F-14 & rudder pedals - Page 4 - ED Forums
 


Notices

Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 04-15-2019, 06:32 AM   #31
webweaver40
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Jun 2018
Posts: 44
Default

I should mention why I didn't care for the TM TPR pedals, and actually preferred the cheaper Saitek ones at the time. though the tpr pedals are MUCH smoother than Saitek, the movement path is yuck. They "scoop" in their motion. They don't push straight forward, they push down then scoop up. Feels horrible, especially compared to the slaw pedals.

Sent from my SM-G965U using Tapatalk
webweaver40 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-15-2019, 11:48 AM   #32
Southpaw
Junior Member
 
Southpaw's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2019
Location: Georgia, USA
Posts: 32
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by webweaver40 View Post
If you're going to spend $500, what's a few hundred more to get the Slaw Viper RX pedals? Definitely worth the upgrade, coming from someone who has been on the Saitek, TM, Slaw path
I thought hard about the Slaws, but I couldn't stomach wiring that amount of money direct to an off-shore back account and possibly not see my product for 6 months or more depending on when they decide to go on vacation, sickness, etc. I know there is no history of issues, but one illness or family issue could change that in such a small operation. Call me impatient, but having my pedals delivered the day after I ordered them was magical.

Quote:
I should mention why I didn't care for the TM TPR pedals, and actually preferred the cheaper Saitek ones at the time. though the tpr pedals are MUCH smoother than Saitek, the movement path is yuck. They "scoop" in their motion. They don't push straight forward, they push down then scoop up. Feels horrible, especially compared to the slaw pedals.
I noticed this when I first tried them out of the box. I barely, if ever, notice now when in the game. The sliding action of the MFGs or Saiteks have never felt natural since I'm a private pilot IRL. I immediately felt right at home with the TPRs.
__________________
Give me a call. I'll be your RIO anytime.
Southpaw is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-15-2019, 12:24 PM   #33
tintifaxl
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Mar 2009
Posts: 1,727
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by webweaver40 View Post
... They don't push straight forward, they push down then scoop up. ...
That's exactly why I like mine.
__________________
Windows 10 64bit, Intel i5-7600@4.6Ghz, 32 Gig RAM, AMD Nitro+ 580, 1 TB SSD, 43" 2160p@1440p monitor.
tintifaxl is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-15-2019, 01:15 PM   #34
birdstrike
Member
 
Join Date: Mar 2018
Posts: 349
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by tintifaxl View Post
That's exactly why I like mine.



have MFG at home, and really like them, but ordered TPR pedals since they have the "heels on the ground" design which i am used to in my daily business.



i should be able to pick them up later today from my post office...i am really curious how they will compare to the MFG pedals.
birdstrike is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-15-2019, 01:37 PM   #35
D0rmicum
Junior Member
 
D0rmicum's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2018
Posts: 11
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Southpaw View Post
I thought hard about the Slaws, but I couldn't stomach wiring that amount of money direct to an off-shore back account and possibly not see my product for 6 months or more depending on when they decide to go on vacation, sickness, etc. I know there is no history of issues, but one illness or family issue could change that in such a small operation. Call me impatient, but having my pedals delivered the day after I ordered them was magical.
Just a short notice on this one: I've ordered my Slaws beginning of March and was told that the delivery time is around two months at the moment. So should be May for me. Ordered means: I wrote an email and got a response that I'm on the waiting list. I didn't have to pay anything until now and will be informed once the pedals are ready for shipping. Then I'll have to pay via bank Transfer or PayPal (+5% PayPal fee).
Just as a side note that you don't have to pay in advance for several months and if you don't feel comfortable with wiring money to an offshore bank you now have the possibility to pay via PayPal.
__________________
Modules: DCS:FC3, UH-1H, F/A-18C, Harrier, Mirage 2000C, Spitfire, F-5E Tiger II, Bf109K4, F-14 Tomcat

Maps: Nevada, Persian Gulf, Normandie

Specs: ASUS ROG STRIX Z370-I, Intel i7-8086K@4.9GHz, 32GB Corsair Vengance RAM, Nvidia RTX 2080 FE, 2x1 TB Samsung EVO 970 M.2, WIN10 64bit, HTC Vive pro
D0rmicum is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-15-2019, 02:18 PM   #36
imacken
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2016
Location: Cornwall, UK
Posts: 2,318
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Southpaw View Post
Thrustmaster TPR! I had mine delivered about three weeks ago as an upgrade from the Saiteks. Total game changer. My only regret is I didn't order them at release.

They're $500 on Amazon Prime and I have no issues using them in any module (including the F14).
+1.
I had the TFRP pedals, which for £70 were great, but the TPRs really are game changers. I love the pendular motion instead of the usual unnatural central rocker arrangement.
__________________
Intel i7 8700 4.8GHz · Palit RTX 2080 Ti OC Gaming Pro · ASUS ROG STRIX Z370-F · Acer 4K 32" XB321HK · Samsung 970 500Gb M.2 NVMe · Samsung 850 Evo 1Tb · 2Tb HDD · 32Gb Corsair Vengance 3000MHz DDR4 · Windows 10 · HOTAS Warthog · ThrustMaster TPR Pedals · TrackIR5 · HTC Vive Pro
imacken is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-15-2019, 02:20 PM   #37
imacken
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2016
Location: Cornwall, UK
Posts: 2,318
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by dartagnan View Post
Well I'm very pleased with the game accept I can not map my Thrustmaster TPR Pendulum Rudder System to the F-14. I have to use the coolie switch on my HOTAS WARTHOG for my rudder and brakes. Is there anyone out there with the same problem that maybe using the TPR Pendlum Rudder System. It's very disturbing to me that I have one of the most expensive rudder systems out there and I can't use it. Is there anyone that can help me? Thanks in advance.
I know this is an old post, but I was wondering if you got that all sorted out. I have no issues with the TRPs in DCS. Literally just plugged them in and they were ready to go!
__________________
Intel i7 8700 4.8GHz · Palit RTX 2080 Ti OC Gaming Pro · ASUS ROG STRIX Z370-F · Acer 4K 32" XB321HK · Samsung 970 500Gb M.2 NVMe · Samsung 850 Evo 1Tb · 2Tb HDD · 32Gb Corsair Vengance 3000MHz DDR4 · Windows 10 · HOTAS Warthog · ThrustMaster TPR Pedals · TrackIR5 · HTC Vive Pro
imacken is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-16-2019, 02:56 AM   #38
webweaver40
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Jun 2018
Posts: 44
Default

Good points SouthPaw. I did order my slaw pedals from Ebay, so didn't have the typical wait time, but some inherent risk in the product and delivery - I got lucky. My tpr order took 2 days from Amazon, big plus - definitely agree with you. I guess the feel of the rudders is a subjective thing, maybe they're closer to the real thing than my reference from a virtual pilot experience. The slaws with a damper feel so dang good. But I just saw a video of someone jimmy-rigging a damper onto the tpr pedals. I wonder how that would improve things, especially for those that already like the tpr pedals?
webweaver40 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-16-2019, 03:00 AM   #39
webweaver40
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Jun 2018
Posts: 44
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by dartagnan View Post
Well I'm very pleased with the game accept I can not map my Thrustmaster TPR Pendulum Rudder System to the F-14. I have to use the coolie switch on my HOTAS WARTHOG for my rudder and brakes. Is there anyone out there with the same problem that maybe using the TPR Pendlum Rudder System. It's very disturbing to me that I have one of the most expensive rudder systems out there and I can't use it. Is there anyone that can help me? Thanks in advance.
See this thread: https://forums.eagle.ru/showthread.php?t=235194

I had the same problem with slaw pedals. Thought it was an f14 issue. It can be resolved on your end. Delete all the input config files from your f14 folder in saved games. Rebind from scratch, start with rudder. In my case, there was an issue with one of my modifiers.
webweaver40 is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump

All times are GMT. The time now is 06:43 PM. vBulletin Skin by ForumMonkeys. Powered by vBulletin®.
Copyright ©2000 - 2019, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.