





Build:

Case/Tower: Corsair Graphite 760tm ,Gibabyte Z97x Motherboard, Intel Core i7 4790k ; 4.0 ghz ( Cooler Master Hyper 212 Evo),Kingston Hyperx DDR3 16gb ram (1866 mhz) ,
(Asus strix oc edition) Nvidia Gtx 1080 8gb , Evga g2 850 watt psu, Hardrives ; WD 1TB HDD, samsung evo 850 pro 1TB SSD, Samsing evo 850 pro 512 gb SSD

Last edited by Kev2go; 06-02-2017 at 04:28 AM.
Kev2go is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-02-2017, 04:26 AM   #14
Kev2go
Senior Member
 
Kev2go's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2015
Location: Canada
Posts: 1,327
Reputation power: 6
Kev2go has a spectacular aura aboutKev2go has a spectacular aura aboutKev2go has a spectacular aura aboutKev2go has a spectacular aura about
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by remi View Post
This ignores all the users who say once you go 144+, you can't go back. You even recognize the difference between 144 and 120.
its negligible too me. i dont want to go back to a 60hz monitor ture, but its mroe because some games will always be unoptimized, or have some stutters or FPS drops. basically a solid 60s Smooth FPS is still good, and bove that is nice, but even i have to admit id be more than fine with Absolute top being 120HZ. Even my tv has 120hz refresh rate, and i honestly dont see myself longing for 144z Hz or even 240hz screen at all.

I would have been fine with 120HZ monitor given the option. especially given to me 144hz is peculiar refresh rate when even standard tvs when you had 60 Hz, you had the jump to more expensive one 120HZ models not 144 hz.

With all games i play i honestly cant complain that anything with less than 120HZ but reaching 60 fps or above feels Slow to me, or hinders my enjoyment in gameplay.
__________________





Build:

Case/Tower: Corsair Graphite 760tm ,Gibabyte Z97x Motherboard, Intel Core i7 4790k ; 4.0 ghz ( Cooler Master Hyper 212 Evo),Kingston Hyperx DDR3 16gb ram (1866 mhz) ,
(Asus strix oc edition) Nvidia Gtx 1080 8gb , Evga g2 850 watt psu, Hardrives ; WD 1TB HDD, samsung evo 850 pro 1TB SSD, Samsing evo 850 pro 512 gb SSD

Last edited by Kev2go; 06-02-2017 at 04:33 AM.
Kev2go is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-02-2017, 06:05 PM   #15
BitMaster
Veteran
 
BitMaster's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2013
Location: SW-Germany
Posts: 3,516
Reputation power: 20
BitMaster is just really niceBitMaster is just really niceBitMaster is just really niceBitMaster is just really niceBitMaster is just really niceBitMaster is just really niceBitMaster is just really niceBitMaster is just really niceBitMaster is just really niceBitMaster is just really niceBitMaster is just really nice
Default

It's in DCS not only visuals, it's also directly coupled to HOW OFTEN can I parse flight parameters to my airframe. With 30fps you have 30 time slices per second to tell your Heli what to do in hover, with 60 its far better, with 180 its superb direct and responsiv. While doing all that drame you mostly stand still and have a still picture mostly, no, I dont need the 144 there, but in the stick and controls it makes perfect sense, unless you fly SFM.
__________________
Asus Strix Z370-E - Intel i7-8700K 5.2G - 32GB-3200 - Asus 1080GTX-Ti Poseidon - 1x 960Evo 250GB - 2x 850Pro 256GB - 2x Seagate 2TB - Heatkiller IV - MoRa3-360LT@4x180mm fans - Corsair AXi-1200 - TiR5-Pro - Warthog Hotas - Saitek Combat Pedals - Asus PG278Q 27" WQHD Gsync 144Hz - Oculus Rift VR - Win10Pro64 - Slave to the Machine
BitMaster is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-02-2017, 09:53 PM   #16
Drag0nWIng+
Posting Rights Suspended
 
Join Date: Oct 2015
Posts: 320
Reputation power: 0
Drag0nWIng is on a distinguished road
Default

do we have the monitor more then the 4k@60 hz at right now?
as I remembered there are only 4k@60hz for gaming era.
the hdmi and dp port only support 4k@60hz currently.
the next patch of the port will support 4k@120kz and 5k@60hz.
and our dcs world could not support dual gpu very well,,,
(maybe ed boyz improve this feature at this days,,,
I test it few years ago, but they didn't mention dual gpu or multi-core support for a long time.
and no one forumer ask these question, it seems everyone had already forgotten it.)

Last edited by Drag0nWIng; 06-02-2017 at 09:55 PM.
Drag0nWIng is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-02-2017, 10:39 PM   #17
Kev2go
Senior Member
 
Kev2go's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2015
Location: Canada
Posts: 1,327
Reputation power: 6
Kev2go has a spectacular aura aboutKev2go has a spectacular aura aboutKev2go has a spectacular aura aboutKev2go has a spectacular aura about
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Drag0nWIng View Post
do we have the monitor more then the 4k@60 hz at right now?
as I remembered there are only 4k@60hz for gaming era.
the hdmi and dp port only support 4k@60hz currently.
the next patch of the port will support 4k@120kz and 5k@60hz.
and our dcs world could not support dual gpu very well,,,
(maybe ed boyz improve this feature at this days,,,
I test it few years ago, but they didn't mention dual gpu or multi-core support for a long time.
and no one forumer ask these question, it seems everyone had already forgotten it.)
actually there is a 144hz 4k monitor coming out soon from asus.

https://www.asus.com/Monitors/ROG-SWIFT-PG27UQ/

http://www.anandtech.com/show/11014/...cip3-and-gsync
__________________





Build:

Case/Tower: Corsair Graphite 760tm ,Gibabyte Z97x Motherboard, Intel Core i7 4790k ; 4.0 ghz ( Cooler Master Hyper 212 Evo),Kingston Hyperx DDR3 16gb ram (1866 mhz) ,
(Asus strix oc edition) Nvidia Gtx 1080 8gb , Evga g2 850 watt psu, Hardrives ; WD 1TB HDD, samsung evo 850 pro 1TB SSD, Samsing evo 850 pro 512 gb SSD
Kev2go is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-05-2017, 04:13 AM   #18
Drag0nWIng+
Posting Rights Suspended
 
Join Date: Oct 2015
Posts: 320
Reputation power: 0
Drag0nWIng is on a distinguished road
Default

there are 3 problem I've mentioned,
1. no 4k@144 hz monitor ar current, yeah that asus looks amazing, and no one will care of its price.
2. no cable and port to adapt it, maybe you would use 2 or 3 cable to connect monitor and GC.
3. no single graphic card could run dcsw at 4k@144hz, bcs of poor support for the multi gpu.

and who knows the future? It's bright, but currently it's to early to discussion.
Drag0nWIng is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-08-2017, 01:11 AM   #19
Kev2go
Senior Member
 
Kev2go's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2015
Location: Canada
Posts: 1,327
Reputation power: 6
Kev2go has a spectacular aura aboutKev2go has a spectacular aura aboutKev2go has a spectacular aura aboutKev2go has a spectacular aura about
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Drag0nWIng View Post
there are 3 problem I've mentioned,
1. no 4k@144 hz monitor ar current, yeah that asus looks amazing, and no one will care of its price.
2. no cable and port to adapt it, maybe you would use 2 or 3 cable to connect monitor and GC.
3. no single graphic card could run dcsw at 4k@144hz, bcs of poor support for the multi gpu.

and who knows the future? It's bright, but currently it's to early to discussion.
I dont see these as problems:

1. So? 4k monitors are already here ( 60 hz) 4k monitors with 144hz capability like that asus will be release very soon. This is not something that will require few years to arrive ( It would Previw/ not be on thier website page if it wasn't. This is not just a Mere Rumor tech article). By that logic if no one will "care"for its price, than no one would care for price of 1080 ti. I myself am very interested in buying one of those and i

2. What? you dont need 2-3 cables unless your trying to use 2- 3 monitors. HDMI or a DVI are capable of displaying native 4k from the Graphics card to the Monitor ( if it support 4k)

3. And? you dont need to run DCS at 4k 144hz maxium refresh rate to enjoy it. if that are your such high standards you must not like 1080 or 1440p then. However buying a 4k 144hz monitor is better investment, than buying a 60hz even if you cant actually reach that high of a refresh rate just yet.




No its not too early to discuss. thats your opinion. To early would be to conduct a discussion about viable gaming in 5k or even 8k but not 4k as of this generation of top end graphics cards ( and soon to be introduced next gen top end cards).
__________________





Build:

Case/Tower: Corsair Graphite 760tm ,Gibabyte Z97x Motherboard, Intel Core i7 4790k ; 4.0 ghz ( Cooler Master Hyper 212 Evo),Kingston Hyperx DDR3 16gb ram (1866 mhz) ,
(Asus strix oc edition) Nvidia Gtx 1080 8gb , Evga g2 850 watt psu, Hardrives ; WD 1TB HDD, samsung evo 850 pro 1TB SSD, Samsing evo 850 pro 512 gb SSD

Last edited by Kev2go; 06-08-2017 at 01:40 AM.
Kev2go is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-08-2017, 02:03 AM   #20
Drag0nWIng+
Posting Rights Suspended
 
Join Date: Oct 2015
Posts: 320
Reputation power: 0
Drag0nWIng is on a distinguished road
Default

Have you read the standard of DP & HDMI ports at currently?
It could not support 4k@144hz at one port, it's the next patch, not now one(on the market).
The next patch support 4k@120hz (or two 4k@60hz by using one port) and 5k@60hz, it increases the bandwidth.
However the next patch had already released, but no port in graphic card and monitor support it at the civil market, the maximum is 4k@60hz.
If you have a powerful graphic card could run the dcs at 4k with 144hz, you still could not out put it.
And I said maybe you need 2 or 3 port which only support 4k@60hz to output the graphic on the monitor, so it needs 2 or 3 cable.
The reason and logic is this, the port has not enough bandwidth to output such high resolution and frequency.

Last edited by Drag0nWIng; 06-08-2017 at 02:09 AM.
Drag0nWIng is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump

All times are GMT. The time now is 05:50 PM. vBulletin Skin by ForumMonkeys. Powered by vBulletin®.
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.