Capt Zeen F/A-18C Beta Helios Profile ! ! ! - ED Forums
 


Notices

Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 06-13-2018, 07:40 AM   #1
Capt Zeen
Campaign Testers
 
Capt Zeen's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2014
Location: Mallorca, Spain
Posts: 540
Default Capt Zeen F/A-18C Beta Helios Profile ! ! !

Hello all !

Here we come, with another Helios profile! This time for the F/A-18C Hornet.
I made the profile using the A10C interface in Helios. With that, we dont need to prepare different versions for differents countries, we dont need the default.lua to define all the keyboard commads, because i redirect directly to DCS from helios, so we dont need to worry abous future changes. And of course, for the final user, (you), is a more easy installation ! So here you got a fully input/output F/A-18C profile. Hope you like it !

- Beta version:

Important notice !!
As everyones knows, i publish the F/A18C profile while the DCS F/A-18C module is still in Early Access state.
Thats mean the module is still not finished and we foresee more changes in it, so the Helios profile will need some changes on the near future. In this version I implemented all the switches, lamp, instruments and levers that actually work on the module. I publish the profile in beta version, with the purpose of test it, and of course, everyone can enjoy it before the module will be finish.

For this profile i exported all the instruments, lamps, selectors, switches and levers in the F/A-18C cockpit.
Of course i added the navigation panel from others profiles, so you can check airport charts, tactical maps, ndbs, etc


Main panel


Right panel


Left panel 1


Left panel 2


Bottom panel and Brakers panel




- Profile files:

F18_beta.hpf .....................16:10 monitor resolutions
F18_b_beta.hpf .....................16:9 monitor resolutions


- Export.lua:

Another important notice !!
Included in the Scripts folder, you can find the export.lua, ready to export data A10C, KA50, FC3, F-15C, P-51D, UH-1H, A10C radio fix, MI-8 v1.5, SA342, Mig21bis, L39ZA and the F/A-18C Hornet profile.
This file is a modified version of the Loophole Updated version from 09/11/2014, ( http://forums.eagle.ru/showthread.php?t=97222 )

- Monitor aspect resolutions:

I made two different profiles, v1.0 for 16:10 monitors and v1.0b for 16:9 monitors. Use the one better fit width you monitor resolution.

- Thanks:

I made the entire graphic art, based on screenshots of the simulator, and the textures folder of the game.
I used the airport charts from http://www.virtual-jabog32.de and the tactical chart TC-1 created by =MAF=Mongoose and the NDBs list created by Lino_Germany.
For the export.lua i used the Loophole version, compatible width KA50, A10c and FC3 as a base for all my implementations.
In the export.lua i include a couple of functions by [FSF]Ian to export the digits of the UV26 for the MI-8
I want to thanks aswell to all the people who help me, in the DCS forum, every time i reached a deadlock, somewhere!
And of course to Gadroc for creating Helios, this great software.

PROFILE FEATURES

All panels are designed independently, so you can re-arrange the design if you need it to fit your rig.

Main Front Panel:
- All the instruments, switches and lamps
- Empty spaces to visualize the viewport exports for IFEI, UFC, RWR, AMPCD and the two DDI

Auxiliar panels:
- All the instruments, switches, levers and lamps

Left 1 and Left 2 panel:
- The Left panel is divided in two - All the instruments, switches, levers and lamps

Right panel:
- All the instruments, switches, levers and lamps

Bottom panel:
- All the instruments, switches,levers and lamps

Brakers panel:
- All the switches


Navigation panel:
-Airports visual operation charts v4.04
-Airports diagramss v4.04
-TC-1 Tactical Chart
-Caucasus general area map, with airports and table width airport freqs, locations, ids, etc.
-Airport Circuit Example
-List of the NDBs

- About panel:
- Info about the profile and version.



SPECIAL ACTIONS

-Helios dont use right mouse buttons so i created special buttons to simulate several cockpit actions:






INSTALLATION

--Install Helios if you don't have it yet. (http://www.gadrocsworkshop.com/helios/latest)
-Copy the profile you need, for your resolution , on the profiles folder, usualy in user/my documents/helios/profiles
-Copy the folder Capt_Zeen on the images folder, usualy in user/my documents/helios/images
-Run the HeliosProfileEditor, load the profile F18 you want to use, and perform a Reset Monitors from the menu Profile.
-Save the profile
-Dont forget to use the correct export.lua i included in the package,
Copy it in C:\Users\yourusername\Saved Games\DCS\Scripts, but first make a backup copy of your actual export.lua.
-IF you use Tackview, Simpleradio, DCS-bios or another external scripts, copy the corresponding lines from your old export.lua to the new one.

RUNNING THE PROFILE


-Open the Helios Control Center, select the profile and start it.


CONFIGURING THE SECOND MONITOR

included in the package, there is a folder called "DCS Monitor Configuration" width a complete folders structure you can drop on DCS World instalation folder. This structure prepare the diferents lua scripts to export the views to the second monitor to represent the IFEI, UFC, RWR, AMPCD, left and right DDI.
You will need to change the coordinates x and y of every viewport and the width and height sizes of them in the DCS Monitor Configuration\Config\MonitorSetup\2_monitors-F18.lua
Change it before copy to the game folder, and save a copy of this structure, cause DCS world rewrite this files every update!
To calculate the correct position of each viewport, run Helios and start the profile. Take a screenshot and paste the image in any art program. Paint from Windows works well.
Put the cursor over the left-up corners of every empty spaces and write down the coordinates. Drag a box from that point to the right_down corner, and take the width and height of the rectangle.
Modify the 2_monitors-F18.lua width your correct numbers. and you can now copy the complete "DCS Monitor Configuration" folder to the DCS game folder, or use a Mods control program like JSGME to do it.

Also, you can use this template to calculate the position and sizes of the diferent viewports: (note how IFEI uses a bigger space to fit correctly in his place)





KNOWN ISSUES

- The switches of the APU power and Crank do not return automaticaly to his rest position after use them from Helios, so you need to do it manually. I hope fix this in the final versión

OTHER CONSIDERATIONS

If you use Helios and TARS or TACKVIEW you can have miss workings due to the way Helios works width the export.lua.
To prevent this, just move the lines for Tars or tackview to the very end of the export.lua in C:\Users\yourusername\Saved Games\DCS\Scripts.




As always, you can get it in the download section of my site:
http://www.captzeen.com


Hope you like it !





TROUBLESHOOTING:


Wen you install a Helios profile, and you got a problem, try to identify exactly what happens.
Usually two issues can show up:

1 - The gauges, switches, lamps, etc, don't work

2 - The diferent viewports from DCS, like DDIs IFEI, RWR, etc, do not work.


In the FIRST case: The gauges, switches, lamps, etc, don't work

Helios is probably not getting the DCS info needed, and thats because the export.lua is not doing his job. So...

- check if the export files are you using are the correct ones
- check if the place where you installed is the correct one:
Export.lua inside the folder \Users\yourusername\Saved Games\DCS.openbeta\Scripts\
HelioCore.lua and HeliosExport.lua inside the folder \Users\yourusername\Saved Games\DCS.openbeta\Scripts\Helios\
- then double check again !
- and of course, always use my last export files.

If you are using a system with more than two monitors,
- check the FAQ on the site. There is a bug on Helios that can asign a incorrect monitor to all bindings on the profile. There you got a solution for that.

If everything looks correct with the export files and still no joy,
- run a mision, and exit DCS,
- then check the dcs.log in savedgames/dcs/logs and look for errors in the export.lua . If something wrong happens in the export.lua the log tell you where to look at.

If you are using other tools with Helios, like: Simpleradio,Tackview DCS-bios etc, you can try to change the order of the lines in the export.lua. Those ones do not give problems, but some tools can, so give it a try.


In the SECOND case: The diferent viewports from DCS, like DDIs IFEI, RWR, etc, do not work.

Ok, this is important to know, Helios do not export the viewports, is DCS who do that.

Some DCS modules are ready to export some of his viewport, but not all of them. That's the reason we need to change some .luas to make that module ready to export the viewports.

In the F18 case, and at this date ( 07/30/2018 ), only the 2 DDIs are ready to export. The AMPCD, IFEI, RWR and UFC are not, so we need to overwrite those .luas with other ones ready to export viewport.

Usually, in my profile packages you got everything you need to do that operation in a folder called monitor configuration. So...

- Check if you installed the files in the correct place. I recomend to you use JSGME or OVGME to do the job, because in every DCS update those files are rewriten again
- Then edit the MonitorSetup file to adjust the viewports to your monitor configuration. (2_monitors-FA18C.lua )
- In DCS options, put your max resolution ( this is the total of your monitor resolutions in horizontal and vertical, for example two monitors 1920x1080 placed in horizontal layout, the total resolution is 3840x1080 )
- In DCS options, uncheck full screen option
- In DCS options, select the monitorsetup file to use (the one your just edited)



IMPROVING THE LINES QUALITY IN THE EXPORTED VIEWPORTS

https://forums.eagle.ru/showpost.php...&postcount=117






if you got other problems, check the FAQ on the site
If still you don't find a solution, you can use my discord channel too: https://discord.gg/sS66aJf

And of course you can ask in this forum too !!








..

Last edited by Capt Zeen; 07-30-2018 at 11:04 AM.
Capt Zeen is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-13-2018, 08:30 AM   #2
Thermal
Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2010
Location: South Aust
Posts: 196
Default

Thankyou for brewing up the magic viewport pixie dust!
Thermal is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-13-2018, 08:47 AM   #3
Cloudie
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2014
Posts: 32
Default

Thank you very much for your work, I can't wait to try it tonight as soon as I get home.

This will be a game changer, you are truly the best!
Cloudie is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-13-2018, 10:40 AM   #4
sreventon
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2016
Posts: 33
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Capt Zeen View Post
Right now, the exported viewports are draw with a very thick lines. If you want to improve the lines change the sentence:..
He means to say very thin lines....
sreventon is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-13-2018, 11:32 AM   #5
Capt Zeen
Campaign Testers
 
Capt Zeen's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2014
Location: Mallorca, Spain
Posts: 540
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by sreventon View Post
He means to say very thin lines....
Capt Zeen is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-13-2018, 11:48 AM   #6
bnepethomas
Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2004
Posts: 419
Default

Nice work - thanks very much for sharing.

cheers
Peter
bnepethomas is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-13-2018, 12:39 PM   #7
Von Thrud
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Apr 2009
Location: Brisbane, Australia
Posts: 42
Default Awesome work but 1 problem and 1 question

Hi there,

Thank you very much for working on this !

I have a problem in that the right hand radion know just keeps spinning on my helios touch screen / second screen with the channel indicator rapidly rolling through and displaying the channel numbers. Anyway to fix this ?


In your monitor code you have the following


--LEFT
F18_LEFT =
{
x = 2078;
y = 165;
width = 330;
height = 311;
}

--LEFT
LEFT_MFCD =
{
x = 0;
y = 2161;
width = 500;
height = 490;
}

Is that a double up or is it needed ?

Oh and also what is the secret to getting the UFC and EFEI windows lined up, they seem really finnicky.... I got the display screens lined up ok.
Thanks again !

Thrud
Von Thrud is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-13-2018, 12:40 PM   #8
Rickety
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Apr 2015
Location: 216 The Land
Posts: 45
Default

Bravo Thank you for this!
Rickety is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-13-2018, 01:09 PM   #9
Capt Zeen
Campaign Testers
 
Capt Zeen's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2014
Location: Mallorca, Spain
Posts: 540
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Von Thrud View Post
Hi there,

Thank you very much for working on this !

I have a problem in that the right hand radion know just keeps spinning on my helios touch screen / second screen with the channel indicator rapidly rolling through and displaying the channel numbers. Anyway to fix this ?


In your monitor code you have the following


--LEFT
F18_LEFT =
{
x = 2078;
y = 165;
width = 330;
height = 311;
}

--LEFT
LEFT_MFCD =
{
x = 0;
y = 2161;
width = 500;
height = 490;
}

Is that a double up or is it needed ?

Oh and also what is the secret to getting the UFC and EFEI windows lined up, they seem really finnicky.... I got the display screens lined up ok.
Thanks again !

Thrud
I am going to check the radio issue tonight.
In the monitor configuration you only need one of the two.
To fit the IFEI look at the template I post here, for some reason, the width need to be bigger than looks.
Capt Zeen is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-13-2018, 01:53 PM   #10
sobe
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Oct 2008
Posts: 1,117
Default

For my own reasons, I would like to put the Helios screen to the left of my main monitor (the opposite of what is normally done). In calculating the screen coordinates of the monitors, do I still start with 0,0 for my main monitor or 1921,0?
Do the viewport coordinates on the right Helios monitor now use negative numbers or do they start at 0,0?
I have two 1920x1080 monitors.
__________________
Trackir4 using the latest Trackir 5 software, Win10 Pro [Creator Update] updated from Win7Pro Pro 64Bit, Intel(R) Core™ i5-2500 3.30 GHz 6M Intel Smart Cache LGA115 , GigaByte GA-Z68XP-UD4 Intel Z68 Chipset DDR3 16GB Ram, GTX MSI Gaming 1060 [6 GB] Video Card, Main Monitor 1 on left 1920x1080 Touchscreen Monitor 2 on right 1920x1080 .
sobe is online now   Reply With Quote
Reply

Tags
capt zeen, f/a-18c, f18, helios, profile

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump

All times are GMT. The time now is 10:12 PM. vBulletin Skin by ForumMonkeys. Powered by vBulletin®.
Copyright ©2000 - 2018, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.