What model / batch is the aircraft in? - ED Forums
 


Notices

Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 03-27-2020, 01:44 PM   #1
kaoqumba
Member
 
kaoqumba's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2018
Posts: 405
Default What model / batch is the aircraft in?

Will it be the most advanced version? What air-to-air / air-to-ground munitions, pods, sensors are planned?
kaoqumba is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-27-2020, 01:46 PM   #2
QuiGon
Veteran
 
Join Date: Jul 2013
Location: Germany
Posts: 14,555
Default

No PIRATE it seems (German Eurofighters are not equipped with it).
__________________
Intel i7-4790K @ 4x4GHz + 16 GB DDR3 + Nvidia Geforce RTX 2080 (8 GB VRAM) + M.2 SSD + Windows 10 64Bit

DCS Panavia Tornado (IDS) really needs to be a thing!

QuiGon is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-27-2020, 01:48 PM   #3
TLTeo
Senior Member
 
TLTeo's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2018
Posts: 1,220
Default

They didn't say they are modelling a German Typhoon though, just that the developement lead is German.


edit: I Just saw the screenshots, indeed it's a German one (at least the model shown so far). Well, gotta give -some- advantage to the poor Flanker drivers...
TLTeo is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-27-2020, 02:06 PM   #4
Kev2go
Veteran
 
Kev2go's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2015
Location: Canada
Posts: 3,216
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by TLTeo View Post
They didn't say they are modelling a German Typhoon though, just that the developement lead is German.


edit: I Just saw the screenshots, indeed it's a German one (at least the model shown so far). Well, gotta give -some- advantage to the poor Flanker drivers...

so how is the german EF different from the English ones besides having different paint scheme and/or markings? because seeing the WIP EF screenshots with Luftwaffe markings thats the only noticeable difference to me between the RAF one.
__________________





Build:


Spoiler:


Windows 10 64 bit,

Case/Tower: Corsair Graphite 760tm ,Asus Strix Z370- E Motherboard, Intel Core i7 8700k ( Noctua NH14S cooler),Corsair Vengeance LPX DDR4 32gb ram (2666 mhz) , (Asus strix oc edition) Nvidia Gtx 1080 8gb , Evga g2 850 watt psu, Hardrives ; WD 1TB HDD, Samsung evo 860 pro 1 TB SSD, Samsung evo 850 pro 1TB SSD.


Last edited by Kev2go; 03-27-2020 at 02:10 PM.
Kev2go is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-27-2020, 02:10 PM   #5
Finnsky
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Sep 2014
Posts: 37
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Kev2go View Post
so how is the german EF different from the English one besides having different paint scheme and/or markings?

don't they also uses Tranches with same or very similar capabilities?
All in all pretty similar. Germany uses IRIS-T, Britain uses ASRAAM. Germany doesn’t have the PIRATE IR-pod. Germany uses Taurus cruise missiles, Britain uses Shadow Storm (not that it matters, I don’t expect that we get such a late model) and no Brimstones.
Finnsky is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-27-2020, 02:11 PM   #6
Etirion
Member
 
Etirion's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2014
Location: Germany
Posts: 242
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Finnsky View Post
All in all pretty similar. Germany uses IRIS-T, Britain uses ASRAAM. Germany doesn’t have the PIRATE IR-pod. Germany uses Meteor cruise missiles (not that it matters, I don’t expect that we get such a late model) and no Brimstones.
RAF will also get the METEOR, it is the RAF procurement that the Luftwaffe joined afterall.
Etirion is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-27-2020, 02:12 PM   #7
QuiGon
Veteran
 
Join Date: Jul 2013
Location: Germany
Posts: 14,555
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Finnsky View Post
All in all pretty similar. Germany uses IRIS-T, Britain uses ASRAAM. Germany doesn’t have the PIRATE IR-pod. Germany uses Taurus cruise missiles, Britain uses Shadow Storm (not that it matters, I don’t expect that we get such a late model) and no Brimstones.
Meteor has not been fielded yet in the GAF. It will be introduced into active service later this year.
__________________
Intel i7-4790K @ 4x4GHz + 16 GB DDR3 + Nvidia Geforce RTX 2080 (8 GB VRAM) + M.2 SSD + Windows 10 64Bit

DCS Panavia Tornado (IDS) really needs to be a thing!

QuiGon is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-27-2020, 02:11 PM   #8
QuiGon
Veteran
 
Join Date: Jul 2013
Location: Germany
Posts: 14,555
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Kev2go View Post
so how is the german EF different from the English one besides having different paint scheme and/or markings?

don't they also uses Tranches with same or very similar capabilities?
Main difference is weapons. UK uses the AIM-132 ASRAAM as Fox 2, while Germany uses the IRIS-T. There are a lot of differences in regards to A-G armament, where Germany is lacking behind quite a bit.
One major difference is that the German Eurofighters don't have PIRATE, which is the very capable IRST system of the Eurofighter.
__________________
Intel i7-4790K @ 4x4GHz + 16 GB DDR3 + Nvidia Geforce RTX 2080 (8 GB VRAM) + M.2 SSD + Windows 10 64Bit

DCS Panavia Tornado (IDS) really needs to be a thing!

QuiGon is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-27-2020, 03:06 PM   #9
Tom Kazansky
Member
 
Tom Kazansky's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2018
Location: Germany
Posts: 969
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by TLTeo View Post
They didn't say they are modelling a German Typhoon though, just that the developement lead is German.


edit: I Just saw the screenshots, indeed it's a German one (at least the model shown so far). Well, gotta give -some- advantage to the poor Flanker drivers...

Dash@TrueGrit said:
Quote:
Originally Posted by Dash@TrueGrit
As you might already have guessed from the published pictures and our company’s German background, we will create a German version of the Eurofighter Typhoon to start out. This version will only make the introduction to DCS as we will continue to bring more and more nationalities and capabilities to you over time.
https://forums.eagle.ru/showpost.php...24&postcount=1


edit: I see, Kev2go mentioned this before
Tom Kazansky is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-27-2020, 01:50 PM   #10
VDV
Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2018
Posts: 323
Default

Yes, but which tranche they are simulating? I cant find info...
VDV is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump

All times are GMT. The time now is 05:57 AM. vBulletin Skin by ForumMonkeys. Powered by vBulletin®.
Copyright ©2000 - 2020, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.