liveries location in DCS - ED Forums
 


Notices

Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 02-13-2015, 07:08 PM   #1
bin801
Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2009
Location: China
Posts: 307
Default liveries location in DCS

Days before, I installed Mi-8 and some liveries from ED user files.
I did put many Huey Vietnam War liveries to Bazar/liveries/UH-1, and work. I can found them in mission editor and change.
But after I put Mi-8 liveries to Bazar/liveries/Mi-8, I can not find them in mission editor?

and even there are so many default liveries in Bazar/liveries/Mi-8, but only three liveries can be choosen in mission editor.

Where is the location for MI-8 exchangable liveries ??
Why Huey and Mi-8 livery locations are different?

BTW. I am totally confused by DCS structure
I did search in forum, try to understand where should I put different liveries and cockpit mods for different DCS aircraft, but I didn't find a thread answer my question.
Please teach me
bin801 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-13-2015, 07:23 PM   #2
joey45
Veteran
 
joey45's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2006
Location: Quixel suite and 3ds max
Posts: 10,387
Default

You can chose what liveries can be used for each country.
__________________
General 3D modeling thread and reference sites
new UK liveries for planes, ships and MODS.
The only way to make sense out of change is to plunge into it, move with it, and join the dance.
"Me, the 13th Duke of Wybourne, here on the ED forums at 3 'o' clock in the morning, with my reputation. Are they mad.."
Please send all hate mail to No11
new AV8 livery USN style
joey45 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-13-2015, 10:07 PM   #3
Art-J
Veteran
 
Art-J's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2014
Location: Warsaw, Poland
Posts: 3,669
Default

^ Indeed. Some default liveries are visible in mission editor only when certain country is chosen. That applies to many custom ones as well. I'm sure it can be edited somehow, but I never investigated this issue closer.

For example, while we're talking about Mi-8, if You want to fly it as US pilot, you will have only 3 default skins to choose from, If You want to fly it as Russian one, there will be many, many more.

Last edited by Art-J; 02-13-2015 at 10:10 PM.
Art-J is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-13-2015, 11:52 PM   #4
bin801
Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2009
Location: China
Posts: 307
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Art-J View Post
^ Indeed. Some default liveries are visible in mission editor only when certain country is chosen. That applies to many custom ones as well. I'm sure it can be edited somehow, but I never investigated this issue closer.

For example, while we're talking about Mi-8, if You want to fly it as US pilot, you will have only 3 default skins to choose from, If You want to fly it as Russian one, there will be many, many more.
thank you all so much
I am stupid I forgot to choose country
yes, that is for some aircrafts, while other aircraft don't need.
thanks
bin801 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-14-2015, 07:13 AM   #5
bin801
Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2009
Location: China
Posts: 307
Default

I am almost exhausted
When I thought finally I know where are most liveries located, Bazar/liveries folder, But I failed to find F-86 saber folder in Bazar/liveries
I try to install a custom livery to F-86 DCS. where is the location for F-86 liveries?
if any friend know please let me know
Thanks
bin801 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-14-2015, 07:47 PM   #6
mondaysoff
Member
 
mondaysoff's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2011
Location: Kent UK
Posts: 183
Default

If the "F-86F Sabre" folder is not visible, add it yourself into bazar/liveries, some installs do not include it, you should then have some success.
__________________
Modules NOT currently in my hanger

Yak 52/F-14 Tomcat/Persian Gulf Map/CE II/Mig-19/F-16 Viper/FW-A-8


My system:

Spoiler:
MSI Z97 Gaming 5 mobo
3.5 GHz Intel Core i5 4690k
H100i CPU Cooler
16 GB 1866 MHz DDR3 Hyper X Fury Red
MSI GTX980ti GPU
EVGA 850W PSU
Samsung EVO 850 500GB SSD
128gb Plextor M.2 storage (Boot Drive)
Windows 10 X64 Professional
Acer XB281HK G-sync monitor
Trackir 5
MFG Crosswind pedals
T M Warthog Hotas
Razor Blackshark Headset
mondaysoff is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 02-15-2015, 03:39 PM   #7
1.JaVA_Platypus
Member
 
1.JaVA_Platypus's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2006
Location: Holland
Posts: 808
Default

You can also put your liveries in the mods\aircraft\F-86\liveries\... map. Way more organised.
__________________
Happy Flying!
1.JaVA_Platypus is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-17-2015, 08:21 AM   #8
bin801
Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2009
Location: China
Posts: 307
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by 1.JaVA_Platypus View Post
You can also put your liveries in the mods\aircraft\F-86\liveries\... map. Way more organised.
Is there any different results for exclusivly putting custom liveries into two different locations?
or no difference?
Thanks
bin801 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-17-2015, 09:09 AM   #9
NeilWillis
Veteran
 
Join Date: Jun 2013
Location: United Kingdom
Posts: 4,757
Default

Better still, put them in your saved games directory under liveries\Mi-8mt (or any other aircraft as long as you name the folder exactly as it is named in the Bazar\Liveries folder in the main installation.

Definitely the best location because it will keep the skins added entirely separate from the default ones.
NeilWillis is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-02-2019, 01:56 PM   #10
PhilTheBeat
Member
 
PhilTheBeat's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2017
Location: France
Posts: 103
Send a message via MSN to PhilTheBeat
Default

Hello guys,

so if i´ve understood what have been explained on the forum, there is a way to keep the additional liveries by adding a folder in the "saved games"

So it will look like this: C:\Users\xxx\Saved Games\DCS.openbeta\Mods\aircraft\aircraft name\Liveries

This way i can´t see them once on the server.

Did i missed something?
__________________
/ I4770K / 1080TI / 16GB RAM / VR OC / 3X IIYAMA 27 /
/ F/18 C / F-14 / M-2000C / SPITFIRE LF / P-51D / FW 190 D-9 / B109 K-4 / CHRISTEN EAGLE II / YAK-52 / UH-1H Huey / SA 342 /

PhilTheBeat is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump

All times are GMT. The time now is 09:52 PM. vBulletin Skin by ForumMonkeys. Powered by vBulletin®.
Copyright ©2000 - 2019, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.